We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

1740 North First Street, San Jose, CA 95112
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Jose Airport Garden Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
San Jose Airport Garden Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

449 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    41
    99
    104
    124
    81
See reviews for
75
61
41
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (449)
  • Mar-May only
    (122)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (148)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (102)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (77)
All months
El Paso, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This has been my worst stay ever and I still have 3 nights to go. I am active duty military so I travel a lot. I have stayed in numerous hotels ranging from 2- 3.5 stars every year in different states. I am only one night into a four night stay and it is the worst hotel stay I have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vancouver
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I would avoid this location! Simply put... Avoid! I would prefer a risk with Hotel Tonight versus this place. The pricing listed here is WAY off of what I paid. I paid 280.00 through a corporate rate on Expedia. Those are Fairmont prices! Avoid, avoid, avoid!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel has a great location for an overnight stay by San Jose airport. The staff is friendly and helpful. Now the rooms: dirty, outdated and stinky! The bedding was stained and the carpet just too nasty to walk on even with socks. They didn't even put towels in the room, having to call to get some so I could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
San Jose, California
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was a last minute booking; one of very few options close to the airport. All I can say is, I got taken for a ride. Definitely not a 3 star property. It should charge rates in line with a road motel (which describes the layout and style of the exterior), not the $300+ per night that I paid. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Having been to proper 5 star hotels, this hotel is really way down the ranking. Dated furnishings, stand alone unit air-conditioning (that rattles the whole night), CRT TV, creaky wooden floors, no toothbrush nor slippers provided... On the good side, it is clean, service at breakfast is good, though choices are limited.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlos D, Front Office Manager at San Jose Airport Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate hearing back from our customers about their stay. I was so pleased to hear that you had a great stay including clean and comfortable accommodations, great food in our Lobby Lounge and a convenient location close to downtown and the airport. Thank you for your business and we look... More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This was a last minute booking and I only stayed one night (thankfully.) The hotel had some redeeming qualities; a nice lobby, on-site restaurant (which kept short hours so I did not try,) nice-looking pool and lovely grounds with a chair and table outside of every ground-floor sliding door room (except for mine -- seriously), garden gazebo with furniture and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlos D, Front Office Manager at San Jose Airport Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. I was very disappointed to read your review and the problems that you have encountered during your previous stay here. Your business is very important to us. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After reading all of the horrible reviews we almost didn't stay here! Good thing I didn't listen to those! The hotel was completely fine!!!!! And I'm very picky about hotels!! Don't be afraid to stay here it was a very clean, quiet hotel to stay in. I will definitely use this hotel again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Carlos D, Front Office Manager at San Jose Airport Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate hearing back from our customers about their stay. I was so pleased to hear that you had a great stay including clean and comfortable accommodations, great food in our Lobby Lounge and a convenient location close to downtown and the airport. Thank you for your business and we look... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and daughter checked in late due to a flight delay and the first room they were given smelled like a sewer. They were moved to the "last room" in the hotel which was not that nice but at least did not stink. Needless to say they were out very early the next morning with only a few hours... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlos D, Front Office Manager at San Jose Airport Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. I was very disappointed to read your review and the problems that you have encountered during your previous stay here. Your business is very important to us. More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I came to this hotel as a last choice after Expedia messed up my original reservations and left me stranded in San Jose with no place to stay. The only redeeming factor for the SJ Garden Hotel is icts proximity to the airport, 5 minutes, and thst it had a room available when all other hotels were sold out. That... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlos D, Front Office Manager at San Jose Airport Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. I was very disappointed to read your review and the problems that you have encountered during your previous stay here. Your business is very important to us. More 

common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff was fine during my limited interaction with them. But the room was dirty and smelly. There was a bit of trash on the floor when I checked in and the room was just very worn. I walked around the grounds and there was trash everywhere. The fitness center is a joke.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carlos D, Front Office Manager at San Jose Airport Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. I was very disappointed to read your review and the problems that you have encountered during your previous stay here. Your business is very important to us. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

126 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (85)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Airport
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott, San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Airport
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose - Silicon Valley
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Airport
Comfort Suites Airport
#27 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay