We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Milo Santa Barbara

Hotel website
Hotel deals
202 W. Cabrillo Blvd., Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Hotel Oceana)
Special Offer
Urban Wine Tasting
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Add Your Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    89
    48
    27
    26
See reviews for
52
106
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (254)
  • Mar-May only
    (71)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (83)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Everything was uber clean and uber cute--a la retro 1950's. It had a mid-century feel-not because it was old and tired, but totally updated and fresh. Clean, accommodating, FREE BIKES!, continental breakfast, most comfortable bed my husband and I have ever slept in. Loved it! (We stayed 3 nights in early March.) We walked to our SEGway tour, to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a nice and affordable little hotel. The rooms are tastefully decorated, toiletries are by L'Occitane, the check in was easy enough. (We arrived around noon and our room was not ready for check-in but that's expected). Parking was easy. Best of all is the location. You can walk to the pier, to the shops on State St., and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Marcos, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed there for three days in early March. At first I wasn't overly impressed but then the atmosphere started to sink in and I was OK. It's not a luxurious place but its not suppose to be; just comfortable and spacious and our bed was great. We got one of the nicest, most expensive rooms and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelley S, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Dear bgkrider, Thank you for your review. It sounds like you got a chance to truly experience Santa Barbara and our proximity to the beach by booking one of our Ocean View rooms. Please do come back and visit us again! Warm Regards, Shelley More 

Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a lovely place to stay! We were in town with a small group of friends and this hotel was PERFECT! The staff was friendly and accommodating; they made sure we all had rooms close to each other and they suggested some good local spots! The property itself was picturesque and the ocean views were amazing! The location was perfect,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelley S, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Dear Katesa12, Thank you for your kind words and for sharing about your experience. It's always a pleasure to hear that our staff was so friendly and that they were able to help create such a perfect experience for you and your friends. Please do come back and see us again soon! Shelley More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed a few night at hotel milo. I absolutely loved it there. I didn't want to leave. The staff was so nice and helpful told us good places to go and see and eat at. We took their bike out and that was a blast. My room was perfect Clean and the ocean views were amazing. I will defiantly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelley S, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Dear Kyndall, We love love love your review! Thank you and please come back and visit us again soon. All the best, Shelley More 

Laguna Beach, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Looking at the pictures, I have to say I was disappointed in the rooms. We asked to be moved from the first room. The furnishings were old, the shower looked like an old hospital shower, our keys didn't always work and it was very noisy. The pictures make it look like a boutique hotel but not so much. I have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Shelley S, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Dear Pam, While I am grateful to hear our location was great and the staff were friendly, I am also disappointed to hear you did not have a more enjoyable visit. Please feel free to reach out directly as I would welcome the chance to personally invite you back and ensure you have a much more enjoyable visit. Shelley More 

Newport Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here during a major heatwave last weekend. No a/c as hotel is across from the beach. There was a fan in the closet and a ceiling fan but we were still miserable. Not the hotel's fault, though. Pros: very pleasant front desk and other staff members; hotel was quiet for the roadside location; close to wharf and pier.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shelley S, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Dear KarenB, Thank you for your review and I am so pleased to hear that the front desk and staff were so accommodating. We definitely pride ourselves on our service and our team appreciates hearing when they've done a great job. Santa Barbara hotels do get more expensive as we enter Spring Break, as well as summer which is our... More 

Tampa, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is simply okay. Renovations were done at some point, however, using inexpensive items. My biggest problem with this hotel is it needs air conditioning!! It's hot a night even if you leave your window open all day & the room always has a musty/moldy smell .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelley S, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Dear OneKal, Good news! We are actively looking into air conditioning for Hotel Milo and hope to be able to offer this amenity in the near future. We do rely on the cool ocean air in the evenings to keep cool, but understand that air conditioning is also a nice luxury to have while on vacation. Please let us know... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place is aweful! After trying to check in 5 times my room was finally ready an hour late. It is hot, small, dirty and it overlooks trash! For 500.00 per night , shame on this place! For warned is forearmed! Don't stay here! The front desk people are rude and are happier to take a call rather than help... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Shelley S, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Dear Mary, I am sorry to hear about your experience and would welcome the chance to talk to you further about your stay. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel as I would like to offer a resolution and renew your faith in Hotel Milo. Warm Regards, Shelley More 

San Clemente, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were considering this hotel but after reading the reviews about a parking charge and no guarantee of a parking space we will definitely not stay. The manager's response was completely inadequate; recompense should have been given to the people who received the ticket.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Shelley S, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Dear Moe, I am sorry that we disappointed you by not paying a guest's parking ticket. There is plenty of street parking available, that does not require a ticket from the city and we would be happy to assist any of our guests in finding parking. Best, Shelley More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

296 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (86)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (163)
Viewed
Amenities (26)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (32)
Viewed
Main Pool (13)
Viewed
Ocean View Room (28)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (10)
Viewed
Second Pool (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question