We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1830 Gateway Drive, San Mateo, CA 94404
Special Offer
SAVE 15% TODAY!
Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in San Mateo
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
RitaAdvisor San Diego, California
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    24
    20
    4
    8
    17
See reviews for
9
1
5
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (73)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

my first day, I kept the window open, and someone was cooking curry, and that smell lingered in my room for 3 days. I love curry but it started to make me sick. otherwise, it was okay. I was hesitate to leave the window open since all the rooms open to the outside like a motel. But they gave me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is close to san franscisco airport. One of the best stays if you are looking for short/long business visits in and around San Mateo. Easy access to super markets such as Safeway, Toys R Us, etc. Almost all fast food restaurant are nearby. Neat rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015 via mobile

If you are obsessed with staying as a family together in the same place these studios are just apt for small families with an attached Kitchen. This is a serviced apartment with more for the community feeling. Staff is friendly and helpful and you are game to get discounts on longer stays

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I'm so pleased to hear that your stay here was great and that you enjoyed our spacious rooms. I truly appreciate your kind comments regarding our friendly staff. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

My work paid for my stay, so i cannot really comment on the prices. Rooms looked old tho!! Breakfast include the same menu everyday with energy bars, Fruits and coffee. My First stay in America was decent!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I'm glad that we were able to make your first stay in the United States a memorable one! The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! More 

Sacramento
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Unfortunately, this was our second stay at an Extended Stay in three days, and never again will we stay at one! Room smelled of curry, dog pee on the garbage can outside our door, no ice (oh, well you have ice trays in your room, but a lot of good that does if you check in and would like a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I sincerely apologize that your stay was not what you expected. I discussed your comments with our staff, and we have taken necessary steps to ensure that each guest has a clean and comfortable experience. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I... More 

Travelers are raving about these San Mateo hotels

Queretaro
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 via mobile

No persons at the front desk. The lobby door closed when i arrived at night. The room is clean is the only good thing but the bed is not so good according to the fare. The vending is not available 24 hrs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. Your comments in regards to your clean room are much appreciated; yet, I was disheartened to read about your delay at check-in. A member of our staff is always available. Between the hours of 11pm and 7am, please use the lobby phone to reach a staff member. I apologize for this... More 

Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

I complained to management about how my room was not being cleaned and while I was in the shower the next day someone came into my room and left a letter from the manager. The letter told me I had to remove a sheet I have over my window. This sheet has been there for 3 weeks. To get any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and that our staff did not provide professional customer service. I discussed your comments with my team to ensure your experience is not repeated and to make sure our staff is following proper protocol. Thanks to your feedback,... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

It was a long stay with a reasonable comfort. Thanks to all staff including rubian, lenita and falguni. You guys rock!!! Keep this up..... Hoping for my next trip soon ;)))))) ................... Cheers, Somkant Mishra

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We truly appreciate your comments regarding your pleasant stay with us and our great staff. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

I stayed at this hotel for 4 days on business, and I was quite disappointed. I came from a job where I worked with hotels on a daily basis, and the standards of which the rooms are up-kept here is quite disappointing. My sink and shower both had a leak, so I had to shut the doors and turn on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. The situation you described regarding the cleanliness of your room and the maintenance issues you experienced is truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. I discussed your comments with the team, and I will be retraining our housekeeping staff as well as making sure our staff inspects rooms thoroughly... More 

long beach
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

I paid $170 a night for this place and it was pretty awful. A cramped room, stained carpets, a funky mildew smell, a small, uncomfortable bed with old sheets and dubious blankets. About what you'd expect of a Motel 6, not a $170 a night hotel. I get that it's the bay area, but this was really poor value for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO, responded to this review

I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that we were not able to provide you with a positive experience. In response to your feedback, I will go over the issues you mentioned with my staff and make sure each room is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay