We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

1740 North First Street, San Jose, CA 95112
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
San Jose Airport Garden Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
San Jose Airport Garden Hotel
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    95
    95
    116
    73
See reviews for
68
60
38
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (418)
  • Mar-May only
    (122)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (117)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (102)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (77)
All months
Merced, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Perfect location for those flying out of San Jose. But I have to agree with the reviewing community, it's not exceptional. Old TV, small and antiquated bathroom. One of the parking lot entrances was blocked off which required a couple U-turns to go back. Comfortable bed and good sleep. I'd stay here again when I fly SJC.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washougal, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Clean well cooled room with a comfy bed. We arrived late, grabbed a quick beer in the bar and headed to room. Slept great and bolted in the morning. Pool looked very nice, but had no time for a dip. Located just 2 min to rental return, we had 7:00 am flight. Easy in and out!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed for 6 nights , had breakfast included in price, nothing special but well done buffet with many options. Room was simple with old tv and small fridge but everything brand new besides that. Restaurant had one page of selections . Simple fast food based on sandwiches and fried stuff. Great garlic stake fries!! And NY stake sandwich!! I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Despite the odd name, it's a historic and truly incredible property with old trees and many lovely sights. The pool is gorgeous. There's also a Ballroom, fitness room, gazebo and beautiful grounds with fountains, sculptures and rose gardens. Giving this place five stars, though it should be 4.5 stars because I don't feel like it's gotten a fair shake here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked a one-night stay by bidding on Priceline, so was a bit concerned when I read some of the reviews on here. Turned out to be a great stay. I normally stay at a Marriott or Hilton but those chains were literally three times as much as what I paid for this one ($81 through Priceline, so $100 with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ridgefield, NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For some reason, when I booked the hotel I thought it would be a nice place. Not even close. The room was really creepy, and to me it felt dirty. The area was very busy, and not close to any stores that I could find or felt comfortable walking to. I heard there was a gym but I didn't check... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlos D, Front Office Manager at San Jose Airport Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback about our hotel. I am sorry that you had a bad experience when you stayed here. If you do decide to try our hotel in the future. We can try our best to make it a better stay. More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Don't stay here if you are a single women. It is huge, old, and creepy. This is totally a "you get what you pay for" thing. Spend the extra bucks and stay @ a chain that is the "Mcdonald's" of hotel land. At least you know what you are getting. I was close to tears, and I am a tough... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlos D, Front Office Manager at San Jose Airport Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on our hotel. I am sorry that it was not to your liking. The owners & management company are in the works of fixing a lot of the problems with this old property. More 

Stockton
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

So I booked this room at the last minute while at a concert at the Levi Stadium for a concert because we were too tired to drive back. I was a little worried bc it was rated at 2.5 stars but in all reality it was more like 3 or 3.5 stars. Room was really spacious (clean, bed was wonderful)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlos D, Front Office Manager at San Jose Airport Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback about our hotel. I am glad that you had a nice stay & we hope to see you back again. More 

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel area itself is very nice and promising. Staff is friendly and helpful. There are few issues though. The room walls are paper thin and every conversation or other sound travels to neighbor room almost like it would be in your room. The shower tub sewer doesn't really work fast and that collects water to tub. This isn't only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlos D, Front Office Manager at San Jose Airport Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback about our hotel & your stay. The owners of the hotel & the management company are working to fix & correct some of the issues that you brought up. I am sorry if any of those issues caused problems for you during your stay More 

Netanya, Israel
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So, I enter the lobby and it stinks. Physically, the smell is bad. So I ask the manager about it and here's his answer, verbatim: "Yeah, it smells like butt. Haha. Someone farted. Haha. Yeah, farted." And from there it only went downhill: Dirty carpets, dusty room, the window won't open, CRT TV stuck under the ceiling, air conditioner that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlos D, Front Office Manager at San Jose Airport Garden Hotel, responded to this review

I am terribly sorry that you had a bad experience at our hotel. The owners & management company are working to fix a lot of the issues with this old property. I would really like to know which manager you spoke with. Could you email me at carlosd@sjagardenhotel.com. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

121 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (80)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay