We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara

GreenLeadersGold level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
121 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    116
    37
    21
    5
See reviews for
38
161
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (309)
  • Mar-May only
    (101)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (92)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (71)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
Redondo Beach, California, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Just another over priced motel close to the harbor. More like a designer hostel than a boutique hotel. Check the square footage of the rooms before you book. Camp Curry tents are larger, and the bathrooms are microscopic, made for yoga teachers. The property is tiny so to make it pencil, they crammed in rooms, sacrificing even an elevator. Have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Dear Mark K, I appreciate your feedback and am sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay with us at Hotel Indigo. Our historical building is from the early 1900s and contributes to the many unique quirks of the modernly designed boutique hotel, one of them being the compact room size and European bathroom. Embracing this size has conveniently... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Customer service and treatment of guest I didn’t stay at the Hotel Indigo but I would like to share another experience that I had with the Hotel Indigo. I booked a night at the Hotel Indigo and suddenly realised that it was the wrong date. As a consequence I contacted the hotel, tried to explain the situation and asked if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Dear Romano, I am very sorry to hear of your booking experience; the customer service you describe is highly unusual for our hotel. It seems your reservation was made as an Advance Purchase reservation on a third party website. Please contact me directly at amanda@indigosantabarbara.com as I can assist you in tracking down the correct department regarding your billing. Thank... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here for a night during our 3 week honeymoon along the west coast. Firstly, the hotel itself is in a fantastic location- easy parking and walking distance to the lovely beach. Unfortunately, our room was facing the railway which was incredibly noisy. The staff however, were very helpful and did move us to a quieter... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Dear Kirsty S, First, Congrats on your nuptials! Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on our location; we hope you were able to explore our Funk Zone neighborhood as well as the waterfront. I am happy to hear the staff was able to accommodate your needs as we want you to love our hotel! We hope to... More 

ventura, ca
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff were great. Room facing State Street so some noise from the revelers. Room was as expected (small, shower set-up, nice bed) from other reviews. Close to plenty of the action. Snacks (cheese and crackers) in the evening. Parking was free on our night

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Dear irrover, Thank you for the great feedback on our staff, welcome reception, and room setup; we are happy to hear you were comfortable during your stay. We hope you had the chance to explore the waterfront and our uniquely local Funk Zone neighborhood, as you say we are within walking distance of some great Santa Barbara fun! We hope... More 

Isle of Wight
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our road trip between San Francisco and Palm Springs. Having stayed in sister IHG properties, namely Holiday Inn Expresses the previous two nights we saw this as an opportunity to upgrade before arriving in Palm Springs. It's a modern boutique hotel, with trendy furniture and features in communal areas such as a vertical... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Dear Tony, Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback of your recent stay. We do look forward to the completion of the Children's Museum of Santa Barbara and our exciting up and coming Funk Zone neighborhood. We were happy to resolve issues during your stay and provide dining recommendations in our area. For the comfort of our... More 

Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed here on a weekend away in Santa Barbara. It was perfect. The staff was so nice and so accommodating. The rates were reasonable. And everything was clean, stylish, and modern. Also, don't be scared away by its close proximity to the train station. I didn't hear the trains at all and they provide guests with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Dear Kljack19, We are so glad to hear you had a perfect stay - we cannot ask for much more than that! Thank you so much for taking the time to review our staff and location. We are happy you had a chance to explore our uniquely local neighborhood and do some wine tasting. We love to hear our guests... More 

Sausalito, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

Hotel Indigo is a typical modern boutique hotel on the eastern end of State Street-- which makes is convenient and easy to get to-- and walk-- Santa Barbara's primary boulevard of stores and restaurants. Rooms are small, but very clean and modern. The staff is helpful and friendly. It's a good choice for a modern experience. However, there may be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Dear Gordius, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on our boutique hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed our central location, modern rooms, and customer service. We thank you for noticing our efforts to conserve water as well! While construction is less than ideal, we are excited to welcome the new Santa Barbara Children's Museum, which will... More 

Mountain View, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

The Hotel Indigo is a snappy new hotel in the heart of the Funk Zone. Very modern and one of the new breed of compact, upper end properties. The rooms are admitedly very small, but the whole point is you are only sleeping there. The baths as well are compact: think "head" on a sail boat. That said, the baths... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Dear MVMayorMike, We appreciate your feedback on our hotel and are happy you got to explore our Funk Zone neighborhood. Thanks for your great take on our bathrooms; our architects certainly made the best out of the space! We are pleased you noticed our efforts to conserve water; our smaller rooms are just one of the ways we reduce our... More 

Rancho Cucamonga, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

We had a last minute trip to Santa Barbara and stayed here - we liked it. Small, but it had everything we needed and the staff was exceptionally kind and hospitable. The location is great. Don't get bent out of shape about the train....you're in Santa Barbara...even the Biltmore struggles with the the choo choo running through town.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Dear Gina, It was our pleasure to welcome you on your last minute getaway! We agree; our historic train station has been a quintessential part of Santa Barbara tourism/transport since 1902! Thank you for the review, we look forward to your next trip! More 

Normal, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Let's just get it out of the way up front - yes, you are next to the tracks. As a result, you will have some noise at night but it is not as bad as you would expect and I would not let that deter you from staying here. The Mrs and I stayed one night and from 1am to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Dear Jason H, We appreciate you taking the time to give great feedback on your stay with us! We are pleased you enjoyed the central location and many options for food and drink. Our close proximity to the historic Amtrak train station is a great perk for many of our traveling guests; we are happy you were not bothered by... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

112 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities