We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano

3.0 of 5 33711 Camino Capistrano, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano
Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano
Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    33
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
32
19
4
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (87)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Seal Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

One of the worst experience I've ever had at a Residence Inn. No customer service, barely edible breakfast, and the pool, BBQ, spa area was closed off for filming. Nothing was done to accommodate guests for their inconvenience. And my friend who also had a reservation was turned away because of overbooking to accommodate the production crew. Taking care of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grace M, General Manager at Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano, responded to this review

Hello! I am deeply sorry for this poor experience. It will be great if I can reconnect with you - and personally apologize for all the inconvenience that you went through during your stay. Again, please accept our deep apology on this regard. Please let us the best time to call you. Leadership team email: ri.snasj.gm@marriott.com; de'andre.gipson@marriott.com. Sincerely, -Grace M. More 

Winter Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is very clean family and pet friendly. The manager's reception is not worth the time or effort typically there are 5 or 6 individuals that devour the small amount of scraps they put out. I know it free but really when the hotel parking lot is filled I would expect something of more quantity not necessarily quality. Sunday... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grace M, General Manager at Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano, responded to this review

Hello and happy New Year! Thank you for the feedback - we are so looking forward to host your future stay in the area! Deeply appreciate your thought regarding our complimentary evening social reception and breakfast. We will continue to re-visit our processes and identify areas to better our service. Wishing you and yours - the best in 2015! Cheers!... More 

Atlanta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stay in 30-60 hotels a year. This was the loudest location I have ever experienced. The last reviews mentioned the train, but it needs to be mentioned they do sound the horn and night. Literally right outside my window. 1am, 2:15, 2:45, 3:30.....to make it worse, promptly at 0630 an industrial jack hammer or drill starts pounding away doing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
De'Andre G, Assistant General Manager at Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the San Juan Capistrano Dana Point Residence Inn by Marriott. I would like to apologize for the noise you experienced. We are currently looking into a long term solution for the train noise. Thank you again for your feedback and for being our guest. More 

Nevada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First I could have given this place 5 stars but only due to the train issue. You cannot go wrong with staying here but chose a front of the hotel room as the back has an active train track 1000 feet that trains pass several times a day/night Blowing their horn. The location was perfect for Dana point activities that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grace M, General Manager at Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano, responded to this review

Hello and happy happy New Year!!!!! Thank you for this wonderful feedback - rest assured that we will share this with Maria and team! We are so looking forward to host your future stay in the area! Cheers! Best to you and yours! -Grace M. More 

Beaumont, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

Our room was quite impressive considering we had never stayed at a Residence Inn before. I loved the room, but the complimentary breakfast was pretty sad. I guess if you're staying here you can take advantage of the in-room kitchen and grocery delivery to make your own breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grace M, General Manager at Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano, responded to this review

HI Stacy! Thank you for the wonderful that you shared about our guest rooms! Yes, that is true, our guest rooms are a lot bigger than a regular hotel room - more space to work, relax and unwind at the end of the day! We are so pleased that your family had a great time enjoying our in-room amenities. We... More 

Lubbock, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

Excellent room with outfitted kitchen for extended stays, living room and work-area - ours had a view of the Pacific Ocean. They had a far better than typical complimentary breakfast buffet, including a fountain drink station for those who need their cold caffeine fix (cokes) for breakfast as well as the typical coffee and juices. There is a great outdoor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grace M, General Manager at Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano, responded to this review

Hi Pat, I trust that you had a wonderful Thanksgiving! Thank you for a great feedback! We are so looking forward to host your future stay in the area! Have fantastic holidays ahead! Best, -Grace M. More 

Dublin, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

It is the typical Residence Inn with kitchen and living room amenities. A breakfast buffet is included and there are a couple evening "social hours" with beer/wine and a light dinner menu. There is a firepit at the edge of the property, looking down the hill. You can see a little shippet of ocean from the south side (same side... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Grace M, General Manager at Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your feedback on regards to your with us this month. Deeply appreciate your flexibility and understanding during your stay. We have recycle bins that are spread out at the property - however, I like your suggestion in providing something in the room. We will explore this opportunity - if not we can add more bins on... More 

Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
57 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

This is located right off the highway, which is good and bad. The rooms are pretty standard and there is definitely nothing wrong with them. You have to pay for parking, $12/day, which I found fairly outrageous for a Residence Inn next to a highway. The front desk staff is very friendly and willing to help you out. However, when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
De'Andre G, Manager at Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel... More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

My first stay at a Marriott Residence. We were there for a wedding. Great location, right on the Interstate, but you don't get any noise from traffic. Very clean, comfortable and modern. Great pool and sports court. Tasty breakfast. Only bad thing, we had dinner included in our weekday rate and we weren't aware of that till check out. Wi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
De'Andre G, Manager at Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for the kind words about our hotel. I am glad to hear you were able to enjoy our many hotel amenities during your stay. I apologize that you did not get to enjoy our evening social however; this gives you a great excuse to come back and visit us again. We look forward to... More 

Indianapolis
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Literally, right off the 5. Minutes to Dana Point, which you could see from the pool side of the hotel - and, the hotel offered a shuttle down to Dana Point Harbor. The room was updated, spacious, and nicely appointed. It had everything you could need for an extended stay. The only complaint I had was having to pay for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
De'Andre G, Manager at Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the San Juan Capistrano Dana Point Residence Inn. Thank you for the staying with us and for your kind words regarding our hotel. We look forward to serving you again in the near future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano

Address: 33711 Camino Capistrano, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Juan Capistrano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay