We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
21305 East Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95062
Announcement
Free WiFi & Breakfast
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    30
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
77
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (152)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Socorro, NM
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My hubby & I stayed for three nights in April for my birthday. The owners do an outstanding job of providing 5 star service! Full breakfast included, spacious rooms, heated bathroom floor, easy walk of 2 blocks to beach, lots of great referrals of what to do in area. Had an amazing experience and would definitely give it a two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is not in the main part of Santa Cruz and those wanting the full touristy feel should stay away. That said it is close to the beach, only a short walk away...not the board walk beach best something a little quiter. The welcome we got when we arrived early was very welcoming, we were allowed to check in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jersey City, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Did I mention that all of this Inn's bathrooms have heated floors....That alone is enough to stay here. But also each room is well appointed and appears to have been tastefully renovated recently. The inn is not on the beach but is a easy pleasurable walk two blocks away. The renovation included new sound proofing windows and doors to keep... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice stay. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. The staff are very nice and welcoming. The breakfast is very good, fresh fruit, good coffee and tastefull sandwiches. The Bella notte inn is my top recommendation for a stay in Santa Cruz.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Clarkston, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would only classify this as an average hotel. The management was not helpful and somewhat sullen. The room was small, the sink stopper became stuck and the towels were worn and poor quality. The breakfast that previous reviewers raved about, was only average. (Although the scones were great.) The bed was comfortable, but for the price you pay you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review

Dear Vivian, thank you for staying at Bella Notte. We are sorry to hear your stay did not meet your expectations. I apologize that you found a staff member(s) sullen. Everyone has "off days" but that should never impact a guest experience. We were surprised to read there was an issue with towels. Our front desk staff would have been... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at this fine inn for 5 nights at the end of April for our wedding in Capitola. It was simply perfect. Room #7 met all of our needs, including a spacious walk-in closet, a faux gas fireplace, a chaise lounge, and a desk area that was perfect for my make-up mirror (although there is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review

Dear Larsargent, congratulations on your recent wedding. We wish you a long and happy marriage. Thank you for staying at Bella Notte and sharing your experience with a review. We hope you have come great memories of Capitola/Santa Cruz and will come see us again. Best Wishes Bella Notte Staff & Management. More 

Zurich/Switzerland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
80 hotel reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay at the Bella Notte Inn. Our upstairs room was nicely decorated (everything seemed practically new), comfortable and very clean, with good quality linen & towels (and nice bathroom amenities). The bed was a bit too soft for us, but we appreciated the space with flatscreen tv, fridge and free wifi. The complimentary breakfast surpassed our expectations... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review

Dear Sweet Country Woman, thank you for choosing Bella Notte. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and especially our complimentary hot breakfast (from our friends at Britannia Arms Capitola) and pastries from Gayle's Capitola. We hope the rest of your trip to the US is a good one and hope you'll come see us again if... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here 1 night on a way down route 1. Was a lovely, comfy hotel, in a great location. Was a short walk to the beach and 10mn walk along the beach to the harbour and restaurant (Also 2 restaurants next door). Owners were very helpful and breakfast was lovely and plentiful ( also had almond milk and dairy alternatives... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review

Dear Amz37, thank you for staying at Bella Notte on your epic journey down HWY 1 and taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and especially our proximity to the beach and local restaurants. We hope the rest of your trip to California is a good one and we wish you... More 

Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

We booked at Bella Notte in part because of all the great reviews in Tripadvisor. The owners were extremely kind and helpful at all times, but We were slightly disappointed. The Inn is cozy enough and well maintained, with very comfy beds and a nice large room, but I cannot believe that it is the very best that Santa Cruz... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review

Dear Marco, Thank you for staying at Bella Notte and taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your room but saddened to hear you were disappointed overall. As you mentioned we do not have an ocean view. We do not advertise an ocean view as we do not offer an ocean view and... More 

New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

We recently visited Santa Cruz, CA and stayed at the Bella Notte, which we selected based upon TripAdvisor reviews. Our stay was wonderful. The staff were very friendly and helpful, offering great tips about local sites and restaurants. The hotel itself is very well situated to all local attractions, but still nice and quiet. The room (we stayed in unit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review

Dear ALCNJ, thank you for staying at Bella Notte. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay including our location, complimentary hot breakfast and WiFi. We hope you enjoyed your trip to California and wish you a safe trip home. Regards, Bella Notte Staff & Management. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay