We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
2220 Bath Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
5 people have started booking this hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites
Add Photo

467 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    196
    164
    70
    26
    11
See reviews for
181
117
22
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (467)
  • Mar-May only
    (133)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (149)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (100)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (85)
All months
Ridgecrest, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

While this is not close to the beach, it is ideal for its location next to sansum clinic. We often come here for medical appointments and it is the ideal place to stay. Walking distance to the clinic, swimming pool, jacuzzi, and restaurant--newly opened with an innovative new chef.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Los Angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed our stay here. This hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood. The room was very cozy and quiet. We were located on the second floor with a pool view. The staff was friendly and helpful. It's about a mile and a half walk to downtown state street.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was here with my teenaged son. We enjoyed our stay at this quiet, well-maintained hotel in a residential part of Santa Barbara just a short walk from the mission, and a short walk from downtown. His post-op visit this time only required a one-night stay. However, last summer after he required a medical procedure, we spent over two weeks... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Carol W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for positing on TripAdvisor about your two stays with us…………..and hope your son is doing well. Look forward to your next visit with us; come for a vacation next time and enjoy all that Santa Barbara has to offer. More 

Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We paid an huge amount of money to stay in two suites for 10 of our family members to stay here. The service and the rooms were like you staying in cheap off the highway motel. The bath and shower were out dated and dirty. The kitchen had locked cabinets for the dishes and etc, and was out dated. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carol W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review

I appreciate that you took the time to write a review about your recent stay with us; but am so disheartened about your observations of our hotel. I can’t imagine that there were so many awful things wrong with the rooms you occupied; I am so sorry. I do know that we are somewhat an old-fashioned property; but our cleaning... More 

Belvidere, Illinois
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room and entire property was clean. We had fresh fruit and bottled water provided daily by housekeeping. The staff was friendly and helpful. Fresh coffee was available in the lobby around the clock. It was a pleasant hotel in a residential area. The hotel was being painted during our stay. Although the decor is older, the beds were comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for writing about your stay with us; we appreciate your kind praise. We do all work very hard to keep our hotel clean and comfortable for our guests. Next time you travel to Santa Barbara; I hope you will stay with us again. More 

Scottsdale, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was not in the central areas, and the decor of the hotel was out date. It needs a good update decor and paint. The beach is not close to the hotel. The surrounding areas of the hotel n the residential and hospital areas.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was clean and the bed comfortable. However the entire place needs to be modernized. It is shabby and not tasteful. The wifi doesn't work at all. I was treated to the noise of a jackhammer all morning. I will not stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us here at the Encina Inn and Suites; and I’m so sorry you were not completely satisfied with your accommodations. I do know about the jack hammer you are referring to; unfortunately the City of Santa Barbara is doing some pipe work out in the street right in front of... More 

Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

not good. Expensive. Very loud because the walls are so thin and the windows do not operate correctly/ they do not close. What a scam. If you want to stay in a nice place do not stay here. We had a wedding to go to in Santa Barbara, we checked in at the hotel, dropped off our bags and left... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carol W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review

I am so sorry to read your review of our hotel; and that you had such a terrible experience. I remember you quite well when you came to the front desk to check out; I apologized and gave you a discount on the room rent. I explained in great detail that some guests previous to you must have been smoking... More 

San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a wedding to go to in Santa Barbara, we checked in at the hotel, dropped off our bags and left for the wedding. At around midnight when we came back, there was a horrible stink of cigarette smell. We tried turning on the AC to dissipate the smell and it got worse! It seemed that the smell was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dana Point, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a very old property in a beautiful setting. The one and two bedroom suites are large and very comfortable. Beds were very comfy and I was surprised and how much I liked the hotel. The one thing you must know is that many elderly people stay here while visiting the hospital down the street and they expect it... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay