We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds

2460 Fontaine Road, San Jose, CA 95121
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Traveled for a personal stay and I was actually headed to Motel 6 but desided to stop here and they were just so friendly and im glad i stopped because the room was very comfy and there were so many places to eat in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Logan G
FontaineInnSJ, Guest Relations Manager at Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed our hotel so much, Logan. Always great to hear that we made our guests feel right at home. Hope you'll be back soon. Thank you. More 

Upland, California, United States
Level Contributor
428 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Toilet didn't work. Despite complaint, not fixed. No plug for tub. CAUTION: the bed sits on some sort of frame with heavy extensions poking out that WILL cut your leg. Traffic noise. Jalousie blinds did not keep out a blasting spotlight all night. Internet: OK.

Helpful?
Thank William D
FontaineInnSJ, Guest Relations Manager at Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds, responded to this review

William, we want all our guests to have a wonderful stay with us, if they do not, then we are disappointed as well. Please note that we will look into your experience to make necessary improvements to provide superior stay for our guests. We sincerely hope you'll give us another opportunity to restore your confidence in our hospitality, William. Thank... More 

Dix Hills, NY
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2015

The term "lipstick on a pig" seems to apply to the decent bed and TV in this dilapidated noisy two story motel. Occupants of other rooms had doors open and loud music playing to which the thin door provided no barrier. The Bathroom was tired and rusty with lots of chipped paint. Carpeting was worn and A/C was loud and... More 

Helpful?
Thank kbaerliny
FontaineInnSJ, Guest Relations Manager at Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Dear kbaerliny, We're sorry to hear you had this impression. We do our best to make sure that you're completely happy whenever you stay with us -- our Front Desk team is always there to help make this happen. Hopefully we'll get a second chance to show you our best. All the best, FontaineInn Management More 

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

I stayed in the Fontaine Inn for two whole weeks and it was better than expected. The room was clean and big enough to feel comfortable on a longer stay. I had everything I needed, such as fridge, microwave, flat screen tv, coffee maker, ironing board, free wifi and even soap in the bathroom. The red haired girl at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank camouflage-xray
FontaineInnSJ, Guest Relations Manager at Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Hi camouflage-xray, Thank for such a well-thought out and kind review. We always appreciate when a guest has taken the time to be so thorough – and so complimentary. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay overall and enjoyed our room amenities. Thank you for mentioning our staff- they truly enjoy being of service to our guests... More 

Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015 via mobile

Me and my daughter were 10-15 mins late for breakfast. They stopped allowing people to get breakfast Mon-fri at 9 am. Couldnt even get juice, apple or yogurt to go. As much as A person pays for the night. A little curtousy since we are not at home would have made a huge difference in my thoughts of this place.... More 

Helpful?
Thank tanya1441
FontaineInnSJ, Guest Relations Manager at Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Hi tanya1441, Thank you for staying with us during you recent visit to San Jose. I am glad that you had a satisfactory stay. Not so delighted to hear that you could not make it to our breakfast. I totally understand it can be disappointing to miss the breakfast, especially when you are traveling with your family and loved ones.... More 

Arcata, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

Hotels in San Jose can be insanely expensive so for those on a budget wanting more hotel than a motel 6 offers this may be something to consider with some caveats. 1) Neighborhood: Though close to downtown this hotel sits in a somewhat questionable area. We never felt unsafe during our stay however, the bars on the windows at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank bmp68
FontaineInnSJ, Guest Relations Manager at Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Dear bmp68, Thank for such a well-thought out and kind review. We always appreciate when a guest has taken the time to be so thorough. However, I am not delighted to read that we did not meet your expectations. I will pass on this information to right team so they can look into the issues you mentioned. Our aim is... More 

Glendale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

Great place to stay for the weekend! I was here with my family and we found the rooms to be clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast served was also good. Most of all, staff was very friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kay9p
FontaineInnSJ, Guest Relations Manager at Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Dear Kay9p, Thank you so very much for your very complimentary words. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with your family. I am also glad that you found our rooms to be comfortable, clean, and enjoyed our breakfast. Also very happy that you found our staff to be friendly and quite helpful and that we could make... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015 via mobile

My boss and I missed our international flight out of San Jose International Airport. The only other flight option to Guadalajara out of the Bay Area would have been to take a red eye out of Oakland. This was not an option so we decided to stay locally to catch the next flight the following day. We found the Fontaine... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Eriqsl
FontaineInnSJ, Guest Relations Manager at Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Dear Eriqsl, I am delighted that you were pleased with our hotel, room, services and our staff. I am very pleased that we could make your stay wonderful in such frustrating situation. Thank you for writing and please come again soon! More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015 via mobile

Fontaine Inn is a hidden gem hiding behind ChuckECheese and next to 101 highway. I booked this place for my friends visiting from LA while shopping around for a place which is economical and close to my home, I live near downtown. My friends kids were so happy to have a place next to ChuckECheese and it made their trip... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank FunkySJ
FontaineInnSJ, Guest Relations Manager at Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Dear FunkySJ, Thank you for your taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled that your friends' had an exceptional stay, and were delighted to read that they enjoyed our room, as well as our amenities. I am so pleased we were able to make your friends' stay such a pleasant one and the Kids enjoyed quick access... More 

Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

This is my 5th stay at the Fontaine Inn. The staff is always friendly and helpful. I love the convenience of their complimentary breakfast which offers healthy choices. They have recently renovated rooms and the property is safe and well maintained. Since I'm in town on business often, being centrally located to all of my clients within the Silicon Valley... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank joelonestar
FontaineInnSJ, Guest Relations Manager at Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Dear joelonestar, Thank you for your patronage. We are thrilled that you had an exceptional stay, and are delighted to read that you enjoy our room, as well as our amenities during your visits. Having a restful and pleasant stay is always a great thing to hear from our guests, especially those who travel from so far away for business.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lanai Garden Inn & Suites
4.4 mi away
Arena Hotel
Arena Hotel
#31 of 74 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
#37 of 74 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ramada San Jose Downtown
Ramada San Jose Downtown
#34 of 74 in San Jose
3.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
7.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay