We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 34 Santa Monica hotels

Rest Haven Motel

815 Grant Street, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Rest Haven Motel to your Saves list
Rest Haven Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
75%
Ranked #23 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014
BuistHeaton Layton
  • Overview
  • Reviews (142)
  • Photos (250)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (29)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    75
    29
    5
    2
See reviews for
30
44
19
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Layton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed here and at first we were a little worried by the location but it turned out to be such a cute little place!! Our room was very clean with a very comfortable space and bed, the grounds and building were well maintained, and the staff was very friendly, helpful, and knew a lot about the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

I usually don't like to put bad reviews but this place was horrid. The location is just off a busy street behind a 'jack in the box' all we could hear was the constant drive though service and traffic. I complained about the room smelling of smoke and was told its because all the homeless people are smoking dope near... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review

We are a non-smoking motel and there was no smell of smoking in the room. Our dear guest was sensitive. Told her we will give her a refund for - 2nd day if she wants to check out but still she decided to stay for the second night which made us very surprised. Have a great day. More

Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This was our first place to stay on our trip. We arrived late due to our flight but the lady who greeted us was lovely. The rooms were basic but clean and did everything you needed. The motel was a few blocks away from the beach/shops but it was a good base. We had a car and it had easy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

We were only staying in Santa Monica for 1 night and this small basic motel served that purpose. The manager allowed us to check in a couple of hours early which was helpful. 5-6 min drive from beach front and a little further to main shopping/eating area. Room was ok but bathroom was small and shower didn't work well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My husband and I were travelling and just needed somewhere to crash our head for the night while in LA. Although you just have to take Rest Haven for what it was, cheap and cosy and a place to rest your head. The room was very small, and the bed was even smaller. My husband's feet hung off the end,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stockton, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

When you see the beautiful photo [in most of the on line booking services] of the exterior of the property covered in vibrant shrubs it looks serene. At first I was a bit put off by the fact that that cute photo was taken from the vantage point of standing in the Jack- in- the- Box drive-thru. Literally. However, I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Found this motel through Tripadvisor. Check in was seamless, rooms are small and old, but very clean, quite and comfortable. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Jack in the box across the parking lot serves a good breakfast, or late night supper.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your remarks. We are small, basic but clean, comfortable and friendly. Have a wonderful day. More

Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

The Rest Haven is aptly named. It is small, but in Santa Monica the price more than compensates for the size. The staff is attentive. The property is spotless. I stupidly left a pair of glasses behind, and the hotel shipped them to me in Thailand. I am grateful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is a motel. I kept reminding myself of this fact (because honestly, I don't remember the last time I stayed in a motel). With that said, I showed up at 11pm to check in and the office was closed. I finally located the phone number and called. Only then did someone emerged from a room and checked me in.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Always on the move
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We happened upon this place at 10pm one night when everyone else was full and/or much more expensive. It's an old motel with a cute courtyard in the center. Rooms are very small but the owner has obviously taken care to update the place with new floors, mattresses & flat screen TV's. It's very basic but for the price of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Rest Haven Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Rest Haven Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rest Haven Motel

Address: 815 Grant Street, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rest Haven Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rest Haven Hotel Santa Monica

250 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:44
Videos (7)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (213)
Viewed
Room/suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (17)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (151)

Amenities

Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica #11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in 1938...... "A marvelous experience"...nothing else can give you the exciting opportunity to visit Santa Monica and its attractions, the sun, the sand, the sea, and especially a night or nights' stay at our warm and cozy Rest Haven Motel.An economy motel located just seven blocks from the beach and a short 15 minutes walk to Third Street Promenade, in downtown Santa Monica, and only 10 minutes walk to Santa Monica Pier, Venice Beach; enables our guests to walk to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
14

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer