We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Cuesta Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
2074 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Cuesta Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
La Cuesta Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

290 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    127
    108
    39
    10
    6
See reviews for
90
90
25
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (290)
  • Mar-May only
    (67)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (89)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (82)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (52)
All months
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Checked in on 6/23/15 & were given Room #411. Then oops! Allegedly the wrong room; instead given room #210. Went to room and discovered the terrible "view" out our window. (See photo) We believe that another person was assigned #210 before we arrived and complained so they were assigned #411. We got this room which should be not charged for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maria T, General Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry for the original room confusion, sometimes we are unable to provide the original assigned room due to guests extending stays or maintenance issues. However this should have been explained to you at check-in. I sincerely hope you enjoyed your following stay with complimentary upgrade and it was a much better experience for you. Kind regards, More 

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

During tour holiday in U.S. my luggage failed to arrive at a hotel in Monterey. At the next hotel we stopped at, The La Cuesta I decided I would need to get some replacement clothes. In the hotel foyer, looking for addresses of the shopping area, the manager asked of the problem. She then drove me to the downtown shopping... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maria T, General Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review

Lost luggage is one of the most unpleasant situations a traveler can experience, especially overseas and away from the normalcy of home. More than happy to help you out this small way. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in California and had a safe trip home. All the best! More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The La Cuesta Inn isn't going to blow your socks off with its amenities or comforts, though it's in good shape and was just undergoing renovations while I was there. It's biggest appeal is that it's a steal in the area. Very good price for a comfortable, clean, safe room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maria T, General Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us Jonathon. You will be pleased to know our renovations are complete! The final phase, a complete transformation of our guest rooms, installing new furniture, bedding with luxury linens, modern lighting and new drapery. We are sure you will love our new look and look forward to your next stay with us! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

We planned our trip to here as it was easy to get to Hearst Castle from here. Thought the hotel was good value for money. It was easy to get to the centre of town and room was comfortable. The breakfast was also good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maria T, General Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and we appreciate your comments. We have upgraded the property since your stay back in 2014, with our guestrooms given a fresh, modern new look and feel. Guest service is our priority and we strive to give good value to our guests while staying in SLO. We hope you stay with us again in the future!... More 

Longview, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

I planned a special birthday trip for my significant other and our time in San Luis Obispo was supposed to be a highlight. The La Cuesta Inn was so well spoken of I was really looking forward to it. The room was fine, pillows and bed were not great however. The 'free breakfast' was not like any of the other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Maria T, General Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear your stay did not meet your expectations, this can be disappointing especially so when celebrating a special occasion. I appreciate your feedback as we are always looking at ways to improve our selection and service and do pay attention to guest suggestions. Guest service is paramount and if you would like to discuss your experience... More 

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

My disappointment started at check-in, as they usually do. I confirmed, via email conversations with one of the reservation employees, that we were in need of a first floor room, as my wife has a disability. Somewhere in the Abbott and Costello "who's on first" conversation, it was determined (by the hotel employee) that a queen bed was a higher... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maria T, General Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Wayne, I would like to discuss this further as it appears there has been some miscommunication with our reservation department. I am unable to locate your reservation and as we have both ADA and queen beds on the first floor, need a little more information so I can make this right for you. Please call... More 

Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

This was the nicest hotel that I stayed in on my entire trip. It was immaculate and so friendly. From housekeepers to man who helped in the breakfast area to the front desk, absolutely everyone went out of the way to make our stay enjoyable!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maria T, General Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we appreciate your comments and happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will share your comments with our hardworking staff, they go the extra mile to ensure our guests stay is a pleasant one. Hope to see you again on your return. More 

Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

I stayed at La Cuesta Inn for 3 nights for an interview. The hotel is very picturesque with a very modern feel upon entering the lobby. The lobby has coffee, tea, and hot chocolate available at all times plus cookies! I stayed in an Executive King Suite which was well decorated, extra spacious, and very comfortable. You don't hear any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Maria T, General Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, and noting many of our unique features. The balconies a very popular feature with our guests along with the free DVD library and fresh baked cookies! Thank you for acknowledging our team members, as they do an outstanding job. We hope to see you again! More 

Redlands, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

I stay in hotels for more than 15 nights a month due to my work, so I have experienced several types of hotels including different ones in SLO. In my experience, La Cuesta Inn is the very best hotel to stay in when you are at SLO. Extremely clean, safe, cozy & comfortable place with modern décor; good amenities and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Maria T, General Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor we appreciate your feedback! Our staff is our best asset and I have passed along your comments to the team. Being on the road is sometimes not easy, so we do all we can to make our business travelers feel at home, when away from home. Thank you... More 

Anaheim, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

We recently stayed at the La Cuesta Inn for a family wedding , which was in the area. The rooms were nice and clean. I especially enjoyed having coffee in the room as well as in the lobby. Also fresh cookies that had just come out of the oven was really nice! The continental breakfast was great for a quick... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maria T, General Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us, and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Our freshly baked cookies are very popular with guests and we serve a wide selection to suit every taste - chocolate, chocolate chip is a taste sensation! We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to SLO. Kind regards, More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

372 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (296)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Queen Room (50)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (46)
Viewed
Executive King Room (45)
Viewed
Pool (23)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (20)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay