We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Seaway Inn

176 West Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Hotel amenities
Seaway Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
blackdog2k
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    77
    24
    12
    17
See reviews for
52
52
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (191)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here twice on the bounce and wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Perfect position for Beach Boardwalk and Downtown. Loved the Waffles for Breakfast too :). Staff were so friendly and helpful even helped solve a problem with our rental car.

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for one night over the weekend, Saturday to Sunday. Our room, a 2nd level king with an ocean view, was clean, quiet and worked perfectly for us. The location is great, an easy walk to the Pier and the Boardwalk. There are lots of restaurants and shops nearby. The two different ladies at the front desk (one in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. I'm sorry that you didn't get the chance to try the waffles :( We look forward to possibly seeing you again, should you be back in Santa Cruz. More 

Mount Pleasant, Michigan, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My sister and I traveled to Santa Cruz for a concert and cousins reunion. We booked our 4 day stay at Seaway Inn. The staff were ultra friendly and helpful! The room was clean and very comfortable, even if a bit small. The view from the balcony made up for any shortage of space. Since our cousins were at other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to accommodating you again in the future! More 

Rocky River, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for a couple nights in late January. Location is good. Easy walk to the wharf and plenty of restaurants. If you're ambitious, you can walk to Natural Bridges State Park and take in some great views along the way (about 5 miles roundtrip). I had a room on the second floor with a nice view and a comfy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. I am happy to hear that you mostly enjoyed your stay and of course embarrassed to hear that you were disturbed in any way. We do hope to see you again! More 

North Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
56 hotel reviews
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

This isn't he best hotel in the world, far from it. But, for the money, I really have no complaints. Clean, well furnished room, cheap, and free breakfast. The reason it doesn't get a 5 is due to parking issues and poor customer service. Customer service is of the 'I'm doing you a favour' variety. There aren't enough parking spots... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. I was sorry to hear that you were not a fan of our parking situation, as some guests are not. We are lucky enough to have neighbors that allow us to utilize their parking lot, as overflow parking for our guests free of charge, directly behind our building. Unfortunately, it does mean that you have... More 

Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

We arrived late in the afternoon exhausted and unable to find accommodation's near the water that would accept pets. The girl at the front desk was so friendly and accommodating and within minutes we were checked into a room right over the office with an amazing view of the ocean. The inns very close to the boardwalk and beach and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments in regards to your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you were taken care of so quickly and that you enjoyed your stay. Please come see us again, with your furry family member, the next time you are in our area. More 

Brno, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

....that we spent here just one night. This was out last night in California, in USA overall. Everything went wrong that day. We arrived late as we had longer break in Pacific grove (I fell in love with this town), I messed up the booking, ... but Cori at the front desk was very helpful, nice and fixed my incorrect... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our property. I am sorry to hear that so much went wrong on your trip, but am very happy to hear that we were able to accommodate you. We hope to see you the next time you happen to be in Santa Cruz! More 

Aukra Municipality, Norway
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

We stayed for one night, room was small but clean, bathroom is a bit of a weak spot in my opinion. breakfast was really good, better than i expected. You can even make yourself waffles. Women at the check in were polite and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. I was sorry to hear that you did not appreceiate the layout of our bathroom. We welcome any suggestions that you may have on how we can better our rooms. We hope that we get the chance to see you again! More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

Nice stay, gentle personnel, cosy room, very good breakfast, parking included. I liked the position very close to the beach and main activities and also the sleep. I can easily recommend to all travelers. Thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and very appreciative of your recommendation of our property to others. We hope to see you again! More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

We stayed here just for one night unfortunately but the place was great. Within walking distance to many good restaurants. The complimentary breakfast was good, the staff very nice and helpful. The room was quite big and the inn really cute. Free working wifi is also a big plus. Would definitely stay here again next time we're in Santa Cruz.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed all that the Seaway Inn has to offer. We'll look forward to accommodating you again, when you are in Santa Cruz! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Seaway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaway Inn

Address: 176 West Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Seaway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaway Hotel Santa Cruz
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (75)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
1:16
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay