We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown

Hotel website
Hotel deals
282 Almaden Boulevard, San Jose, CA 95113 (Formerly Convention Plaza Hotel)
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Add Photo Write a Review

362 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    124
    111
    75
    32
    20
See reviews for
43
35
24
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (362)
  • Mar-May only
    (120)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (106)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (82)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

right in front of San Jose convention center, a few blocks from SAP.free WIFI and breakfast, snacks available for purchase during the night. book early or get at a discounted price, otherwise, expensive. parking is about $30 per night, gate is usually not working.

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California, Usa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I will try to be as fair as possible, because I don't actually tend to complain about service very often, but I had a poor experience with the Hyatt's group booking process. We booked a courtesy room block for our wedding in June. It did say reservations were based on availability, but it had an expiration in late May, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
seattle washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Nice hotel. Would stay again. Convenient, nice, accomidating staff. This is a crown plaza building that has been taken over, so...the rooms. Are much smaller than normal. Still have a fridge, but rooms either have sofa bed(terrible by the way) or 2 beds and no sofa bed. Still ok, but don't expect the spacious room we have grown to love...... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review

TTraveller50 - thanks for staying with us! Sorry you did not have the same feeling in our as the newly built Hyatt Place hotels. Our hotel is one of the originals Downtown and is quite large compared to our neighbors. It would be great if you can kindly contact me directly to share what room you were in so we... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a Hyatt Place, after all. As a result,'no matter how good it is, there's an upper limit. Clean. Bed was acceptable. Breakfast buffet was included--not as sparse as it looked. Convenient to Conventional Center. Convenient to the Fairmont, which was nice, because I went there for breakfast. Treadmills,!recumbent bikes, ellipticals. But it's not a Hyatt, or one of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review

Son_of_the_Midwest - Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. We're proud of our little hotel and glad you enjoyed the location and breakfast. We do see lots of happy people enjoying the spread each morning and enjoy watching them head out with energy to face the day. Hope to see you soon! More 

Poway, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

clean room, nice lobby, free breakfast, wifi, bar. walking distance to great restaurants. not much more needed for a biz traveler. it's near the highway and the airport, so easy access. only thing i didn't like was that the parking is too expensive ($24/night), particularly when you check in late and check out early.

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review

Hi rungkait - Thanks for staying with us and enjoying all our hotel has to offer. We're not just great for weekend getaways but super convenient for the 'biz traveler', as well! Parking Downtown can be expensive but our garage is close and you have easy access to your vehicle during your stay. Glad you had a great time and... More 

Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Paid $300+ a night for 2 rooms for a week here to attend a sports competition. Very disappointed in this place. Smell of beer and marihuana fills the hall outside our rooms and this unpleasant offensive odor comes into the room everytiime the door opens. We are allergic to smoke and one of my children has a medical condition. Not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review

Wendy T - so sorry to hear of your discomfort: it happens to be the weekend of the last 2 Grateful Dead concerts of all time and we have been working proactively to ensure concert goers are not starting the party at the hotel. If you are still with us, please contact me so we can make the rest of... More 

Stansbury park, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I come to San Jose about once month and I've stayed here many times. The rooms are clean, modern and comfortable. The wifi leaves a lot to be desired. I've had to leave the hotel and go back to work to download files - not good. Management said they were aware of the issue and looking at new provider. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Scott M - thanks for staying with us last month. Wifi has improved already since you were here with increased bandwith and a start to installing new access points for the guest rooms. We know Downtown can be loud at times - please do request the north-facing rooms or we are happy to share ear plugs or a sound... More 

Santa Barbara, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Extended weekend in San Jose to attend performance at the SJ Performing Arts Center. Hyatt Place is across the street from the theater and a convenient downtown location. Room was quiet, comfortable and clean. Staff was friendly, courteous, and helpful. Have stayed here before and would again. Reasonably priced.

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Karen R - thanks for visting us from Santa Barbara! It is nice staying right across the street from Center for Performin Arts. We don't plan on moving so see you for the next show. thanks! More 

arlington, Turkey
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who is on business trip and need reliable, secure internet service. Also, be careful about the food. They don't put all ingredients in the labels. If you are allergic to certain food, this can hurt you.

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review

Funda K - sorry for your internet experience. We have had our wifi provider increase the bandwith and install new access points - there is already a marked imrovement. In regards to food labeling, we take this very seriously and upon inspection do not find any misinformation: please contact me directly to share specifics michael.lerman@hyatt.com More 

Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed there for a business conference which was taking place across the street. Pros: Staffs are ok. Bar open 24 hr. Location is very central Cons: Only one elevator was working for the entire stay. Over Priced. Internet was not working. They did not fix anything after repeated request. We found mold in the breakfast pastry. This building is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Amit D - Thanks for the follow-up review; I am glad we had a chance to speak in person during your stay but sorry to see you were left with such a poor perception. Happy to report we were able to get to the source of the drain issue. Our pastries are baked fresh daily and we have spoken... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (84)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay