We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1951 Monterey Street, Hwy 101 exit Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2615
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015
Sherie S Los Angeles, California
Review This Hotel

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    69
    79
    33
    18
See reviews for
81
70
25
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (254)
  • Mar-May only
    (49)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (87)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
There are newer reviews for Super 8 San Luis Obispo
See the most recent reviews
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

We stopped here on the way between San Francisco and Los Angeles. Our experience with this modest, inexpensive hotel could not have been better. Rooms are of ample size, clean, quiet, and everything works including HBO on the TV. Breakfasts in the office/lobby include make-them-yourself waffles, coffee, cereal and juice. Lovely management; very helpful in dealing with an item that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1951monterey, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 San Luis Obispo, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you like our services. We appreciate your feedback More 

Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

We have a granddaughter that went to SLO and now lives and works there. This is a first time visit. Great location and not close to the freeway. Refrigerator and confortable beds. Only stayed one night, but will stay again some time.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
1951monterey, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 San Luis Obispo, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

oceanside, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

One night stop-over here, solo traveler. Room rate was quite low at $62 but, you do get what you pay for. Older and very small rooms, poor CATV and bed was OK. I would not stay here again; next time I pay $ 30+ more for a decent room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1951monterey, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 San Luis Obispo, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback we are sorry to learn that your stay was average we are addressing the issues so the our guest can enjoy there stay. More 

Port Chester, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

Room and decor are old but clean. Very close to Cal Poly SLO and downtown. No frills but adequate for a stopover if necessary. A breakfast with cereals and coffee is available but I didn't try it so I don't know what else they offer. Desk clerk polite and competent. My only two issues were that the room smelled funky... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1951monterey, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 San Luis Obispo, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you like our clean budget facility with good location motel for your stay. We are also glad that you were happy with our Guest services by our staff and appreciate you positive feed back which helps our staff members motivated for there good services. With reference to your concern for the... More 

Paradise, California, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

Stayed here in April after making advance reservations to get a better rate. Room is VERY basic. No thrills. Wifi is adequate. Room is as quiet as your neighbors plan to be. No reason to hang out in this room. They do have a small basic breakfast included. Cereal, make your own waffle, juice, coffee, one T.V. in the small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1951monterey, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 San Luis Obispo, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back we are glad to know that our economy facility was able to meet with your expectation. Guest opinion is very helpful in improving our services and we thank you for your feedback. More 

Gig Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
55 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Another night at a Super 8. Very decent hotel. Were unable to get a handicap accessible room but had a nice king size bed. Loren, the evening desk clerk at check-in was very polite and well spoken. He gave us local advice and confirmed that the restaurant that we were going to eat at was a good place. Would stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1951monterey, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 San Luis Obispo, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back we are glad that you like our hotel and services from our staff. We are glad that our staff takes good care of all our guest in all the possible way which can be accommodated by our facility we thanks again for sharing your experience with the fellow travelers. More 

Placerville, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

I have stayed here several times. I have not been disappointed. I come to SLO to visit my daughter at Cal Poly. This place is close to the school and downtown. What I look for on my trips is a clean, quiet place to stay and a hot shower and coffee in the morning. I am not there to spend... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
1951monterey, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 San Luis Obispo, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feed back and we are glad that we were able to meet your expectation at our facility and the service. Our staff is our pride as we are glad to learn that you were happy with their service we thanks again and see you on your next visit. More 

Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Pleasant surprise as I usually avoid budget motels. The person I spoke with about the hotel was nice enough to hold a room for me without a deposit since we were so close to arriving. This way I could look at the room without being charged. Beds were comfortable and room was clean and quiet. Price was unbeatable! Don't count... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1951monterey, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 San Luis Obispo, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your positive experience and sharing it with our fellow travelers we are glad that we were able to meet your expectation of our budget price mote. More 

Los Banos, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Booked a one queen bed room, one night and the sleep me and my fiance were hoping to expect were terrible. We were hoping to get away from our already uncomfortable bed we own. We have stayed at another Super 8 in Santa Cruz and that was very relaxing! but at this one in San Luis Obispo the bed was... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1951monterey, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 San Luis Obispo, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back. We are sorry to learn that our new pillow top mattresses which is replaced recently was not able to meet your expectation at our location during the stay. we are sorry to learn that as you were not able to book two beds and had to deal to get only one queen bed, where... More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

We stayed here for 2 night on the Labour Day weekend where everything was overpriced including this hotel. The hotel is quite old but the rooms were spotlessly clean and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was very limited in choice and there are only 3 small tables so is a problem if it's crowded. The pool has been concreted over.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1951monterey, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 San Luis Obispo, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you like your stay at our facility and you also like our cleaning staff services. We are sorry to learn that you have to pay the premium price as the long Labor day weekend. Price are higher in this area in the weekend and our price were same with the other... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question