We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
401 Johans Beach Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95062
Offers & Announcements
Just Lowered - $165!!
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    102
    44
    22
    15
    15
See reviews for
52
75
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (198)
  • Mar-May only
    (47)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed in a cozy little cottage easy walking distance from the beach. The place was obviously cared for and had nice touches like sand toys for kids to use, an outdoor shower to wash off sand and a ping-pong table. The room was clean (very important to me in choosing a place to stay) but tiny - with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Restored room with modern features. Absolutely clean, and comfortable. Best sleep in a huge plush bed. Quiet. Safe and well lit. Dog friendly with a little fenced yard for my Jack Russell. Full kitchen amenities. Delicious continental breakfast. Beautiful view. Seconds away from the beach. Most importantly friendly and hospitable manager Betty and Mark Sloan. It was a perfect choice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Betty S, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review

That's what we like to hear! Hope you and your pup visit us again soon! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My granddaughter and I had the best time! It's clean and the rooms are modern but with that beach feel. The private beach was awesome...can't wait to go back. The management, Betty and Mark, have got to be the nicest people ever. They are very accommodating. The continental breakfast is tasty.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Betty S, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review

We're so glad you and your granddaughter had such a great time! We're happy we could accommodate you for an additional night's stay! More 

Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Mark and Betty, thank you for a wonderful stay at your inn. We loved the location a few steps to the beach and off the beaten track for traffic noise. Our cottage #4 was spotless and we loved the ocean view. I have no idea what a few former guests were complaining about as it was so quiet that the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Betty S, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you! See you next time! More 

Hebburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I really wanted to give the B&B a good review as the owners were very pleasent and it was because of their advise we manage to travel on steam train through the forest and see some great sites we probably would not have. Unfortunatey after reviewing our stay i feel i need to make other visitors aware of several issues... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Betty S, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review

It always saddens us when a guest leaves our hotel less than satisfied. We strive for complete and total guest satisfaction. Unfortunately some things are just out of our control, like the weather and what goes on at the beach. Obviously you did not rent one of our cottages with a kitchen - we would however have gladly provided you... More 

Aberdeen
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The cottages are characterful, being quite old by US standards, and the location close to the beach was great. All the building exteriors are freshly painted and the grounds well kept. The managers were helpful, and explained the programme of improvements that the owners were undertaking. The cottage we stayed in (No 5) was definitely ready for updating - the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Betty S, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for the breakfast suggestions! You're right - Cottage 5 needs remodeling, and is next on our list to be remodeled. The "derelict" cottage you mentioned is actually in the process of being remodeled, so obviously that is a priority!. We're glad you found our new Eurotop mattresses comfortable! Sorry you didn't have enough pillows - we gladly would... More 

Manseville
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wonderful cozy setting Be sure and ask for room with view upstairs in main building. Beds were very comfortable and bathroom was fabulous. Perfect location for driving to Carmel and Monterrey for day trips. Loved Capitola! Must take long walk on sidewalk above Pacific. Beautiful!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Betty S, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words! Glad you enjoyed your stay. Great tips for future guests! More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a wonderful hotel! It's located very conveniently near the Boardwalk, Capitola, restaurants, cafes, AND walking distance to several beaches, from which dolphins frolicking were spotted all weekend long. The service at the hotel was AMAZING - quick, helpful, and friendly. I cannot wait to get away again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Betty S, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you! So glad you had such a good time. I love it when the dolphins make an appearance! See you next time. More 

Fresno, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

This is not what it's cracked up to be. Very disappointed in our experience there as it's very over-priced and the room was just average and small. Not even a chair to sit in and relax but did have 2 bar stools. Bathroom very limited for space and shower had no way to keep water off the floor. No shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Betty S, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review

We're sorry you were so disappointed in your stay! We agree, the heat wave we experienced was uncomfortable! Not all of our rooms have an ocean view, and we do not advertise that they do. We do have our common-area deck with a great view of the ocean, where your dog was welcome to sit with you! We would like... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

It is with a sad heart that give ocean echo inn a bad rating, but unfortunately we were given 3 weeks notice that our confirmed accommadation would no longer be available. This should not happen, especially not during high season, as we struggled to book anything at such a late stage.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Betty S, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Again, we are so sorry we were unable to keep your reservation in the cottage you booked. Our remodel project has not gone as planned. We're sorry you didn't like the alternative cottage we offered. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
2.0 mi away
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.0 mi away
Hotel Paradox
Hotel Paradox
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 326 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sea and Sand Inn
Sea and Sand Inn
#4 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.2 mi away
Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff
1.9 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay