We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harbor House Inn

3.0 of 5 104 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Harbor House Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Harbor House Inn
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    76
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
30
234
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (340)
  • Mar-May only
    (75)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (95)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (96)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (74)
All months
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This room...I don't even know where to start! Let's start with check in...The Inn is a very well done renovated Motel, so the rooms are all separate from each other. The first thing you smell when you walk in, is homemade Banana Bread, which is complimentary if you stay 2 or more nights... unfortunately, we only stayed one, so we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHarborHouseInn, Front Office Manager at Harbor House Inn, responded to this review

Greetings Megan T.! Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your trip! We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting beautiful Santa Barbara. We're absolutely honored that you have deemed our room as the best ever and we can't wait to welcome you back on your... More

Columbia, CT
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights. Great small inn, just a block from the beach. Our room (2A) had everything we needed - comfy bed, sitting area, small well-stocked kitchen, welcome basket with water, juices, homemade banana bread, biscotti, coffee and a variety of teas. Our room also had a deep hydro therapy tub. Each unit also has an outside sitting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
TheHarborHouseInn, Front Office Manager at Harbor House Inn, responded to this review

Hello Bill B! Thanks for taking the time to review our inn. We're elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! On behalf of our entire staff, thank you for the kudos! We take great pride in our attention to detail and it's very rewarding for our staff to hear positive feed back in that regard. We'll... More

Sandwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location. Staff friendly, helpful and with good local knowledge. Very spacious and comfortable room. Breakfast basket was amazing. This hotel is an absolute gem. Dont miss it. Would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
TheHarborHouseInn, Front Office Manager at Harbor House Inn, responded to this review

Greetings Alan G from the Harbor House! Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. We're happy our staff was able to take such good care of you and able to point you in the right direction while you were visiting Santa Barbara! Glad to hear you liked your breakfast basket, we put... More

Riverside, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night while driving up the coast the last week of September. Great location near the beach and within walking distance of a number of restaurants. Room was large, quiet and nicely furnished and included a kitchen and dining area. Bed was very comfortable. Check-in was easy and all the staff we dealt with were exceedingly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
TheHarborHouseInn, Front Office Manager at Harbor House Inn, responded to this review

Hello gchrist256, Thank you so very much for your review of our inn! We're happy to hear how much you liked your room and glad to hear you were able to take advantage of our amazing location! And you're right, our beds are very comfy and new too with half being less than a year old and the other half... More

Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just returned from a short stay and thoroughly loved everything about the Inn. Made use if the free bike and DVD rental and spend a lovely day at the beach. Slightly expensive but would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
TheHarborHouseInn, Front Office Manager at Harbor House Inn, responded to this review

Hello Fran B, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We're happy to hear you "loved every minute" and that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary DVD library and beach cruisers! Thank you very much for your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back when your... More

San Franisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rented the most expensive King Deluxe room, and it was so hot, as they do not have air-conditioning. During the day, room was like a oven. When complained about the heat, we were asked to sleep with the windows (at floor level, where you can see from the road) open to get the "cross air flowing". Will never stay there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHarborHouseInn, Front Office Manager at Harbor House Inn, responded to this review

Hello Kochchi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Harbor House Inn. We're very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Typically, the high in Santa Barbara year round is 72 degrees. There are however a handful of days in the year where temperatures are higher than normal and we agree that... More

Santa Cruz, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We hit town, drove by and decided to stay. The location was fantastic, a short stroll to the beach, Pier, and restaurants. We stayed in an apartment style room with a fireplace and full kitchen...WOW what a deal!! We will be back (can't wait)!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheHarborHouseInn, Front Office Manager at Harbor House Inn, responded to this review

Hello Lisa B, Thanks for taking the time to review us! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and really liked your room! We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards, Paul More

Atlanta, GA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

We were looking for a quaint hotel, close to the beach, and walking distance to the restaurants . . Harbor House Inn was just perfect. The rooms all overlook a small courtyard, and many of the rooms have a small patio table right outside their rooms. The small touches make all the difference ! There was an unbelievable breakfast basket... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheHarborHouseInn, Front Office Manager at Harbor House Inn, responded to this review

Hi SHRAtl, Thank you for all of your kind words! We're happy to hear you were able to explore our beautiful city on our complimentary 3-speed beach cruising bikes and enjoyed our breakfast basket! We are lucky to have such a wonderful staff as you mentioned as well. And you're right, while you were here we were installing air conditioning... More

London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Lovely quirky place with character in a great location. Good value too and lot's of attention to detail with the hosts provding a welcome food basket and bathroom essentials. The most beautiful bed linen, and a really comfy bed, didn;t want to leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
TheHarborHouseInn, Front Office Manager at Harbor House Inn, responded to this review

Hi CharlotteCollins, Thanks for taking the time to write a review on us! We're glad you could see our attention to detail. You're right, we do have great beds, all of which are less than a year old with half being less than a month old. I'm sorry you didn't want to leave us but you can always come and... More

Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Perfect size room or let's better say small apartment with sofa area and a little kitchen. Thanks for the huge welcome basket! Deco is rather old-fashioned but in a good way, i.e. very well maintained and with character. Excellent bathroom with a top shower and lovely details - all so comfortable and well thought-out. Spotlessly clean (even the shower curtain!)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
TheHarborHouseInn, Front Office Manager at Harbor House Inn, responded to this review

Hello UtedB, Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review on our inn. I'm thrilled to hear you had such a good time and enjoyed our amenities! Also, I'm happy to let you know that this past month we got a brand new bed for room number 4. Now all of our beds are less... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Harbor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House Inn

Address: 104 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harbor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Hotel Santa Barbara

395 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (134)
Viewed
Room/suite (52)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (41)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (251)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Deluxe King Bedroom (48)
Viewed
Deluxe King Studio (50)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen Bedroom (37)
Viewed
Queen Studio #1 (44)
Viewed
Queen Studio #2 (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay