We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown

Hotel website
Hotel deals
282 Almaden Boulevard, San Jose, CA 95113 (Formerly Convention Plaza Hotel)
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Add Photo Write a Review

381 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    131
    114
    80
    36
    20
See reviews for
47
36
25
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (381)
  • Mar-May only
    (120)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (125)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (82)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Overall the hotel is very average apart from the price which is high. For the price I would have expected more. The morning buffet is passable but otherwise there is no good food in the hotel. There are 3 elevators in the hotel and two were broken when I was there. The wait was long and horrible.

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elk Grove, United States
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

2 of 3 elevators were out of service, very inconvenient/troublesome. Once it finally arrived was extremely slow. detour to the stairwell was not helpful, it was on the other side of the hotel located OUTSIDE with the doorway open to busy intersection traffic & general public. Not even a key required to enter the hallways. Bar/restaurant appear sterile/empty with no... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review

Ouch Adriana D, this sounds like a really poor experience. Sorry that some of our standards caught you by surprise and for the early wake-up, this should never have happened. We'll share the feedback with the housekeeping team. We were not expecting to have our elevators both out while you were here but needed to do so to maintain safety.... More 

Defiance, Ohio, Usa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel was not what we expect from a Hyatt hotel. The internet was slow to nonresponsive. This hotel has 9 floors with three elevators but upon arrival only two were working and by the time we left only one was working. The hotel was full with a convention and to choose such a time as this to take one... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review

Richard H - disappointed to see how some of the challenges you experienced left you feeling that we this is how we wish to operate. We know how inconvenient it is when the elevators are working perfectly and you have our deepest apologies that this happened while you were with us. Not responding to your A/C issues is inexcusable and... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The room was great and very quiet. Large flat screen TV and a couch in the large room. Limited restaurant facilities, but close to many local restaurants. The "grab and go" bakery had good food and a nice, but limited selection of menu items. Across the street from the convention center. The only down side was no shuttle service from... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review

Charles M - thanks for choosing Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown for your recent stay. We're so glad you loved the room features and central location. Hope to have you back with us soon! More 

los angeles
Level Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

* Price: between $150-200 per night. Not bad deal (including parking, continental breakfast). Not a bad deal. 3 star. * Accommodation: nice and clean spacious room with modern and simple decor, dark wood, white linen, big flat screen TV, seating area with sofar, coffee maker, fridge. 4 star. * Location: convenient, close to downtown area, convention center, museum, restaurants, SJ... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review

Wow, kukulimoku, we could not have said it better ourselves! Thanks for taking the time to share all the great things our hotel, Hyatt Places around the world and Downtown have to offer. Next time you are here, check out San Pedro Square Public Market. It's just a quick walk and really an icon in San Jose. Cheers! More 

Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was there for a week. Staff is polite, helpful and friendly. Rooms are neat, clean and all the basic hygiene is intact. It is very close to downtown, very well located next to Tech Museum, Civic Centre, SJ Rep. I have stayed here in the past. The hotel is getting old so the backend plumbing/elevators/overall smells-n-sights are not getting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review

Journeytor, thanks for visiting us all the way from Delhi. Although our prices may seem high, we are happy to be one of the best values Downtown. I wish that we had done a better job of pointing out the benefits of our 24/7 Gallery in the lobby which has a microwave for your use, as well as all the... More 

san jose, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was charged twice for my hotel then told the money would be back in my account in 7 days. Was made to feel like it was my fault and was then only reimbursed my parking fee. What happened to customer service exceed the expectations of the customer

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review

Greetings Mr. S - we are so sorry to see that your satisfaction with your stay was overshadowed by an error in billing. I am happy to see, however, that the team was able to make the adjustment when you reached out and that all is straightened out. Disappointed you did not feel valued by us as this is the... More 

San Jose, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff was courteous and the amenities were exceptional. Providing complimentary internet and breakfast were a definite plus. I would definitely stay here again. Thank you for the wonderful experience.

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for the recognition of our hard working team, Ruth P. We pour our heart into caring for you and it is so rewarding when you can feel it. And we are happy you loved the hotel, too :) Looking forward to seeing you again. More 

Sacramento, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff there are great. We had an issue with our credit card and they were more than patient with us. They were able to figure everything out and got our room moved to a couple of floors higher upon request.The free morning breakfast was a little mediocre, but great for the price.I really wished they had room service as... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review

Krizelle M - Thanks for staying with us on your trip to San Jose. Sounds like an awesome stay. Next time, we'll do our best to deliver the food upon request. Although Hyatt Place doesn't typically provide room service to help keep the cost within your budget, we do aim to please. See you soon! More 

Monterey, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I highly recommend the Hyatt Place in San Jose for overall experience with food quality, cleanliness, and service. Beautifully located to many downtown restaurants. I liked the spacious feel of the hotel and the green apples placed in the lobby. We were asked where we would like our room. In the back of the hotel where we would experience a... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Diana S - It sounds like you found all the great stuff our hotel has to offer! Most importantly, you could see that we cared to have you with us. Thanks for taking the time to review and see you soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (48)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#16 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 688 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#9 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Fairmont San Jose
The Fairmont San Jose
#6 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 1,354 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin San Jose
The Westin San Jose
#23 of 75 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 4 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#25 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay