We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

National 9 Motel

130 Plymouth St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
National 9 Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015

Santa Cruz hotel prices vary quite a bit of the same hotels depending on what was going on the weekend and are also seasonal. The weekend of our stay went sky high from the usual $100 to $229. This was also the most inexpensive place we could find in the area for the same day booking. The motel was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank TaminatorSF
Grover Beach, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised when we visited Santa Cruz on a busy weekend with our 5 grandchildren. Every hotel we tried was booked. We finally visited the small (vintage looking) hotel called National 9. We normally would not have used this hotel but are glad we did. The rooms were clean and fresh smelling. The pool was just right for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jack H
Santa Cruz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Bedding was old & dirty, lucky for me I had brought blanket from home;very noise did not get Goodnight sleep, outside was terrible; breakfast was terrible; TV was old not good reception. Never will I stay in this hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Olga A

Travelers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

For some reason, on Saturday night, August 10th, there was a lot of price gouging going on in Santa Cruz and with No Vacancy signs all over town, I paid in excess of $200 for a room comparable to an $80 Super8.... but I wish I'd driven away because there's a big Day's Inn another half an hour or so... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank rowenacherry
MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This motel is totally fine--light on frills but overall is a nice place. Checked in fairly late at night on a Thursday with no issues. Granite tile floors, nice bathtub area, nice clerk at the desk. The decor is like grandma's rec room, but at these rates, who cares?

Helpful?
Thank lo_angle
Medford, Oregon
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Seedy, noisy, shabby, smelly, uncomfortable. I chose this place based upon the assumption that the mid-range price would get me a serviceable room without bells and whistles. At this point I wish I had just saved my money and slept in my car.

Helpful?
Thank 5dogz
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My friend was looking for value for his buck and we certainly weren't expecting anything over the top here - just a clean room and minimal but at least courteous service. When my friend checked in early, we found the room unlocked and trashed - which, fine, it was still early afternoon and we'll deal with it. I also thought... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank WChenBoston
National9motel, Manager at National 9 Motel, responded to this review

Same comments as the may 27,2013 review. They were all together. More 

Dallas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We planned to check in after a wedding at midnight. When we told management this they wanted us to come earlier because they said no one would be there to man the desk at that time (which didn't seem very professional). So we came before the wedding (which was very inconvenient), checked in, and then 2 of our friends who... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank gmervine
National9motel, Manager at National 9 Motel, responded to this review

Same comments as the May 27,2013 guest review.They were all together. More 

Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The only hotel in Santa Cruz that weekend that had a vacant sign...that's a bad sign if you think about it. Owner wouldn't let us check in later, and forced us to come in the afternoon, out of our way, to pick up our key. Room was a disaster, door was unlocked, crap everywhere. When we told the owner we'd... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Terryboston2
National9motel, Manager at National 9 Motel, responded to this review

Same comments as the May 27,2013 review. They were all together. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We called the hotel asking about checkin times, and said we would be coming after a wedding at ~midnight. They pleaded with us to come earlier, which seemed unprofessional. We said maybe we could come around 1:30 in the afternoon before the wedding. When we did, they checked us in our room and gave us a key. But the room... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ryanj2002
National9motel, Manager at National 9 Motel, responded to this review

Guest made a reservation thru Expedia for 1 person and called me to inform me that he will be checking in at 1.00am in the morning hours after the wedding party.I asked him to come now ,check in and take your room key and he can then directly go into the room at 1.00am.Guest came to the office but parked... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
#14 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 538 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#45 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
0.8 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#24 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
1.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay