We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Seaway Inn

Certificate of Excellence
176 West Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Hotel amenities
Seaway Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Dansophia Fresno, California
Add Photo Write a Review

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    64
    81
    27
    12
    17
See reviews for
54
55
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (201)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (78)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The manerger Stephanie was rude! Breakfast was okay the rooms were small, but clean. The pier was close. The lady when we were leaving was very Nice, might stay here again for the right price. OK for one night!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Arlington, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed here before and enjoyed myself. Our dogs love it here, too! Last night was the worst night ever since there is a heat wave here --no fog, no breeze and no A/C with two 70lbs dogs panting and drinking water furiously to stay cool. At the moment, I have not slept all night (I went to bed at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I apologize that you had that issue happen during your stay, I do know how uncomfortably hot it was a couple of days this week that you stayed. This issue was brought to our attention early in the morning and taken care of as soon as we were able to get into the room with... More 

La Mesa, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

Good Location but avoid room 227. Strong mildew smell that would not go away. The front desk was no help with the issue. My guess is the carpet and pad need to be removed and replaced. On-site parking is limited but breakfast is good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay. I am unsure of where the mildew smell was coming from during your stay. I have check the room on several occasions since your visit and cannot seem to find any source of smell; the carpets and the pad underneath are both new, and were replaced within the past 2-3 years, at... More 

McAlisterville, PA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

Stayed here with friends and the location was great. Very close to beach and attractions. But more importantly the room was great. Very clean and remodeled. Loved the view from the balcony. Highly recommend. The front desk staff were great, very helpful and polite. Very good complementary breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room location and were comfortable during your stay. We hope to get the chance to accommodate you again. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

Great location and view of the boardwalk. Was upgraded to a room with a view. Very friendly staff at front desk. Good wifi. Breakfast is nice. Good bed. Double shower heads. Very happy with visit and would stay again. Lock on door broke but was fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review and rating of our property, even though the latch on your door was broken. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to accommodate you again, should you be back in Santa Cruz! More 

NevaDA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

The Seaway is a very nice motel, with a view from the second story rooms. Small rooms, but very clean and recently updated. The walkway in front of the second story rooms has outside furniture, perfect for cocktail hour and watching the sailboats. The motel is right up from the Boardwalk, and very close to downtown. We walked everywhere. Stephanie... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for you review! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the scenery from the patio and that you were comfortable while you were staying here. We will look forward to your next visit! More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

Older style accommodation. Room was clean, comfortable bed. Parking on site . Breakfast was very substantial... cereal, juice, yogurt, waffles, tea/coffee. Easy walk to the boardwalk and restaurants, Lovely view from the balcony. Friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing The Seaway Inn. We are happy to hear that you were comfortable during your stay and that you felt that we were well located and friendly. We hope to get the chance to accommodate you again in the future! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

I stayed here one night as a stop off on a road trip. There are much cheaper places in Santa Cruz but after reading some of the reviews I didn't want to take a chance! The room I had was one floor up with an outside balcony. There was plenty of space for me to park my 4x4. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our amenities and accommodations and hope that we get to see you again, should you be back in our area! More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

The Seaway is a pleasant motel, with rooms grouped around a parking courtyard. The gangway running outside the rooms also serves as a terrace area for each room, so the terraces are not private. The motel is very well located for Santa Cruz, within easy walking distance of major attractions such as the Pier, the Boardwalk, and local restaurants. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with our accommodations and look forward to seeing you again, should you be in the area! More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

I stayed here twice on the bounce and wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Perfect position for Beach Boardwalk and Downtown. Loved the Waffles for Breakfast too :). Staff were so friendly and helpful even helped solve a problem with our rental car.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us in February. We are happy to hear that you've stayed with us and have enjoyed your stay twice now. We hope to see you again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
1:16
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.1 mi away
Sea and Sand Inn
Sea and Sand Inn
#4 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#28 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
0.0 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay