We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Presidio Motel

Hotel website
1620 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Presidio Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Nice and clean hotel. Great room for this price. Very nice location, close to main street which will lead you to the pier. Go there to see sunset or sunrise. Irish and Mexican guy at the front desk was very cool, helpful and polite. Definitely would recommend it to my friends :)

Helpful?
Thank Smart F
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While a bit older, the Presidio is very clean and a great value for the money. The location is amazing (right on State, very close to the shopping, restaurants, and bars). The staff are very helpful and friendly, and they have free bicycles to borrow while you stay there (even after check-out time!). Would highly recommend this for budget-conscious travellers... More 

Helpful?
Thank John K
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and had a chance to see all that Santa Barbara has to offer! We are very lucky to have such a great location so that our guests can walk or bike into town. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Quiet place up state st not too far from downtown. Staff is so friendly and helpful. Room was clean and the heater was right at the end of the bed to keep my feet warm during the cold night! Much better than a hotel I stayed at across the street from the beach. The presidio is cheaper and way nicer

Helpful?
Thank kikimazy
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will be back to visit us again soon! Regards, Laura More 

Manjimup, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have been traveling the states for 6weeks jumping from hotel to hotel. Presidio had by far the best service we have had with nice neat tidy rooms with comfortable beds and pillows, even rental push bikes for free! Also gave many great suggestions to local food spots and locations.

Helpful?
Thank KC392
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that it was your best stay yet! Thank you for providing us such a great compliment as we try our best to deliver the best customer service to our guests every day. We are glad that you had the opportunity to take... More 

Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015

Bed confortable, room clean. Greatly located (walkable distance to downtown area and beach). Reasonnably priced. Staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Even though we checked out of the room, we used to bikes (free) to visit Santa Barbara for the whole day, which was great. Wifi worked perfectly.

Helpful?
Thank Michel I
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments! We are pleased that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary beach bicycles as they are a great way to see the sites of Santa Barbara. We also just completed a WiFi upgrade so, we are happy to hear that it worked perfectly during your stay. Thank you for choosing to stay with... More 

California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015

Good first impression by Colton when making reservation; pleasant & helpful. Great price for the area which normally rooms are expensive. Good location right near shops on State St. Presidio is currently under renovation and construction. We were unable to use the beautiful deck you see in pictures, however, looks like it should be completed shortly. They do have nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank cambria40
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor! We are so happy to hear that enjoyed your stay and found our rooms to be convenient to town and spacious. We are continuing our efforts in updating the property and rooms. In fact, our deck just re-opened so we hope that you will be back... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2015

I stayed here once before and my husband stayed here once more recently. I was very disappointed with the room, not as nice as it was a few years back. Cleanliness factor was so-so. The room looked like it was missing furniture, in other words, BARE. It was noisy in the morning as well, people with their kids and others... More 

Helpful?
Thank T G
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your room as we are making efforts to continually improve them. We are in the process of updating the rooms again and hopefully you will be able to see them on your next visit to town. For instance, we are in discussions with the City... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

I have been second time in Santa Barbara; this time I chosen the hotel Presidio, and I have to say I t was really a good choice! Perfect location; friendly, helpful stuff… The room is big, with large bathroom and there is refrigerator in the room! Good price! I feel like at home, thank you for your hospitality!

Helpful?
Thank Alla C
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review

Dear Alla C, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are so glad that you chose to stay with us a second time and it was truly a pleasure to be able to host you again. We are really happy that you were able to enjoy the sites in and around Santa Barbara from... More 

Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

I would not recommend this place to anyone... It was so loud, doors slamming, all hours the housekeepers rolling there cart starting at 7am. We had the "Do not Disturb" on the door and the housekeeper still knocked. When it turned 11:01 and we hadn't checked out yet, the front desk person was up at our door saying we only... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deannamu
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and your recent stay with us in Santa Barbara. Our mission at The Presidio is to provide our guests an exceptional customer experience in a boutique and intimate setting. We are very fortunate that this attracts wonderful guests that are generally very respectful and courteous to the property. So it is extremely important... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
439 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2015

This is a property again on the upswing after a long period under a different management that let the property seriously deteriorate. There are only 14 rooms here in this two level motel from the 1950s. The new management is in the process of upgrading the rooms, one by one, including their furniture, finishings and air conditioning systems. The motel... More 

Helpful?
Thank og84
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are taking the time to continually upgrade the property so it's very nice to know that you noticed. We are lucky to be centrally located and are pleased to be able to offer the many amenities that you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
1.8 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#16 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canary, a Kimpton Hotel
Canary, a Kimpton Hotel
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 756 reviews
1.6 mi away
Agave Inn
Agave Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay