We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spanish Garden Inn

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hotel website
Hotel packages
915 Garden Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spanish Garden Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Spanish Garden Inn
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    124
    23
    12
    7
See reviews for
120
475
22
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (858)
  • Mar-May only
    (234)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (222)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (219)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (183)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A charming boutique hotel just two blocks from the fabulous restaurants, shopping and nightlife on State Street. Built as a hotel in 2001 the facilities are modern but still exude a historic charm. The staff could not have been more welcoming and attentive. They coordinated delivery of champagne and strawberries to coincide exactly with our arrival. Afterwards they went above... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
52 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This lovely inn is within easy walking distance of State Street and serves the most delicious breakfasts. You can eat inside in the bright breakfast room, or outside on the front lanai, or in the back garden courtyard. The suites were roomy and had big tubs (although with so much drought right now, we did not dare to use it.)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review

TripTalkHawaii, Wow, great photos of the Junior Suite you stayed in. Thank you for sharing them online and for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us in Santa Barbara. See you next time, Brian More 

Denver, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Personal attention, beautiful and spacious rooms, wonderful complimentary breakfast, great location, and exemplary service. I wish they would rent for the month! Just a short walk to the beach, State st. (the shopping street) and the historical mission and classic mission architecture. We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review

ABWSPC, Thank you for the review. We'd be more than happy to have you with us for a month! So glad to hear that you will be back. We look forward to it. Sincerely, Brian Cogswell More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our stay at the Spanish Garden Inn was summarized by Kaitlyn who underpromised and over-delivered on our room by saying it would be cramped with the two of us and Thomas, 3 1/2 in a roll out and Emily 14 months in a cot/crib. There was plenty of room for all of us with space in between. Indeed the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review

I have to say that you and your family were outstanding guests as well. It makes our job easy and a pleasure to assist such friendly visitors. Thank you so much for the detailed review. We do have a great staff here and I thank you for acknowledging them so graciously. Sincerely, Brian Cogswell General Manager More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely interiors with unique feel of the rooms make this a very special hotel in Santa Barbara. Parking is offered downstairs and breakfast is served in a beautiful garden for ultimate tranquility. We loved our short stay there. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review

Stevan J, Thank you for the review. You will have to stay longer next time in order to truly appreciate all that Santa Barbara has to offer. To clarify for others who might be reading, the parking and breakfast mentioned in the review are both included complimentary with your stay. -Brian Cogswell More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We wanted to spend 2 nights in Santa Barbara and made our decision based on tripadvisor advice. Now that we've stayed there, we totally agree with the ranking as there really wasn't a single thing to complain about. Check in was swift, staff were friendly and helpful. Received a brief introduction of the town and tips for an evening (late... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review

feichinkaw, Thank you for the review and for choosing us for your Santa Barbara vacation. We are small enough that offering guests a perfect stay is a realistic goal. We don't always achieve the goal but it feels great to hear that we did so on your visit. We hope you can visit us again in the near future. Sincerely,... More 

San Diego
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For the price, we were a little underwhelmed with the property, however the staff easily compensated and made our stay incredibly nice. We had a mix up with our reservation and could have easily been double charged, the staff made our case to mgmt and saved us some major money for a mistake we made. The property is small and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Los Altos, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Spanish Garden Inn is a wonderful place to stay. I stayed in a king room overlooking the courtyard. The room is a generous size with a fireplace and a balcony overlooking the courtyard. The public spaces are fabulous. The courtyard is very nice and peaceful. My date and I had a wine party every evening in the courtyard. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review

skier, Thank you for the review. I agree with you about the ideal nature of our location. Close enough to walk to anything you might want to do but still peaceful and secluded. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Brian Cogswell General Manager More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon trip to USA. I chose it because of the Trip Advisor rating and good reviews and I have to say that we were not disappointed. The property is Spanish in design and very well presented throughout. The rooms and private terraces are very comfortable and provide a welcome place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review

shauniesue, Congratulations once again on your wedding. We are honored to have been a part of your memory-making. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and such a generous one at that. We'd love to see you again on your 1st anniversary, if not sooner. Sincerely, Brian Cogswell General Manager More 

Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a two night stay in a Superior King room. We loved the room (#11) when we checked in; it was on the second floor, overlooking the pool. It was large and bright and absolutely charming. However, minutes into checking in we heard construction. We realized the room below us was under renovations. We talked to the front desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review

akasmer, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I have noted in your hotel profile that you prefer our Superior King category for future visits. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Brian Cogswell General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

699 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (225)
Viewed
Room/suite (76)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (58)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (43)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (446)
Viewed
Amenities (43)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Queen Room (77)
Viewed
Junior Suite (80)
Viewed
Pool (31)
Viewed
Superior King Room (73)
Viewed
The Hotel (142)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities