We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
176 West Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Hotel amenities
Seaway Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Seaway Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
rrafay North Vancouver, Canada
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    75
    24
    12
    17
See reviews for
50
51
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (187)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
North Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
56 hotel reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This isn't he best hotel in the world, far from it. But, for the money, I really have no complaints. Clean, well furnished room, cheap, and free breakfast. The reason it doesn't get a 5 is due to parking issues and poor customer service. Customer service is of the 'I'm doing you a favour' variety. There aren't enough parking spots... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. I was sorry to hear that you were not a fan of our parking situation, as some guests are not. We are lucky enough to have neighbors that allow us to utilize their parking lot, as overflow parking for our guests free of charge, directly behind our building. Unfortunately, it does mean that you have... More 

Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived late in the afternoon exhausted and unable to find accommodation's near the water that would accept pets. The girl at the front desk was so friendly and accommodating and within minutes we were checked into a room right over the office with an amazing view of the ocean. The inns very close to the boardwalk and beach and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments in regards to your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you were taken care of so quickly and that you enjoyed your stay. Please come see us again, with your furry family member, the next time you are in our area. More 

Brno, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

....that we spent here just one night. This was out last night in California, in USA overall. Everything went wrong that day. We arrived late as we had longer break in Pacific grove (I fell in love with this town), I messed up the booking, ... but Cori at the front desk was very helpful, nice and fixed my incorrect... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our property. I am sorry to hear that so much went wrong on your trip, but am very happy to hear that we were able to accommodate you. We hope to see you the next time you happen to be in Santa Cruz! More 

Aukra Municipality, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

We stayed for one night, room was small but clean, bathroom is a bit of a weak spot in my opinion. breakfast was really good, better than i expected. You can even make yourself waffles. Women at the check in were polite and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. I was sorry to hear that you did not appreceiate the layout of our bathroom. We welcome any suggestions that you may have on how we can better our rooms. We hope that we get the chance to see you again! More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

Nice stay, gentle personnel, cosy room, very good breakfast, parking included. I liked the position very close to the beach and main activities and also the sleep. I can easily recommend to all travelers. Thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and very appreciative of your recommendation of our property to others. We hope to see you again! More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

We stayed here just for one night unfortunately but the place was great. Within walking distance to many good restaurants. The complimentary breakfast was good, the staff very nice and helpful. The room was quite big and the inn really cute. Free working wifi is also a big plus. Would definitely stay here again next time we're in Santa Cruz.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed all that the Seaway Inn has to offer. We'll look forward to accommodating you again, when you are in Santa Cruz! More 

northern california
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014 via mobile

ive stayed at the Seaway Inn many times over the years, with my family, and just my wife and I, when we have reason, or just want to stay in Santa Cruz for a night or two. Both of my daughter attended UCSC. We choose this hotel because it has a nice location just across the street from the pier... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your continued patronage of our property. We will look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Santa Cruz. More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Booked 2 rooms as a walk-in due to a last minute change of plan that meant we had to be in Santa Cruz. The price was ok, the breakfast good and the wi-fi was fast. We had the front upstairs room and a second room on the ground floor, middle location. Just after unpacking, i found a dry French fry... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I apologize that the french fry was left until the next day; I did question that particular staff member about the issue and asked why it was left there as I can completely understand how you would feel about having someone's leftover food on the floor of your room. I was aware of the situation... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night on our PCH road trip in October. The hotel is in Fantastic location, only a short stroll from the beach and pier. the staff were very welcoming and friendly, we were shown to our room very efficiently. The room we had, room 117 was great, very comfortable and from the balcony... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments! We look forward to seeing you again! More 

Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Delightful small place, overlooking the bay. We went opposite first to the Dream Inn. it was $225 plus parking $ 25 so $250 plus tax - more than we paid In San Fran. So we went across the road to Seaway Inn. We got their best room, 2 queens, back of property away from the road, upstairs overlooking the bay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about our property. We are happy to hear that you appreciated the view from your room! We hope that we get the chance to accommodate you again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Seaway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaway Inn

Address: 176 West Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Seaway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaway Hotel Santa Cruz
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
1:16
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay