We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rest Haven Motel

815 Grant Street, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rest Haven Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rest Haven Motel
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    79
    34
    6
    2
See reviews for
34
49
20
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (154)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (45)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (47)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Crolles, France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

I was looking for an affordable and conveniently located room for my familly (2 adults, 2 children) in Santa Monica. The Rest Haven motel is very easy to locate, is close to dining places and conveniently located in Santa Monica (not far from beach and highways). We also had a room with separted beds for our children, which was appreciated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Amazing, friendly owner, very clean, very comfortable. Great location and I didn't find the area unfriendly at all. Great price! However, unfortunately our safe was broken which left us worried about money etc. Also, although I told the owner I was arriving late and she saved a space for us, she still charged my card I had gaurenteed the booking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paris
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Price, and lack of other options, drove me to book this place. It being Labor Day weekend, the prime locations were already full. It is reasonably priced and decent value for your money. The location is not the best - situated behind a Jack in the Box with a bit of car traffic. Rooms are clean but sparingly decorated. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

This motel, with its classic neon sign, is very much in keeping with the by-gone era of roadside motels sadly dwindling from the american landscape. Our room was simple, clean, and comfortable. The motel has a lovely, private patio area to enjoy the outdoors. The owner is a generous and attentive person. It's obvious that this property is a labor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I booked this motel after reading reviews on trip advisor. We were looking for an inexpensive option in Santa Monica for 2 adults and a teenager. We arrived at about 2pm and booked in at the little booking in window-we were allocated room number 4 on the front of the hotel. The room was split into a main and smaller... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Layton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed here and at first we were a little worried by the location but it turned out to be such a cute little place!! Our room was very clean with a very comfortable space and bed, the grounds and building were well maintained, and the staff was very friendly, helpful, and knew a lot about the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

I usually don't like to put bad reviews but this place was horrid. The location is just off a busy street behind a 'jack in the box' all we could hear was the constant drive though service and traffic. I complained about the room smelling of smoke and was told its because all the homeless people are smoking dope near... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review

We are a non-smoking motel and there was no smell of smoking in the room. Our dear guest was sensitive. Told her we will give her a refund for - 2nd day if she wants to check out but still she decided to stay for the second night which made us very surprised. Have a great day. More 

Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This was our first place to stay on our trip. We arrived late due to our flight but the lady who greeted us was lovely. The rooms were basic but clean and did everything you needed. The motel was a few blocks away from the beach/shops but it was a good base. We had a car and it had easy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

We were only staying in Santa Monica for 1 night and this small basic motel served that purpose. The manager allowed us to check in a couple of hours early which was helpful. 5-6 min drive from beach front and a little further to main shopping/eating area. Room was ok but bathroom was small and shower didn't work well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My husband and I were travelling and just needed somewhere to crash our head for the night while in LA. Although you just have to take Rest Haven for what it was, cheap and cosy and a place to rest your head. The room was very small, and the bed was even smaller. My husband's feet hung off the end,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Rest Haven Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rest Haven Motel

Address: 815 Grant Street, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rest Haven Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rest Haven Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica

250 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:44
Videos (7)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (213)
Viewed
Room/suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (17)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (151)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay