We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilton Garden Inn Oakland/San Leandro

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
510 Lewelling Blvd., San Leandro, CA 94579
Special Offer
Park, Stay, and Go
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Oakland/San Leandro
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hilton Garden Inn Oakland/San Leandro
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    62
    34
    10
    8
See reviews for
42
30
15
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (199)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

forthe price we paid for our 3 nights stay, all i can say - it's not worth it to stay here for the expensive price! they didn't even have a toorhbrush and toothpaste to offer, we had to pay $1.5 for the toothpaste. I left a brand new top, and the next day, i called the hotel to check, unfortunately... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Momi17, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Oakland/San Leandro, responded to this review

Dear ppt0612, Thank you for taking the time to share you're comments. I am terribly sorry that we were unable to find your top. I believe we did get a call on a lost shirt and our housekeeping supervisor as well as our housekeeping manager did search for it and found nothing. When we do have complimentary toothbrushes or toothpaste... More 

Vancouver, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Outstanding service. Unfortunately, the fitness room was inaccessible on two consecutive days. The front desk reported the problem to Management and communicate that they would follow-up with me. The Manager reached out directly to apologize, worked the problem and even offered to comp our room. WOW, talk about unexpected. An inconvenience became a lasting impression. Great experience.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
Momi17, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Oakland/San Leandro, responded to this review

Dear Wayne E, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during you're most recent stay at our Hilton Garden Inn Oakland/San Leandro. I am happy to hear that you found our service "superior"! I apologize that our fitness equipment was not in working order. I am happy to report that we have since had it fixed. Thank... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Quiet, clean, and well-appointed rooms. Centrally located in San Leandro, close to freeway without excess traffic noise; close to major shopping for groceries, dry goods, fast food and restaurants, gas and other services. Hotel staff very accommodating and polite. Pool and hot tub area was clean, private and accessible for young and old alike. Room service food and service were... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
Magna, Utah, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a good place to stay near the Oakland Airport. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable and I'm very picky about comfortable beds. My only complaint is that I had to put a towel at the bottom of the door to block the light from the hallway. The free shuttle from the airport and to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Momi17, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Oakland/San Leandro, responded to this review

Dear Jeanine B, Thanks so much for helping us spread the word about our Garden Sleep System beds. They are very comfortable and have the ability to be adjusted for every guest. I personally like a firm mattress and my husband likes it softer-good thing there are 2 controls on the king beds! We're so glad you noticed our housekeeping... More 

Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I need to be fairly close to the Oakland area. This hotel is good for that. The rooms are clean, the bed is comfy, the tv's are kind'a small by today's standards but okay. The keurig coffee maker in the room is a great treat. The hotel is by the 880 so plan on some noise from that. I'm amazed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Momi17, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Oakland/San Leandro, responded to this review

Dear Todd J, Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. We know that many people read reviews and take a cue from guests like you. Thank you for noticing the cleanliness of the rooms. Our housekeeping staff takes pride in their jobs and our Executive Housekeeper works tirelessly to keep the staff motivated. I... More 

Atlanta, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was shocked at the service offered, I will not recommend this hotel to any of my family members. I was not offered breakfast as a diamond member, was not offered any room upgrades etc. I am not sure if I will continue to stay at the Hilton chain in the future. I will revisit the Marriott & Holiday Inn

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Momi17, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Oakland/San Leandro, responded to this review

Dear Heston S, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am terribly sorry that you were not happy with your service. As a Diamond member you are a very valued guest. Our Hilton HHonors Gold and Diamond members do have the option when making reservations to choose breakfast each morning or 750 bonus points per stay.... More 

Clarksville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed one night in the HGI; typical HGI- nice clean room, good service, friendly staff, very good breakfast. The negative was the Freeway noise, our room was on the side of the building facing the freeway and it was terribly loud- the kind of loud that keeps you awake. If you are a light sleeper ensure that you ask... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Momi17, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Oakland/San Leandro, responded to this review

Dear Mike S, Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your most recent stay at our Hilton Garden Inn Oakland/San Leandro. We are pleased that you found our hotel clean and the staff friendly. Yes it is unfortunate and yet a convenience to be near the freeway. For those who are sensitive to noise it is best to request a... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I was in the Oakland area on business and began checking for modestly priced hotels. I opted fr the Hilton Garden Inn, as I had stayed in another one about one year ago. The hotel and the room were clean. I had no problems with that. My only quibble was the "restaurant," which offered an of sorts buffet. The selection... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Momi17, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Oakland/San Leandro, responded to this review

Dear DCtraveler1147, Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey. I am happy to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate you recognizing the hard work our housekeeping staff puts into keeping our hotel and rooms clean. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your breakfast selection. If you wouldn't mind reaching out... More 

Daly city, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Great hotel to stay staff are very friendly and very helpful especially the Front Desk personnel. We had a function there and the two ladies that served our Dinner were magnificent personality wise and very efficient in any which way.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
Momi17, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Oakland/San Leandro, responded to this review

Dear Wesley H, Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful comments regarding our staff! Others who view this take a cue from you when choosing a hotel in our area. Our staff takes pride in the service they give and I appreciate you recognizing them for this. Thank you again! We look forward to welcoming you back! Sincerely, Momi... More 

Jackson, CA, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

I took my kids (3) and my friend and her child (2 more) to the Cal. Academy of Science and finding a room that would accommodate all of us was difficult for any hotel. Hilton got us two rooms right next to each other. I want to point out that I called the night before (11:00pm) to get these rooms... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
Momi17, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Oakland/San Leandro, responded to this review

Dear Mark O, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that we were able to take care of your room requests. Our staff tries very hard to accommodate our guests and ensure that they have a pleasant stay. I hope you and your family had fun... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question