We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
210 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
arwrtawel UK
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    16
    39
    61
    33
    28
See reviews for
52
65
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (177)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Old motel. Hundred dollars a night for 2 people in 2 Queens. Cheap linens AirConditioning didnt work well, tho in SLO you dont really need it. Came w continental breakfast that does not include butter. Rusty sink, musty smell. Booked it thru Booking.com, 2 days before we went. It was considerably than anything else around. You need a car for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel definitely needs updating and more care. The rooms were dirty, there was a blood stain on the sheets, the mattresses were horribly lumpy and badly made, the air conditioner didn't work, the blow-dryer was ancient and filthy, the microwave didn't even have a bottom rotating piece! Something is very wrong here. either the owners are just using the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rashmi829, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Vagabond inn over this past weekend, yes indeed we had very muggy conditions in weather, that were out of our control, that were caused by the tropical storm from the Baja coast, and were dealt with thunder storms , high wind and severe rain and hot humid temps.... More 

Travelers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

Vancouver,BC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Even though it was not expensive, I did not enjoy any part of my stay at this inn. I suppose the feeling was started when we drove up. Instead of walking in to a lobby and talking to someone, we had to stay outside (the lobby area was locked) and talk through a small window similar to those found at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palos Verdes Estates, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Old, dirty room. Poop on the grass in front of the room. TV didn't work. Uncomfortably warm in the room. Could hear water running loudly from other rooms. Said we could get a refund for the second night in the morning. When we came back in the morning they said we couldn't get a refund. Little to no customer service.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I would never stay here. Ever. I arrived at 10:30am, having made my reservation 6 hours earlier. The hotel clerk lied and said booking.com software made a mistake. And wouldn't offer me any help finding a room other than telling me to call booking.com. The hotel has obviously found a way to overbook to hedge against cancellations. I've used booking.com... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rashmi829, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo, responded to this review

Dear Booking.com guest, The hotel did not lie about your reservation and can be confirmed by booking.com. Yes indeed there was a booking server malfunction at no fault of the hotel, please know these things to occur in a tech savvy world. More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After camping on the beach I wanted to spend a night in a room, so I went to the vagabond inn. The first thing that I saw when I went to check in was a customer ,who tried to check in but they wouldn't help her. I didn't like that, but I stayed only one night and that was enough.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We hadn't booked a hotel in this location and happened at this hotel. Despite there being just the two of us we were offered the remaining room with 3 beds but at a single bed price so we took it. The hotel had a vintage aspect but was clean with a great A/C unit. The bed was comfortable and there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015 via mobile

Let me say that the front desk staff were great, pool was nice and considering it is a budget hotel the rooms while older were fine, it's close to shopping and a nice 20% discount at Denny's, and refrig and microwave,BUT the beds were honestly the most awful I have had in years and I often stay at budget hotels.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

We came into town without realizing there was a big car show in the area and hardly any rooms available anywhere. We got one of the last rooms and were pleasantly surprised at the clean, large room. Older building, but flat screen tv, wi fi, coffeemaker, fridge, microwave and comfy bed were welcome conveniences. We would not hesitate to stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015

We checked in June 13, 2015. Paid $180 and was greeted late night by an Indian rude woman at the front desk. When I went to sign the papers she grabbed them out if my hand as if she was hiding something. I noticed there was no price on the paper she wanted me to sign. When I asked why... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rashmi829, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo, responded to this review

Dear Andrew P, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Vagabond Inn in san luis obispo, however we the hotel have never made anyone sign anything without reading your rate was disclosed to you when you made the reservation online at expedia travel site, by them you agreed to it that is why the reservation was booked,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
1.4 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#17 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter
Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter
#25 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
#19 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
1.1 mi away
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North
#26 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obi...
#4 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay