We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Milo Santa Barbara

3.5 of 5 202 W. Cabrillo Blvd., Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Hotel Oceana)
#37 of 61 Hotels in Santa Barbara
149 Reviews 3.5 of 5 stars
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    53
    23
    19
    15
See reviews for
30
61
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (149)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (83)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Petaluma
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel can be a perfect anchor point for Santa Barbara tourism. There are enough attractions within walking distance you could put your car "on ice" for a couple of days and just walk around. Their free bicycles are a real gift, and add another aspect to your vacation experience. I chafe at the parking fees, but there really is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I had stayed here when it was the Oceana. Sorry to say it was not anything like the previous owners. Everything was getting run down. Even the area. Go north just a little bit even. The area was not very nice anymore either. Disappointed. Left for Carmel and thats when our trip really started.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

actually about a 3.5 - We stayed here the night before a charity walk during the CA heat wave. The hotel is cute and the location couldn't be better, but lack of air conditioning made it really uncomfortable for our short night. On the positive side, the courtyard and ocean breezes cooled the room off as long as we kept... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Very nice stay opposite the sea n beach walk .nice weather . Great location pnear the pier n the marina . Plenty of restaurants .coffee shops . Shopping places . Dining placess . Wind surfing . Fishing . Riding bikes .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great location and friendly staff, but tiny rooms and no A/C!! Do not stay here if it is above 80! We left our widows open until people started smoking outside, and since we have a 3-month-old we had to close them. There are ceiling fans but I don't think ours did too much. Our poor baby was up half the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelley S, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Dear Samfrog, While I am happy to hear that the staff were so friendly and you were able to enjoy our location, I am so sorry to hear about how much the heat affected your stay. I can understand that having your little one unable to sleep wouldn't allow for much rest for you and your husband. If there is... More

Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Hotel Milo during a conference September 8 - 11, 2014. The location was good and the staff was accommodating. However, there is no air conditioning in the hotel which made the room very uncomfortable. It is bad when you have to leave the doors open to breathe while sitting on the patio outside the room to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelley S, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Dear Zman8565, I do apologize that the heat wave we have had in California has affected your recent stay with us. We are actively working through some exciting upgrades to the property with our new ownership and hope to share these soon as we address such issues as air conditioning. I do hope that you will consider Hotel Milo in... More

Ensenada, Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Gorgeous on the outside, fabulous breakfast included in the pricey cost, fantastic location on Cabrillo near the pier, BUT a room so tiny it reminded us of a decent cabin on a cruise ship. Oh, and no air conditioning plus an extra $18 fee to park on the property!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Shelley S, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Dear Dorbaja, Thank you for your review. That's great that you were able to enjoy the gorgeous landscaping and property, the fabulous breakfast, and our fantastic location. We do offer several different room types that provide different views as well as sizes (from 200-350 square feet) and we would be more than happy to help you find the best suited... More

Versailles, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Last minute trip over Labor Day so it was only hotel on the beach with available rooms. Our room was great but they really need A/C. We kept our windows open at night but it was quite noisey with traffic and loud people. It was expensive but it was a holiday weekend. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast also. Would consider... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelley S, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Dear Bluegrassmom58, Thank you for your review and for spending your Labor Day with us! It was a beautiful weekend in Santa Barbara so I also hope you were able to spend some time on the beach. We are also working through some exciting property changes with our new ownership to address concerns such as the air conditioning and look... More

Costa Mesa, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

About all I can say is "Cute hotel", Good Location. Otherwise, No AC, small rooms,no closet, no elevators, parking is limited, no Bar, no Room Service. W-A-Y overpriced....price was comparable to the Fess Parker Doubletree Resort right down the road, but room and amenities are NOT comparable! Won't likely be staying here again, unless it is 'the only room in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chelsea B, Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Dear Cruzinthecoast, I am happy to hear you were able to enjoy our great location. I hope you were able to enjoy your time while here in Santa Barbara even though we were lacking some of the amenities such as a bar. We do have other amenities such as bicycle rentals and breakfast included in you stay that I hope... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A motel. And not a very good one. With a seeming attachment to the early morning branch of the Hell's Angels. Tiny rooms. Exposed the road. Thin walls. 'Sea views' totally contrived. Don't be fooled by Mr and Mrs Smith endorsement. Very poor.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shelley S, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Dear RussRussellRusty, I do apologize that we did not meet your expectations and that you did not have a better experience with us at Hotel Milo. I do hope that we can earn your business back with some upgrades to the property in the near future. Please don't hesitate to reach out to the property directly if we can ever... More

Do you own or manage Hotel Milo Santa Barbara?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Milo Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milo Santa Barbara

Address: 202 W. Cabrillo Blvd., Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Hotel Oceana)
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Milo Santa Barbara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Venere, Priceline, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Milo Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oceana Santa Barbara

251 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (62)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (28)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (163)
Viewed
Amenities (26)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (32)
Viewed
Main Pool (13)
Viewed
Ocean View Room (28)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (10)
Viewed
Second Pool (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Hotel Milo Santa Barbara