We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Paradox

Certificate of Excellence
611 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA CA 95060
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Paradox
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Paradox
Add Photo Write a Review

304 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    139
    101
    41
    18
    5
See reviews for
81
106
13
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (304)
  • Mar-May only
    (77)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (99)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (94)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
Albany, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I would have given this hotel a much better rating if they had lower rates and I hadn't had a specific problem that was poorly dealt with. As others have said it feels like a gussied up roadside motel. The best things about this hotel are the pool, nice decor, and quiet rooms. We had a couple smaller issues -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JBaylor-GM, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, responded to this review

I would first like to thank you so much for your kind comments regarding the pool, décor and quiet rooms, we are so glad that you enjoyed these aspects of your stay. Secondly, I would like to offer my sincere apology for inconvenience that your endured by not being allowed to check into a room reserved under your friend's name.... More 

Cambrdge
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very stylish hotel - don't be put off by the austere exterior you see from the highway.The rooms were really comfortable and clean and quiet, and the staff very helpful. The restaurant served delicious if pricey food. The ambience was modern but not stark and the lighting of the bedrooms was well designed. The shower room was superb. We had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JBaylor-GM, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, responded to this review

We love that you experienced the true paradox of Hotel Paradox, demonstrating that a book is not always judged by its cover. Thank you so much for your review! So glad you found the room comfortable, clean and quiet. Thank you for your kind words about our staff and service. I hope we will welcome you again soon! More 

Sacred Valley, Peru
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was here for their first wedding. Should be their last. This is a Motel 6. Worst experience ever. Too expensive. Hot rooms, cold food was terrible, smell in the lobby and its location it just scary. This place is in the middle of the ghetto

Was this review helpful? Yes
JBaylor-GM, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, responded to this review

Dear AD: I was so very disappointed to read your review from your stay one year ago. I do apologize that your impressions of the hotel and the surrounding area were not positive. We realize that you have a variety of choices when visiting Santa Cruz, and it is with this spirit that your feedback is received and shared with... More 

Arcata, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel was very clean, modern and well put together. Super nice shower and bathroom and very comfortable beds. Very quiet, large secure parking area and great location next to a park and within walking distance to good food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JBaylor-GM, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, responded to this review

I am so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us - your comments mean everything to us and it gives me pleasure to share this feedback with our team. We can't wait for our next chance to welcome you back! More 

Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked our room at the last minute for a quick getaway to Santa Cruz (we live in Cupertino about 45 min away). We were very pleasantly surprised at the modern hip decor, the nice rooms and the wonderful pool area. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel operates a free shuttle which will take you to and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JBaylor-GM, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, responded to this review

We love the fact that your last minute get-away led you to the Paradox - thank you for staying with us! It's such a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. Your recommendation means the world to us. I hope we will get the chance to welcome you back soon. More 

4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After having a dreadful experience at a Hotel in San Simeon we were to say the least a little apprehensive about the next hotel stop on our vacation. The Paradox totally renewed our faith in the Trip Advisor rating system. What a refurbished gem!

Was this review helpful? Yes
JBaylor-GM, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, responded to this review

We love your review! Thank you for being our guest. Please come again soon! With Love, from Team Paradox More 

Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was a surprise. It is well kept, the rooms are well insulated and are quiet. They are very nicely and elegantly decorated. The staff is very friendly/helpful. The first think you notice as you walk in is the desk made from an artistically carved large trunk of a tree. The location is unbeatable. It is within walking distance... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JBaylor-GM, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, responded to this review

It is always a pleasure to know when a guest has had a truly enjoyable experience with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to relay your feedback! I love sharing these comments with our team. I am very sorry for the error made at the bar, but so glad that it was quickly resolved. I hope we... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staying at the Paradox was in the overall good, we didn't have any particular problem and the staff was nice and helpful. But if you're used to stay in 4* hotels, Paradox is definitely not one. The hotel is small, same for the pool, parking is paying, poor equipment at the gym. Also, there aren't any comfortable places to stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JBaylor-GM, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, responded to this review

We are glad we had the chance to welcome you for your visit to Santa Cruz. I am sorry that you were unable to find a comfortable work space during your stay, and that you had perhaps anticipated a larger sized property. While we are one of the largest hotel in Santa Cruz, we are also a boutique property, which... More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was nicely done and very comfortable. It wasn't huge but a good size even for us with a baby. The pool was very busy the day we got there but around 4 pm, we still managed to find some seats and get a few minutes in the pool with baby. It's a little bit of a walk to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JBaylor-GM, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Santa Cruz. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit, and we hope we will get the chance to welcome you back again should your travels bring you this direction again! More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place unfortunately for them, falls in a category with their pricing, that leaves them open to scrutiny. To be fair this is a decent hotel but I left feeling like I wasted my money. I imagine there are plenty of good reasons to come to Santa Cruz and hang out at the hotel. I don't know of any myself... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JBaylor-GM, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, responded to this review

Dear Edward P: We appreciate the time you took to provide a review of your experience, and thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. I am sorry that our hotel does not seem to offer the experience you were seeking, and will certainly strive to exceed your expectations going forward. Not only do we want to be... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

361 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (92)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (38)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (235)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Other (7)
Viewed
Double Room (36)
Viewed
Extended King Room (36)
Viewed
Jacuzzi (6)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (17)
Viewed
Suite (51)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
4.1 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay