We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown

Hotel website
Hotel deals
282 Almaden Boulevard, San Jose, CA 95113 (Formerly Convention Plaza Hotel)
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    103
    69
    31
    18
See reviews for
39
35
23
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (341)
  • Mar-May only
    (115)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (82)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Perfectly located in downtown, great for walking. The rooms were very comfortable and the service was very good too.The breakfast is a step above those other brand hotels and the area was kept very clean.I would stay here, again.

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The hotel is nice enough. However, the Wi-Fi was horrible. There was no coverage in the workout room. In the lobby and in the rooms there is free wi-fi, but it is incredibly slow. I complained and was told that they were having a problem with the provider and that they would "reset the router," but after complaining multiple times... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review

Sorry fot he wifi disruption chinny100. Thanks for your patience and glad that your personal technology was able to save the day. We'll look into why the connection did not make to the gym. Thanks! More 

Santa Clara, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Forced to San Jose by last minute business trip/nary a room to be found as most hotels were sold out. At $459 per night ($537 after taxes/parking surcharge) easily THE WORST VALUE I have ever received in a hotel. The street car passes outside/planes going overhead - NOISY! Convention central/probably 85% of guests were travelling techies. They have renovated lobby... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review

Yikes Andy K! This sounds like a really poor experience. We know downtown can be pricey during peak times but glad you were able to find a room with us. Sorry you did not enjoy the hotel or decor and I am at your service if we can assist with a future stay: michael.lerman@hyatt.com More 

Livonia, MI, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I attended a conference at the McEnery Convention Center and my secretary booked this hotel. It was a great choice. The hotel is right across from the convention center and close to the river walk, downtown, and the train. It is a great hotel to stay at for business. The staff at the Hyatt Place were very friendly and competent.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Elisabeth D - sounds like we both lucked-out with your secretary's choice of hotels! Awesome feedback about Engineering and we are so glad you got your earing back; we'll make sure he is recognized for going to these lengths. Thanks for visiting and see you again soon. More 

Oceanside, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There was nothing MAJOR that was wrong. It's an older hotel that's been redone. It's just very expensive for what is just an average hotel. WiFi was so slow that it was unusable. Staff was friendly. Room smelled like dirty socks.

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review

Hi lynns592 - Thanks for writing and so sorry you did not recieve the value you expected from staying with us. Glad the team took good care of you but disappointed your room was not fresh. Would love to hear from you directly if you would email at your convenience: michael.lerman@hyatt.com More 

Castle Pines, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed at the San Jose Hyatt Place for an annual meeting the last 2 years. The hotel staff is always extremely friendly and customer oriented. You get the feeling that they really appreciate your business. Always a very upbeat experience.

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review

Greetings Gary M - Thanks for taking the time to review your stay and experience at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown. We do really appreciate your business and so glad you can feel it from the team. Looking forward to seeing you soon. More 

United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel is a bit dated, but clean. Staff is friendly and helpful. They don't charge for internet (in case you have a teenager, that is important) and location is good. Train is close by and area has lots of restaurants. Workout room is good. Has everything you need and in working condition. Also offers a nice breakfast selection...free!

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review

Colleen K - Thanks for the great note. We keep the Stay Fit Gym in good shape in case you over-enjoy our delicious breakfast. Thanks for staying with us and see you next time. More 

NOIDA, India
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had average experience. Room was neat and clean, but other facilities were very limited. Internet speed was slow. The Hotel should clearly say what is chargeable and whats not. Also the Elevator's at higher levels take more time to come. Its easy to go up.

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review

Greetings Saurav G - Thanks for taking the time to share. Hyatt Place aims to be an uncomplicated offering that still provides the essentials: convenient location, quick check-in, free wi-fi, free business center, 24 hour food service, full bar open until midnight and a great media panel in your room that you can use to plug in and watch your... More 

San Diego, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

easy to get to convention center or other San Jose locations if your working in SAN easy in easy out and close to airport. Breakfast is ok its in the lobby free, there is also a bar if you dont want to go out. Convenient to food as well with restaurants nearby.

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review

Dave B - Thanks for the review. If you are a beer fan, we have a new great line-up with local microbrews, including our team's favorite: The City...you have to try it. The hotel isn't just convenient, but delicious, as well. More 

Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I suppose things could have been worst but with all of the other hotel options in the area, I will definitely not be going back to the Hyatt in downtown San Jose. First of all the air conditioning unit in the room didn't work when I tried to turn it on. But I was so tired from the day's work... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review

T C - So sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I am glad we were able to connect in person and we have addressed the issues you had with your room and unfortunate incident with your car. We were as shocked as you that this happened given the safety and security of downtown and our hotel. It is disappointing... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (84)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities