We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carousel Beach Inn

Hotel website
110 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 110 Rivers (Formerly Carousel Motel)
Offers & Announcements
20% off next midweek stay
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Carousel Beach Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Modesto, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Carousel Hotel did a fantastic job on it's remodel. Cute, clean, friendly staff and prime location. We did not take advantage of the breakfast. Definitely will be back. We had a fantastic time. Great way to start off 2016.

Helpful?
Thank Lynda W
Northern California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I really regret giving a less than enthusiastic review. I chose this hotel due to location, which was easily within walking distance to the boardwalk. It appears that all the hotels in the area are from the 1950 era. When past reviewers called this "basic", they meant it. Basic it is. We had a basic room, with a small balcony,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gal4fish
SCBoardwalk, Manager at Carousel Beach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Carousel Beach Inn. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. We're disappointed to learn that you had a heating issue in your room. If notified immediately, we can normally resolve this type of issue quickly. We're sorry if that did not happen. Regarding the coffee, most guests appreciate... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel is in need of a refresh. Water in shower was not hot. The breakfast was minimal and the water front view was actually obstructed. It was clean but not really an overall very exciting place to stay other than proximity to the boardwalk. Also, could not log in to wi-fi.

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
SCBoardwalk, Manager at Carousel Beach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for you review. We're surprised to learn you had an issue with our hot water. In the future, please call the front desk immediately and we will look into the problem right away. Regarding our location, we don't advertise ocean-views, so we're sorry you had that impression. As you discovered, we are located just across the street (a... More 

Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

the title says it all! it is also a great choice for the budget-conscious traveler. the rooms are airy and bright. the beds are some of the most comfortable that i've slept in. the walls/ceiling are a bit thin, but not unexpected since many hotels are like that. the location can't be beat since the boardwalk is across the street... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mjt401
Ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015

This place was conviently located to the boardwalk. Beautiful room and art on the walls. Nice king beds slept well. Laundry and convient store next door. The property is open air behind locked gates which you have to use your room key to access. We didn't venture out due to the pouring rain. We asked for an extra hour to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank notonyourlife1397
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015 via mobile

Very clean small hotel across from the boardwalk. Rooms are typical motel rooms but very clean. Very fast check in and staff seemed friendly. The fact that this is across the street from the boardwalks makes this place pretty darn good. Plus parking is included. I'll come back again

Helpful?
1 Thank Eric V
Melbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the Carousel for two nights and Were very impressed with the location, room decor & cleanliness, complimentary breakfast and helpful staff. We had a room overlooking the boardwalk carpark with a small balcony, which we didn't use because of the weather, but it would've been lovely in the warmer weather. The complimentary breakfast was great and included... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Taj543
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2015

Across the road from all the action. There was an issue will the room charge as we booked in Aust. dollars and the exchange rate change before we checked in, however the weekend staff were very helpful and sorted it out for us. The weather outside was excruciating hot as it was Labor day weekend the room air conditioning was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karina B
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015

This is a really good value hotel with lovely clean rooms. The location is good if you want to be by the ocean, but it's a bit of a walk into downtown Santa Cruz. The rooms are big, bright and very clean and the breakfast (included) was simple but really good. The only thing I'd suggest is that they turn... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica F
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2015 via mobile

The hotel location is great, just in front of Santa Cruz beach. We got a room on the ground floor with no problem about noises. The room is clean and tidy and non carpeted. Breakfast is minimal, just bagel, muffins, some cut fruits, coffee, tea and juices maybe it's a low period during our one night stay... It's a Sunday... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alex C
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.5 mi away
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.5 mi away
Sea and Sand Inn
Sea and Sand Inn
#4 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Paradox
Hotel Paradox
#10 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
0.5 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay