We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 52 Santa Cruz hotels

Hotel Paradox

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   611 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA CA 95060
Hotel amenities
Hotel Paradox
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Paradox to your Saves list
80%
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    73
    32
    11
    1
See reviews for
55
83
11
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (224)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (69)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (81)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Amanda Abreu, the Front Office Supervisor has been an absolute pleasure to work with. I planned a very special, romantic weekend for my partner and her support, patience and knowledge was excellent. After looking at several hotels in Santa Cruz, I can definitely say that the Hotel Paradox just "felt right". The interior design of the reception, restaurant and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JBaylor-GM, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, responded to this review

We're so glad you chose our hotel for your romantic getaway and happy that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for mentioning Amanda - she's amazing and I'm so glad her efforts helped make your visit memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back! More

Silicon Valley, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Their nouveau decor -- with the squirrels, logs, and zombie books -- may be unique, but I wouldn't pay extra for it. And the manufactured hip thing around the pool just wasn't working for me. But the hotel is comfortable, and the staff is very friendly and helpful, so stay here if the price you're getting is competitive compared to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JBaylor-GM, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your king comments regarding our staff and the comfort of the room! We are so pleased you enjoyed these aspects of your visit. We recognize that our style may not suite everyone, and your candid comments are taken to heart. Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to see you... More

Warwick, Rhode Island
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Arrived late in to Santa Cruz, children( ages 14 and 10) tired after travelling all day. Ordered Pizza and went to sit by the fire pit and was told by a rude waitress to pack up and leave. No outside food allowed. This was the last and first time around the fire-pit because for the next 2 days was blocked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JBaylor-GM, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. There is certainly no room for rudeness at any time on the part of our team, and I am so very sorry that this is the manner in which you were addressed. While we do have pool rules that include restricting outside food and beverage as well as monitoring complimentary pool usage for guests,... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My room had king bed. The room was clean and nice however, they are smaller than what appears in the website. The bathroom has a sliding door and small closet type room to hang clothes or use the safe. It's fine for a couple. The downtown is walking distance. The weather was beautiful. The boardwalk is driving distance but also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JBaylor-GM, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, responded to this review

It sounds like you had a very nice Santa Cruz experience, including downtown, the Boardwalk and train ride, and we're so glad we could be part of it! I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the rooms clean and nice. The hotel does have varying sizes of rooms, some larger than others which can be reserved... More

Bathurst, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We drove into Santa Cruz not knowing what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel. We asked for a quiet room and got that... with mountain views apparently, I would suggest that it was car park views but that didn't bother us. Our room overlooked the car park (as opposed to the pool) and was away from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JBaylor-GM, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review - we are so pleased that you found the room clean and comfortable and the service friendly and excellent! We definitely look forward to the chance of welcoming you back! More

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very surprised to find out that er had to pay for the parking!!!! Even though there was a lot of space for parking. 10 dollars a day. Why not charge a little extra for the room and not have to charge people for the parking? It dosn't suits a 4 star hotel. Rooms where clean and nice and the pool... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JBaylor-GM, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding the rooms and the pool! We are so sorry that you were surprised by the parking charge. Your comments are very valuable to us, and we will continue to ensure all costs are clearly communicated at the time of booking. Please accept my apology that the parking charge came as a... More

Munich, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It is my first time writing a review and unfortunately I have to start with a negative one. Basically the Hotel is nice, modern and clean. My room had a view to the parking lot and, that was the problem, was close to the elevator. Which means every 20 to 60 seconds a heard a loud and annoying humming noise.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JBaylor-GM, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel, and so sorry that your very first experience with us was not more positive. We do sincerely appreciate your positive comments regarding the hotel style and cleanliness. However I do regret that the room location near the elevator caused a problem with... More

Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here for our wedding anniversary and we loved the design of the hotel, the room and the layout of the pool/hot tub/open fireplace. We travelled during the last week of August, which was perfect for us, as the place was not overly busy and on some evenings we had the hot tub to ourselves. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JBaylor-GM, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, responded to this review

Happy Anniversary! Thank you for spending it with us and sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! More

Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night and loved the room and location of the hotel; away from the touristy section of Santa Cruz. But we stayed in Cupertino earlier and for 1/2 the price also had a beautiful room, parking included, full breakfast with omelet bar, water/iced tea with fruit during the day, etc. Paradox charges $10 per night for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JBaylor-GM, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your room, the location, the pool/spa and happy hour! I do appreciate your comments regarding parking; we take all feedback into consideration and your comments are a great help to us as we evaluate our services. Again, thanks for your review and we hope to see you again in the future! More

San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and two kids and I stayed at the Hotel Paradox as a last minute Labor Day get-away - just one night. I was just about perfect, except our room - 104 - was near the entrance to the hotel and folks were coming in and out pretty late into the night (and not quietly). But otherwise, all was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JBaylor-GM, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your last minute get-away! I'm so glad you found the hotel enjoyable, and do apologize that noise from other guests disrupted your rest. I do hope that you will return, and we will be sure to block a room in a location more to your liking. Thanks so much for your... More

Do you own or manage Hotel Paradox?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Paradox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradox

Address: 611 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Paradox 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Paradox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

116 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (83)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Hotel Paradox