We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 51 Santa Cruz hotels

Coastview Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Beach St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Coastview Inn to your Saves list
Coastview Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
60%
Ranked #26 of 51 hotels in Santa Cruz
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Susan D Mather, California
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    68
    36
    9
    26
See reviews for
56
56
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mather, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The location is awesome. Right across the street from Santa Cruz Beach and Boardwalk. It was easy to walk everywhere we wanted to go. The hotel itself is old and small. We had a 2 queen room with 3 adults and 1 baby. It was extremely cramped. The refrigerator froze everything and you couldn't adjust it. One night we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Coastview Inn. Please accept our sincere apologies for the problems encountered during your stay. I have forwarded your comments to the GM and owner. Clean and comfortable rooms are a priority for us, so for you to have any issues during your stay with us is unacceptable. A fridge is important when traveling... More

Fresno, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Carpet filthy, bed spead falling apart. Did not have remote to control air conditioner. Cold shower. Parking is really tight. Desk help not friendly at check in. Breakfast from 8am to 9:30. Went to get food at 845. Nothing left. Milk just sitting on counter not kept cold. Good location. Oh pool was a mess. Very dirty. Would not stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Coastview Inn. You are right that our location is one of the best around, as we have so many wonderful venues within walking distance to our Inn. However we are so sorry you had so many issues during your stay with us. It is always our desire... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived late and they were very accommodating. Location is great! The room was not. It smelled a bit, but nothing an opened window couldn't fix. The shower leaked onto the bathroom floor, so we used our towels to wipe it up. The bed was a bit dirty, not sure if they actually washed it. We found some stains on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Coastview Inn. We are so very sorry you had such issues at our Inn. Your comments have been sent to the General Manager and also our Owner. We take your comments very seriously and want you to know we will diligently work to fix these issues. In the fall of 2014... More

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived later than anticipated (11pm), room key cards were on the office night counter (along with 3 other rooms); not very secure but at least we could get in! Got up early and walked along the boardwalk area, perks of the location. However even by the time we left at 7:30am the office was not open, so the free... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Coastview Inn. We appreciate that you took your time to let us know how we are doing and sure apologize that you were not able to enjoy our free continental breakfast. It is always our desire to provide clean and comfortable rooms and complimentary breakfast so again we are... More

Sacramento, California
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

LOVE the Coastview. Stay there numerous times throughout the year. Can't beat the location. A few feet from the beach and the Boardwalk, 3 minute walk to the Wharf. It's not the Hyatt, but what Beach hotel is??? It's a perfect place to sleep while vacationing at the beach. I love the young staff, for the most part. They are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review of your stay with us at Coastview Inn. It is an honor to have you come and stay two - three times a year with us! It is a priority for us to provide clean and comfortable rooms for a reasonable rate and as you said the location is amazing. Please accept our apology... More

Sonoma, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a great time, weather was nice and the rooms were not only clean but the staff was really friendly. It was so close to the beach and the boardwalk and was a close drive to down town! Will stay there again when we come to Santa Cruz!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of your stay with us at Coastview Inn. It is always a joy to have guests that enjoy their stay and the surrounding venues such as the beach! We pride ourselves on clean and comfortable rooms and love hearing our guests had a great time with us as their room accommodations . Thank you... More

Billings, Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Customer service was non-existent, with exception to the young man who checked us in. They were out of the continental breakfast by 827 am, it starts at 8. The rooms were small and dingy. The upside... Wonderful beach but be warned, the boardwalk is not like Southern California. Cute town all in all but we were ready to go to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Coastview Inn. We really appreciated that you took your time to let us know how your room was and the issues you incurred while staying with us. Please accept our deepest apology for running out of breakfast during your stay and your room not being cleaned properly. It is our desire... More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed at oceanview for one night in Feb 2014. We booked through Hotwire.com and got a decent deal. The room was recently renovated and clean. Despite the recent renos light could be seen around the door and the window wasn't very secure. The rooms were not very sound proofed and you could hear other guests all night long. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Coastview Inn. It is our highest priority to provide clean and comfortable rooms and you are right, we are refurbishing at the present time. it is still ongoing however and it will be great when we finish! I certainly apologize for the front desk clerk not being... More

Santa Cruz, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The staff was very welcoming and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. I would recommend the Coastview to anyone that wants to stay near the boardwalk/beach at a reasonable rate while still maintaining good quality stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Coastview Inn. What a delight to read how much you enjoyed our customer service and our Inn. We are in the process of refurbishing so the next time you stay with us you should see the difference. At Coastview Inn it is our privilege to provide clean and comfortable... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Identical room to the one our other family members stayed in, at a diffetent hotel, only ours was a $100 cheaper for the weekend. Us and them both had an ocean view room only ours was closer to the arcade the chowder festival and boardwalk rides. An update on the bedding and t.v., to make up for not having a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing report of your stay with us at Coastview Inn. It is a pleasure to provide clean and comfortable rooms to our guests at an reasonable rate and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We are in the process of refurbishing our Inn and appreciate the lovely things you stated about us. We sure... More

Been to Coastview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastview Inn

Also Known As:
Coastview Hotel
Coastview Hotel Santa Cruz
Address: 301 Beach St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 51 hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Coastview Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Coastview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coastview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.