We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 San Simeon hotels

The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9135 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Morgan Massage
The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Travelocity Orbitz.com
and 7 more sites!
70%
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in San Simeon
GreenLeadersBronze level
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
NER24 Lotus, California
Write a Review

586 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    251
    124
    46
    21
See reviews for
164
262
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lotus, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Loved the location & our room with a fireplace. We traveled with our 2 boys (10 & 12) and the staff was so welcoming to them. Anna (who served breakfast) was sweet & helpful. Loved the breakfast and wine tasting. Will come again & again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Nice hotel at a good price. Clean and roomy, comfy bed and friendly staff. Room was spacious and bright, nothing overly special~ maybe slightly outdated but great for the price and had everything you would want including breakfast and a pool and helpful people.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a wonderful, charming hotel! We stayed in the main building, had no problems. Check-in staff were very friendly and informative on activities in the area and restaurant recommendations. Yes the jets on the tubs are disabled, I just figured they're doing their part as is everyone else to conserve water. The continental breakfast is simple but very yummy.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMorgan, General Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tina O, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Morgan! We appreciate your recognizing our efforts in water conservation, the drought is pretty serious in this area and we are always looking for ways to conserve water where possible. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback. Michele Berry General Manager More

Mesa, Arizona
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was disappointed first the host was unfriendly, bed was really old squeak at every move and slanted to one side where you could roll off the bed. Breakfast was just ok nothing to be excited about. Over all the stay was uncomfortable and we can't wait to get out. Would not recommend staying too long there good for traveling... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMorgan, General Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Newet, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Morgan. I appreciate your bringing the condition of the bed frame to our attention. I am please to report that the bed frame has been replaced and future guests will not have to endure a squeaky bed. I apologize if our staff was not friendly... More

Salinas, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was a groupon deal and although it was an excellent hotel I thought the regular price was a little much. It's amenities were sparse but decent. The renovation was nice. You're probably paying for location because it sits between Cambria and Hearst castle but that's about it. Great staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
washington state
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
29 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were happy to find vacancies here after being quoted a super high rate next door. I asked for a basic room and was given two options. We chose the lesser priced room but it wasn't what it appeared on the surface. The fireplace didn't work and the jets in the tub had been immobilized. There were signs stating both... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMorgan, General Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to The Morgan. I am pleased that The Morgan staff was pleasant and helpful during your stay. We strive to offer excellent customer service to our guests. I am sorry that 2 of our room’s amenities were disabled while you were here. We had in fact disabled the fireplace in that... More

Albuquerque, NM
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We reserved a room here for a few days. The reservation process was easy. Check in was quick. The building is older, but they have done a great job of sprucing things up. Breakfast would have benefitted from a warm dish. The pool is pretty, but too cold for us to enjoy. We took in the local sights and enjoyed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
So. Cal
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
14 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having read several TripAdvisor reviews, I called the property on the day of check-in, requesting a room in a specific area of the hotel. I was told that since I was staying for three nights, I would have to ‘upgrade’ to do so and that would include a fireplace and a partial ocean view. Instead of the normal $40.00 per... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMorgan, General Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ron P, Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of your visit to The Morgan. I remember meeting you while you were here and the nice chat we had one morning. It is always a pleasure when I have the opportunity to meet a guest during their stay and address and concerns. Michele Berry... More

Illinois City, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I too chose this hotel due to it's close proximity to Hearst Castle, as we had an evening tour planned. Our room was very clean, the employees, from the front desk to the girl who set up the breakfast did an amazing job! They are to be commended. I will always choose your hotel when planning a stay near you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMorgan, General Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel, responded to this review

From the entire staff of The Morgan, thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to The Morgan! It is so gratifying when a guest enjoys themselves enough to post a favorable review. We look forward to you next visit to The Morgan. Michele Berry, General Manager More

Ventura, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We picked The Morgan rather by chance, but we are so happy we did. I would have rated 5 stars, but for the thin walls and the need to replace the bathroom sink. Otherwise, everything was very nice. The attention to detail was evident everywhere we turned, from the towels neatly rolled in the poolside basket to the board games... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheMorgan, General Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review! We are always so thrilled when a guest enjoys their time at The Morgan enough to post a favorableTripAdvisor review. I hope you have the opportunity to visit us again. Michele Berry General Manger More

Been to The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel

Also Known As:
The Morgan San Simeon
Morgan Hotel San Simeon
Address: 9135 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel to your Saves list