We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Motel 6 San Rafael

737 East Francisco Boulevard, San Rafael, CA 94901 (Formerly Days Inn San Rafael/San Francisco)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Motel 6 San Rafael
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016 via mobile

Great place to stay if you like your wife being propositioned by scary hoodlums when she makes a quick trip to the car and back, or maybe you'd enjoy homeless drug addicts knocking on yours and your neighbors' doors, seeking that one that'll open-up, some folks prefer the flashing of police car lights through their window, but I think the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robin D
Seguin
Level Contributor
172 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015 via mobile

The lights were on... But only cause it was in a shady area.. I will not ever book at a place I have to rent a room through a window!!! That says so much. If they worry about getting robbed.. Why would I want to stand at a window with my wallet out??????? I booked on line... But Bo more!!!... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick H
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 San Rafael, responded to this review

Patrick, Thank you for posting your review. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with your guestroom bed comfort. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. Our aim is to provide a comfortable night's rest, and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to... More 

Pasadena, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2015

I stayed here for two nights. The location is not great - next to the freeway, auto dealerships and sundry furniture stores, so everything is closed at night. The first night, there was a lot of rowdy conversation going on outside. Most of the guests looked like truckers or bikers or just chain smokers (I don't mean to disparage the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank misterhu2015
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 San Rafael, responded to this review

Mr. Hu, Thank you for posting your review. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the water temperature during your stay. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest, and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the noise concerns you describe.. Please accept our apologies that your stay was less than satisfactory. We invite you to contact... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015 via mobile

Reasonable price just for sleep. However, parking is a challenge at night. Had to park half a mile at least or get lucky to find one, and it is scary while walking in the dark. There some people hanging out outside the building. I'm not sure what they are doing. It's kinda scary especially if you are a girl walking... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gargar24
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
201 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2015

Yes, but this is San Rafael. A wonderful Place to visit. So friendly. And Motel 6 is not bad. It's good actually. For your money and health. Smoking is allowed in some of the rooms. All you basically need for a nights stay. Half a mile from Marine C.

Helpful?
Thank UlfKjell
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015 via mobile

I made an reservation online a week before then the day before I TRIED to call them to cancel but my call was never answer I tried again the next day twice same result so I could not cancel so I was charged. I called the main office and same problem.

Helpful?
Thank Cheyenne T
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 San Rafael, responded to this review

Cheyenne, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We apologize for any misunderstanding that may have occurred with your reservation request to cancel and the inconveniences you experienced. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on our promise to offer the lowest price of any national chain by delivering the essential elements of a comfortable room for a satisfying stay, for this... More 

Saint Gabriel, Louisiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2015

Basic Motel 6 that is functional for a visit when what you want is a comfortable bed, clean room, WIFI. The big problem for road travelers like us was that there was NO refrigerator in the room. For a Motel 6, the prices is absurdly high, but that's just the way it is anywhere near San Francisco.

Helpful?
Thank Van R
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

The modern rooms made this motel pleasant for our family. The outside of the hotel was not in good shape and so were skeptical at first glance. It was in a very congested business area. However, inside, the room was very modern, with unusual, laminated flooring. At first the flooring gave us a start, but once we thought about it,... More 

Helpful?
Thank David T
Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015 via mobile

The motel is quite cheap compared to the other ones in the neighbourhood. We used it to stay before going to visit San Francisco. The rooms were okay, clean but nothing special. Cheap beds but okay for a short stay. Microwave & fridge available (at least in the room we had) A/C as well.

Helpful?
Thank S3B1CH
Tucson AZ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015 via mobile

The motel was just renovated last year. It's immaculate, the staff is friendly, the bed is comfortable (extra points for a fitted bottom sheet!), safe, attractive and quiet. Did I forget anything? Oh yeah! your choice of three fresh brewed coffees in the morning. I stayed a second night.

Helpful?
Thank ArizonaSweetpea
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael
0.2 mi away
North Bay San Rafael
North Bay San Rafael
#6 of 8 in San Rafael
3.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
1.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
3.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area
2.2 mi away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
3.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay