We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Santa Cruz B&Bs / inns

Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages

401 Johans Beach Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95062
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring Break Special!
Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com Travelocity
and 4 more sites!
69%
Ranked #5 of 15 Santa Cruz B&B and Inns
A recent review
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    28
    12
    11
    15
See reviews for
33
52
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, DE
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I and small dog stayed here for 7 nights in recently remodeled cottage 16, which lives like a studio apartment. The room felt "beachy" with lighter wood laminate floors, new white cabinetry and a calming light blue wall color. We utilized the adequately equipped kitchenette to make coffee in the morning, toast our complimentary bagels, heat up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Definitely wouldn't recommend this place unless you don't mind if your privacy is being invaded. WATCH OUT: there is a small camera placed on the tv with a wire that goes outside and I'm not even sure if it's legal to have a camera placed in a guest's room. You have been warned.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Betty S, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review

I must say I'm sitting here with my mouth dropped open - a camera, really?? If I stayed in a hotel where I thought there was a camera in the bedroom, or anywhere for that matter, I would have marched myself right up to the manager and questioned that!! This is the first we are hearing of this "concern" from... More

San Francisco, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Echo Inn last weekend and booked the family cottage # 4 as we were 3 people total (1 couple, 1 single). We paid $311 for the night and here is what we found: a dirty tiny filthy bathroom with mold everywhere, a hole in one of the walls filled with toilet paper, no tissue, 2 small... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Betty S, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review

We are so sorry for your disappointment in our property. We are in the process of renovating all our rooms - we have about half of them completed. As you pointed out, our breakfast area is small, so there really isn't room to add the food items you mentioned. Our continental breakfast is just that, not a full breakfast. There... More

Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this little "gem by the sea" in beautiful Santa Cruz, CA, or, to be precise, a little out of Santa Cruz in the community of Twin Lakes. Mark & Betty Sloan, the managers, are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Some of the rooms are small, others much larger but more expensive. Our room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Betty S, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant odor - turns out we had a leak in the manager's apartment, which is right below the room you stayed in. The plumber has fixed the problem, so now all you can smell is the wonderful scent... More

New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is a one-star hotel. The value, however, is zero-star. We stayed once in a worse hotel, for about $50 for one night. This cost $234.60 for one night. We stayed in Cottage #5, for which we paid extra. We were told that it was one of the best cottages. We thought we might be in trouble when we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Betty S, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are truly sorry you were disappointed with your stay. Our rooms are not "cookie-cutter" standard rooms and obviously not for everyone. We are in the process of renovating all our rooms and have addressed some of the items you mentioned with our contractor. Our breakfast area is small, as... More

Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We regretably stayed only one night at this lovely retreat just steps from the beach. Candace and Paul were like relatives welcoming you home - the cottage was darling, clean, warm and comfortable! The minute we'd unpacked we felt like we'd just moved in - The view of the ocean was amazing! There is such a warm atmosphere to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review

We're so happy you had such an enjoyable time - being a "home away from home" and providing welcoming, superior guest service is our goal. We look forward to having you as our guest again - hopefully for more than just one night! More

Oakland, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed one night in December with our daughter, niece, and puppy. The manager, Paul, was kind and thoughtful. He surprised our girls with a baking tray full of cookies to be baked, which we baked in our full kitchen and enjoyed as a late-night snack! The beach/cove is lovely - we were among only a few people there. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review - your positive comments are very much appreciated. Our goal, as managers, is to anticipate and accommodate the individual needs of each guest. Your parenting skills are to be admired, as your children were very polite and thoughtful. We hope to have you as our guest again! More

Modesto, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Went overnight in Mid-November. Loved the individual cottages-very quaint. So close to the secluded beach. Good Italian restaurant nearby. Reasonable prices, friendly helpful staff. Beautiful view of the ocean while eating breakfast on the deck.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Betty S, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Thanks for the review - our secret is out! Glad you enjoyed yourselves. We hope to see you again soon. More

Rancho Cordova, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had an amazing experience at the cottage! Everyone was so nice and friendly. They gave us a free upgrade to one of their sweets for our honeymoon, the rooms were so cute,Quiet and very clean. We will definitely be coming back for our anniversary next year <3

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review

We are so happy that you chose Ocean Echo Inn to spend your Honeymoon, and that you had an enjoyable experience. Congratulations again, and we look forward to having you back as our guests to celebrate your anniversary! More

Fresno, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our cottage was so great, we didn't want to leave! Our view while having breakfast each morning was so wonderfull. The beach was so close and very private, just perfect. We were minutes from downtown and the Boardwalk we were able to go have fun, come back and rest and go right back out again! Will definately come back and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you again for choosing Ocean Echo Inn for your stay in Santa Cruz. We look forward to having you and your extended family as our guests in the future! More

Been to Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages

Also Known As:
Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages Hotel Santa Cruz
Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages Hotel
Ocean Echo Inn And Beach Cottages
Address: 401 Johans Beach Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden gem with direct access to the beach at Sunny Cove, a favorite local beach between Santa Cruz and Capitola! This property has a private and charming location with quaint rooms and cottages where you can spend the day on your romantic getaway, enjoy fun family events, eat at great local restaurants, then return to the soothing sound of the ocean waves. Some units have fully-equipped kitchens, ocean views & private decks. Some units are dog-friendly. Short walk to restaurants & yacht harbor. Free continental breakfast, free parking & free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages to your Saves list