We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lakehouse Hotel & Resort

Certificate of Excellence
1025 La Bonita Drive, San Marcos, CA 92078 (Formerly Quail's Inn Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Lakehouse Hotel & Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

322 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    226
    62
    21
    10
    3
See reviews for
103
109
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (322)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (138)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (70)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (62)
All months
Napa, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Found this place by luck, but I will absolutely come back. The view of the lake and sunset was worth the price of the room! The rooms are large and beautifully decorated. I wish I had the shower in my bathroom at home!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin B, General Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

weberbg, I am glad you found us! Thank you for the business and great review. Can't wait to welcome you back again in the future. More 

Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is on a small lake in a suburban neighborhood. It reminded me of man made lakes throughout Orange County. The receptionist was pleasant and I had a room on the second floor at the corner. There was an unidentifiable odor but I did not complain or ask for a room change. I realized later that this must be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erin B, General Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

RChop, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for choosing to stay at the Lakehouse. We are a pet friendly hotel and allow dogs, under 25lbs, with a $75 non refundable pet cleaning fee. This $75 is used to deep clean the room after a pet checks out. We clean the carpet and remove any possible... More 

Philadelphia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Upon arriving, we were not too sure what to expect. I arrived an hour early and they were more than happy to check us in. Upon entering the room, we were amazed at how nice it was and modern looking. The sliding door to the balcony is a nice touch. Though the Keurig Machine was supplied, we did not drink... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin B, General Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

ariveralee, I am glad you didn't let the bugs ruin your stay at the Lakehouse. It may also be helpful to know that we offer complimentary bug repellent candles. Just call the front desk next time and they would be more than happy to bring one up for you. I also suggest our Poolside Loft Suite Rooms for the view... More 

Escondido
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I always have a first rate experience at the Lakehouse. The staff is incredibly friendly & helpful. The beds are so comfortable. If there is anything I need they go out of their way to be sure I have an amazing stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin B, General Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

909heather, Thank you for your continued business and taking the time to write such a nice review. We try hard to be #1 so it's nice when that gets recognized. More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is located on the lake which provides great views and could have the ability of being relaxing. The rooms were decorated very nicely, but the pillows provided were terrible. There were people at the pool being terribly loud until past 11:00 pm which made it very difficult to rest and relax and sleep.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin B, General Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Sarah S, I want to apologize for the loud and rowdy guests at the pool. They were aware that the pool closes at 9:00pm but it was still a lot of work to get them to go back to their rooms. This is not normal so I do hope you give us another try, the property can be very relaxing.... More 

Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hidden little gem in a residential neighborhood, in town for a business event at a corporate rate, so great bang for the buck. Super friendly staff. Close by to breweries and beach attractions. Nice modern design, landscaping & architecture.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin B, General Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

beerlady650, It is always great exceeding expectations so I'm glad you were thrilled with the accommodations! Can't wait to welcome you back again soon. More 

Vienna, Austria
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Made a reservation 6 months in advance and got the worst room in the place. Over rated and definitely over priced! The food service is adequate and the decor is boring. The staff seems to try but the amenities and room quality are just simply blah

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin B, General Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Taronreeves, I am sorry the decor and amenities did not fit your needs or expectations. As an independent hotel our boutique style is not a perfect fit for everyone; however, our main priority is customer service. I know that the staff we have at the Lakehouse is our best amenity! More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in a lakeside room. The view is beautiful. At night you can see all the beautiful stars and a cross lit up on top if the hill. The pools were slightly warm and the best part was that we had the pools all to ourselves on Sunday and Monday. The only thing that was missing was a microwave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin B, General Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Erika Z, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and choosing to stay at the Lakehouse. I am glad you enjoyed your lakeside room and boat rentals. I did want to let you know that we have a microwave available in the Canteen Coffee Shop, which guests are open to use. Next time you're here just come... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Expensive for cheesy chic. Rooms smell musty, four hangers to a room and doors that open out instead of in so there is no way to bolt them at night. Not a good choice for a business traveller. Staff is completely clueless literally stared at me with a blank face when I asked questions. Then said since I booked through... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin B, General Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

jeffreyicon, I want to seriously thank you for writing this review. It brought light to some issues we have been able to fix. As you can see in many other reviews we get a lot of our business from third party sites. It is important to remind our agents that these sites are not bad and instead help get our... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here when we visited Lego Land. This hotel is tucked away in a quiet neighborhood. It is a fairly short drive to Lego Land and there is an Albertson's grocery store pretty close by if you are wanting to eat on the cheap.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

192 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (128)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (64)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Marcos
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn San Marcos
Hampton Inn San Marcos
#3 of 4 in San Marcos
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
6.6 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
7.3 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
6.6 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#28 of 37 in Carlsbad
4.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay