We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo

GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel deals
Hotel website
333 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Special Offer
Double Points Package
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

748 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    249
    257
    147
    59
    36
See reviews for
310
145
26
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (748)
  • Mar-May only
    (169)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (271)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (163)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (145)
All months
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
See the most recent reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Took my family here during the fourth of July weekend. Although I used rewards to stay, I would never visit again. Although the staff was nice, the rooms smelled mildewed and there were stains everywhere. Totally have been disappointed with Embassy Suites my last couple of stays.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kevin P, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review

Dear Jody S; Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and thank you for choosing Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo for your recent visit. As I've mentioned in previous reviews we very much look forward to our upcoming renovation which starts late this year. We do work very hard, however, to ensure we maintain the property to... More 

Hamilton,NJ
Level Contributor
140 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pulled into town late on a Saturday evening without a reservation. The Embassy was the only place in town we could find that had a vacancy. After driving all day we were tired and took what we could get, even at $350 a night! We were in Union Square in San Francisco with a view of the bay for that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kevin P, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review

Dear ABFine; Thank you for providing us your feedback regarding your stay. I only wish we had the opportunity to meet so that I could have corrected any issues in your guest room before you left the hotel. In addition, I am sorry you feel the room was not a value for you. As you found out this area is... More 

Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel several times as the location works really well to take day trips to Hearst castle, Avila, Pismo beach. It has also worked for us when bringing our daughter and a a friend who can sleep in the front room on the sofa bed. The complimentary breakfast has options for all tastes. The only rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Conifer, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This Embassy Suites has an amazing and professional staff. However, the property is not up to the usual Embassy standard. I was able to work in my room over the Internet but, the couch, chair and lamp were in desperate need of repair. This was not a good experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kevin P, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review

Dear lock219; Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I sincerely appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff. Regarding the condition of your guest room suite, we work very hard to maintain them in the best possible condition while we prepare for our upcoming renovation. Good news our renovation has been approved, plans are in place and scheduled to... More 

Sunnyvale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am extremely upset and disappointed with how hotel staff has handled my situation. I positively know that my high school daughter left her laptop covered under the sheets in the room we stayed at for one night. We checked out of the hotel the morning of 8/7/15 and at 7:30pm that same day I called the hotel to see... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kevin P, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review

Dear Sharon F: I am very sorry to hear of your recent experience regarding the communication provided to you by our staff members. You can imagine my disappointment that you were told the General Manager was not accepting phone calls when you were trying to reach out to me. The number one reason I am in the hospitality industry is... More 

Oakdale, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff is excellent! This hotel is in need of rehabbing, carpets are worn out and stained especially in hallways, chipped paint, peeling wallpaper in rooms, etc. I realize because of the type of accommodations they get a lot of families and children spill things but the carpet is some areas were really bad but it appears that its been many... More 

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kevin P, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review

Dear Karen S; Thank you for selecting Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo for your recent stay, and for your kind comments regarding our staff. I am pleased to let you know that we will begin our property renovation late this year which will include all of our guest room suites, our public facilities and all of our banquet/catering space. In... More 

Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pros are: Good location Cocktail hour Cooked,to,order breakfasts Cons: Maintenance needs work - tiles missing, leaky refrigerator and towel bar falling down Most Hampton Inns I stay in have better maintenance you would expect more from an Embassy Suites. also while I appreciate the cocktail hour, they need to change it up.....same chips, salsa and veges they have had for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kevin P, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review

Dear Andywoo 1; Thank you for your feedback regarding your guest room suite. Product upkeep is very important to us in that we want each and every guest to have a problem free stay. I have shared your feedback with our Chief Engineer and our Executive Housekeeper for immediate follow up. Regarding food selections during our evening reception, we do... More 

San Diego CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our family of 10 enjoyed our night at Embassy Suites. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast buffet had a lot of choices. The meat choices were with the omelet station and not at the general buffet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We checked in just before 7pm for one night on our way up the coast. At first we thought it was going to be great, the bartender kept the free happy hour open for us a few more minutes. Then we checked into our room which was a corner room. It seems no one has stayed in this room in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kevin P, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review

Dear mec121212; Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for selecting our hotel when staying in the area. I was very sorry to learn of the issues you experienced with your guest room suite, for the necessity to move rooms and for the challenge in getting extra towels. I have personally shared your feedback with our... More 

Chino Hills, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our hotel room smelt like mold and death all wrapped into one. Our AC vent was leaking, the couch and chair were old and disgusting. I told the front desk how bad the smell was and they sent someone up to spay. When we went back in it smelt like spray mold and death. I probably slept two hours. I... More 

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kevin P, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo, responded to this review

Dear Bonnie S; Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and I thank you for taking the time to give us your review of your recent stay. I'm very sorry your guest room suite did not meet your expectations, specifically regarding the smell. We work hard to provide an exceptionally clean hotel and to continually improve; your comments have been... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

172 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (95)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
2.5 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#5 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott San Luis Obispo
Courtyard by Marriott San Luis O...
#11 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
2.6 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay