We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 52 Santa Cruz hotels

Hotel Paradox

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   611 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA CA 95060
Hotel amenities
Hotel Paradox
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Paradox to your Saves list
80%
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
GeneLizy
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    74
    34
    11
    1
See reviews for
55
85
11
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (228)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (69)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (85)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is not even close to 4 stars. The poolside service was horrible. The comforter in the room was white & you can see dingy, yellowish stains. The pillows were hard. This hotel used to be a Holiday Inn, and as you walk down the hall toward the lobby, you can still smell the old Holiday Inn. And behind... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JBaylor-GM, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, responded to this review

I'm so sorry to read that you did not enjoy your experience with us. Your impressions are very important and we will review your comments together as a team to find areas where we can elevate our guest experience. I thank you for taking the time to share your review. More

Hollywood, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I booked this hotel online and the pictures of the interior lobby and pool don't lie, it's a beautiful look. Clearly a lot of money went into the renovation and modernization of the look. However, travelers should be aware that it's a nice looking hotel built upon a motel skeleton. All of the rooms are facing outside,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JBaylor-GM, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, responded to this review

We sincerely appreciate your kind comments regarding the style and décor of our property, and thank you for choosing to stay with us! The guestrooms are of varying sizes, allowing for guests who desire additional space to select expanded rooms or suites. Your feedback is taken to heart and we are grateful to you for sharing your candid opinions. I... More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My bf and I stayed for a night here. And we loved it! Super clean and the pool was very clean! I would reccommend anyone here. Its all worth the money! downside is wish we requested to stay by the pool side, it wouldve been nice but this place is by far beyond better than the other place called OCEANNA... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JBaylor-GM, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, responded to this review

Thanks for your wonderful review! So glad you had a great experience, and we look forward to the chance to do it all over again on your next visit! More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Amanda Abreu, the Front Office Supervisor has been an absolute pleasure to work with. I planned a very special, romantic weekend for my partner and her support, patience and knowledge was excellent. After looking at several hotels in Santa Cruz, I can definitely say that the Hotel Paradox just "felt right". The interior design of the reception, restaurant and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JBaylor-GM, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, responded to this review

We're so glad you chose our hotel for your romantic getaway and happy that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for mentioning Amanda - she's amazing and I'm so glad her efforts helped make your visit memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back! More

Silicon Valley, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Their nouveau decor -- with the squirrels, logs, and zombie books -- may be unique, but I wouldn't pay extra for it. And the manufactured hip thing around the pool just wasn't working for me. But the hotel is comfortable, and the staff is very friendly and helpful, so stay here if the price you're getting is competitive compared to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JBaylor-GM, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your king comments regarding our staff and the comfort of the room! We are so pleased you enjoyed these aspects of your visit. We recognize that our style may not suite everyone, and your candid comments are taken to heart. Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to see you... More

Warwick, Rhode Island
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived late in to Santa Cruz, children( ages 14 and 10) tired after travelling all day. Ordered Pizza and went to sit by the fire pit and was told by a rude waitress to pack up and leave. No outside food allowed. This was the last and first time around the fire-pit because for the next 2 days was blocked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
JBaylor-GM, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. There is certainly no room for rudeness at any time on the part of our team, and I am so very sorry that this is the manner in which you were addressed. While we do have pool rules that include restricting outside food and beverage as well as monitoring complimentary pool usage for guests,... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My room had king bed. The room was clean and nice however, they are smaller than what appears in the website. The bathroom has a sliding door and small closet type room to hang clothes or use the safe. It's fine for a couple. The downtown is walking distance. The weather was beautiful. The boardwalk is driving distance but also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JBaylor-GM, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, responded to this review

It sounds like you had a very nice Santa Cruz experience, including downtown, the Boardwalk and train ride, and we're so glad we could be part of it! I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the rooms clean and nice. The hotel does have varying sizes of rooms, some larger than others which can be reserved... More

Bathurst, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

We drove into Santa Cruz not knowing what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel. We asked for a quiet room and got that... with mountain views apparently, I would suggest that it was car park views but that didn't bother us. Our room overlooked the car park (as opposed to the pool) and was away from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JBaylor-GM, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review - we are so pleased that you found the room clean and comfortable and the service friendly and excellent! We definitely look forward to the chance of welcoming you back! More

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Very surprised to find out that er had to pay for the parking!!!! Even though there was a lot of space for parking. 10 dollars a day. Why not charge a little extra for the room and not have to charge people for the parking? It dosn't suits a 4 star hotel. Rooms where clean and nice and the pool... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JBaylor-GM, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding the rooms and the pool! We are so sorry that you were surprised by the parking charge. Your comments are very valuable to us, and we will continue to ensure all costs are clearly communicated at the time of booking. Please accept my apology that the parking charge came as a... More

Munich, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 via mobile

It is my first time writing a review and unfortunately I have to start with a negative one. Basically the Hotel is nice, modern and clean. My room had a view to the parking lot and, that was the problem, was close to the elevator. Which means every 20 to 60 seconds a heard a loud and annoying humming noise.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JBaylor-GM, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel, and so sorry that your very first experience with us was not more positive. We do sincerely appreciate your positive comments regarding the hotel style and cleanliness. However I do regret that the room location near the elevator caused a problem with... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Paradox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradox

Address: 611 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Paradox 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Paradox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

116 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (83)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay