We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
210 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
arwrtawel UK
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    16
    39
    61
    29
    25
See reviews for
48
64
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (170)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (69)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We hadn't booked a hotel in this location and happened at this hotel. Despite there being just the two of us we were offered the remaining room with 3 beds but at a single bed price so we took it. The hotel had a vintage aspect but was clean with a great A/C unit. The bed was comfortable and there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Let me say that the front desk staff were great, pool was nice and considering it is a budget hotel the rooms while older were fine, it's close to shopping and a nice 20% discount at Denny's, and refrig and microwave,BUT the beds were honestly the most awful I have had in years and I often stay at budget hotels.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

Santa Rosa, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came into town without realizing there was a big car show in the area and hardly any rooms available anywhere. We got one of the last rooms and were pleasantly surprised at the clean, large room. Older building, but flat screen tv, wi fi, coffeemaker, fridge, microwave and comfy bed were welcome conveniences. We would not hesitate to stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burlingame, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We checked in June 13, 2015. Paid $180 and was greeted late night by an Indian rude woman at the front desk. When I went to sign the papers she grabbed them out if my hand as if she was hiding something. I noticed there was no price on the paper she wanted me to sign. When I asked why... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
rashmi829, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo, responded to this review

Dear Andrew P, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Vagabond Inn in san luis obispo, however we the hotel have never made anyone sign anything without reading your rate was disclosed to you when you made the reservation online at expedia travel site, by them you agreed to it that is why the reservation was booked,... More 

San Jose, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Between IHOP and Dennys is a up hill driveway to the Inn. We got a King room on the first floor. Half of the 60 rooms are on the second floor. Our room was near the far end which was quiet. Parking was easy. The room and the building was old, but well maintained. The room showed the standard upgrades.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
La Canada, California
Top Contributor
516 reviews 516 reviews
96 hotel reviews
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had an excellent clean room...this is a little older motel, the kind where you can park your car right in front of your room (I love that!). It is located away from the center of town and is set on a small hill, making the motel a little higher than the other buildings in the area. The grounds are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Piedmont, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

This place is an OK stop on the way to somewhere else. It has a small fridge (no freezer, but ice is available) and microwave in the room, which is nice. The continental breakfast is kind of a joke, but it's free. The guy who checked us in was completely indifferent, but the one who checked us out was friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Delafield, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

On a vacation from southern California to northern stayed at Vagabond Inn and enjoyed my stay. It was clean, friendly, organized with a great breakfast. I would recommend a stay at any of the Vagabond Inn hotels.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

All the reviews about the lack of integrity of the staff and the policies are true. I wanted to come a day early ( I was shooting at the SLO range) and they said they could accomodate me. When I checked in she said the system will not allow her to add a day to my stay and I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Culver City, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

Convenient location - close to the freeway and walking distance to a variety of restaurants and a shopping center. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and basic. Was nice to have a small refrigerator, coffee maker and a window in the bathroom to let in fresh air. The pool and jacuzzi are nice to have after a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay