We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 52 Santa Cruz hotels

National 9 Motel

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   130 Plymouth St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Hotel amenities
National 9 Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added National 9 Motel to your Saves list
43%
Ranked #42 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014
Jack H Grover Beach, California
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    5
    1
    11
See reviews for
6
6
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (30)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Grover Beach, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised when we visited Santa Cruz on a busy weekend with our 5 grandchildren. Every hotel we tried was booked. We finally visited the small (vintage looking) hotel called National 9. We normally would not have used this hotel but are glad we did. The rooms were clean and fresh smelling. The pool was just right for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Santa Cruz
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Bedding was old & dirty, lucky for me I had brought blanket from home;very noise did not get Goodnight sleep, outside was terrible; breakfast was terrible; TV was old not good reception. Never will I stay in this hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

For some reason, on Saturday night, August 10th, there was a lot of price gouging going on in Santa Cruz and with No Vacancy signs all over town, I paid in excess of $200 for a room comparable to an $80 Super8.... but I wish I'd driven away because there's a big Day's Inn another half an hour or so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This motel is totally fine--light on frills but overall is a nice place. Checked in fairly late at night on a Thursday with no issues. Granite tile floors, nice bathtub area, nice clerk at the desk. The decor is like grandma's rec room, but at these rates, who cares?

Was this review helpful? Yes
Medford, Oregon
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Seedy, noisy, shabby, smelly, uncomfortable. I chose this place based upon the assumption that the mid-range price would get me a serviceable room without bells and whistles. At this point I wish I had just saved my money and slept in my car.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My friend was looking for value for his buck and we certainly weren't expecting anything over the top here - just a clean room and minimal but at least courteous service. When my friend checked in early, we found the room unlocked and trashed - which, fine, it was still early afternoon and we'll deal with it. I also thought... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
National9motel, Manager at National 9 Motel, responded to this review

Same comments as the may 27,2013 review. They were all together. More

Dallas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We planned to check in after a wedding at midnight. When we told management this they wanted us to come earlier because they said no one would be there to man the desk at that time (which didn't seem very professional). So we came before the wedding (which was very inconvenient), checked in, and then 2 of our friends who... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
National9motel, Manager at National 9 Motel, responded to this review

Same comments as the May 27,2013 guest review.They were all together. More

Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The only hotel in Santa Cruz that weekend that had a vacant sign...that's a bad sign if you think about it. Owner wouldn't let us check in later, and forced us to come in the afternoon, out of our way, to pick up our key. Room was a disaster, door was unlocked, crap everywhere. When we told the owner we'd... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
National9motel, Manager at National 9 Motel, responded to this review

Same comments as the May 27,2013 review. They were all together. More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We called the hotel asking about checkin times, and said we would be coming after a wedding at ~midnight. They pleaded with us to come earlier, which seemed unprofessional. We said maybe we could come around 1:30 in the afternoon before the wedding. When we did, they checked us in our room and gave us a key. But the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
National9motel, Manager at National 9 Motel, responded to this review

Guest made a reservation thru Expedia for 1 person and called me to inform me that he will be checking in at 1.00am in the morning hours after the wedding party.I asked him to come now ,check in and take your room key and he can then directly go into the room at 1.00am.Guest came to the office but parked... More

San Mateo, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

So, I realize that I only paid $75 for a one-night stay, and that this is not the Four Seasons, but I have to tell you I slept awfully (which means I hardly slept at all) because of 1) world's loudest ice machine, 2) really close freeway access, and 3) really thin walls which "allowed" me to hear 3a) a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Do you own or manage National 9 Motel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to National 9 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National 9 Motel

Address: 130 Plymouth St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — National 9 Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your National 9 Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National 9 Hotel Santa Cruz

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near National 9 Motel