We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Milo Santa Barbara

3.5 of 5 202 W. Cabrillo Blvd., Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Hotel Oceana)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    59
    30
    20
    17
See reviews for
32
74
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (171)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (83)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Arrived in mid October, 2014 and check in lined up with only one person checking guests in - a lot of frustration from everyone waiting to see check-in associate - either to check in or express their frustration about their rooms ...our 1st room was a bit of a shock - way in back with only a bed - no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Had a great trip to Santa Barbara and stayed at Hotel Milo for three nights. Honestly I was a bit hesitant to stay here after reading some of the reviews, but I did not encounter any of the troubles that others had experienced. I booked the hotel for our anniversary and the hotel provided us with a complimentary bottle of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pinner
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

my wife and I had 3 days at the Fess Parker. The room was nice and clean , a good size and a nice balcony. The rooms are arranged over several buildings and can be a walk to the main hotel. The fine dining restaurant was very good but there was only one other couple there so atmosphere was lacking.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The room was average, nice and clean, however it was noisy late at night and was very expensive. The smoke detector went off at 1 am and then at 1:15 it was discovered it had not had battery replaced in over a year. I would probably stay again but only if price was much cheaper.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
44 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We wanted a hotel in a good position as we were staying for 3 or 4 days, so we knew it would not be cheap. The hotel is on the seafront and the price reflects that, and on top of that you have the various resort fees and taxes which included the Wi-Fi so in effect this was not provided.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kifisia, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good things first, good location, but other than that nothing worth the money we gave. They charged us extra for wifi and when i told them that we don't wont wifi they answer that we have to pay for the amenities. Very dirty, old rooms and rude staff!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Shelley S, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Dear Thalitsa, It's unfortunate to hear that your experience with your room and our staff was less than expected. Room cleanliness and the friendliness of our staff are two areas that we are often commended for at Hotel Milo so I am very surprised to hear this. I will be sure to share with our team to ensure we are... More

South Pasadena, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were visiting our kids at uCSB and booked a room at the Hotel Milo. It was perfect! Great service, perfect location, lovely grounds. The room was clean and very comfortable. Beds were great. I heard the sound of the ocean at night. Everything is walking distance. We will definitely stay again. The only negative was the wifi, not good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelley S, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Dear Jeanburkemar, Thank you for your review and I am so happy to hear your stay was perfect! We look forward to welcoming you and your family back for your next visit to Santa Barbara. Also, we just upgraded our WIFI, and do hope you will noticed the difference during your next stay. Please let us know if we can... More

Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Rooms are small, clean, well equipped. Bathrooms "sqeezingly" small, might need some upgrade as well. However, no AC. So it's quite impossible to be comfortable in warm weather... Open doors, open windows - specially on second floor. For the location and quality the price is right...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelley S, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Dear Razimih, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit. We do have several different room types that offer different sizes and layouts in each room and would be happy to help you find a bathroom that is more fitting your needs. Please feel free to call us directly at the hotel so we can help... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Got the Hotel Milo on hotwire so wasnt sure what to expect - looked it up after getting hotel name and was pleased as it looked nice on the website and said it was oceanfront. Found the hotel to be great - fab location close to everything and wonderful to be on the oceanfront. Front desk staff welcoming and helpful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelley S, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Dear Jellybeanybean, Thank you for your review and it's great to hear you were able to enjoy the location, welcoming staff, breakfast and hotel amenities. I'm so happy that you had such a nice stay with us. While we do charge for parking, most hotels in our area do charge for parking as well, but there is often plenty of... More

Albertville, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 nights while visiting wine country north of Santa Barbara. Stayed with three adults in room. Had trouble locating rooms with two beds and or king with couch to fit 3 adults which led us to Hotel Milo. Arrived around 1 pm and was told by front desk rooms would be ready around 3 pm, which is when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelley S, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Dear JasonK786, That's great that you were able to make a trip to wine country! There are such wonderful wineries in our area and we love hearing about our guests favorites. I'm sorry to hear that your first room was not quite as expected. I'm happy to hear that staff were able to find you another room that was more... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Milo Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milo Santa Barbara

Address: 202 W. Cabrillo Blvd., Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Hotel Oceana)
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Milo Santa Barbara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Splendia, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Milo Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oceana Santa Barbara

279 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (33)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (163)
Viewed
Amenities (26)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (32)
Viewed
Main Pool (13)
Viewed
Ocean View Room (28)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (10)
Viewed
Second Pool (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay