We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 San Clemente hotels

Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2002 S El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672
Hotel amenities
Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge to your Saves list
50%
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013
bltserv OC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
6
11
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (30)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge
See the most recent reviews
OC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

For the money its an excellent place for a nights sleep. Manager Henry is great. Close to the main street and freeway. OC Tavern about a block away. 2 good restaurants within. 100 yards. Some freeway noise. But bang for your buck in South San Clemente you can't beat this Budget Clean and functional. Small fridge and microwave.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

This is your basic, no frills hotel. If you just need a place to sleep for the night, this will do. CONS - Office manager was crabby and the TV was a tri-color unit (the screen had 3 tints of color on it) from 1987 but does have HBO! PROS- The Wi-Fi worked really well which was a nice surprise.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Clemente, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

The property manager was extremely rude, The staff was noisy and then they had the gall to complian how i closed my door.(which was accidental). The manager smoked in the hallway and it reeked. I work nights and the manager complained because I was sleeping during the day and didn't answer the door when the maids came (I did not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
California
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
39 hotel reviews
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I would stay here again if I wanted a place to crash and that was it. The location was ok because there's a really great Mexican restaurant - El Mariachi, across the street as well as a walk's distance to shops and other eateries. The room wasn't too bad. It was actually in a lot better than the Best Western... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
South Shore of Montreal
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

San Clemente is expensive, you got more to see and experience in Carmel and you have lodging for a lot less in Monterey which is about 10 min from Carmel. The room was clean, bed comfy. Parking is under the hotel. Not noisy but the AC in room 313B was noisy (it the heater at the same time) so don't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

I found the management and cleaning staff very friendly and accomadating. The hotel did need some aesthic updating. However, everything was clean, the bed was comfortable, the room was larger than expected and the price couldn't be beat. There is also an amazing place to get breakfast right across the street.

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvilasvegas, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments as we constantly strive to improve. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with our cleanliness and friendly staff. We take great pride in our inn and put customer service first. We look forward to your return visit. Sincerely, Henry More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Husband and I came here with our baby, with no reservation. The manager not only let us check in early, but gave us a suite, which was perfect for us, so that baby could have his own room. I was pleasantly surprised with how nice the room was for the price that we paid. The bed was quite firm, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
abvilasvegas, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for being our valued guest! We credit our success to providing good service and clean accommodations at affordable prices. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Henry More

san francisco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

After reading the reviews I was worried about staying here, but everything was just fine. As forewarned, the check-in desk staff was outstandingly unfriendly, but so what. At this price pampering does not have to be included. Hopefully a person would be able to call a friend if their feelings got hurt. The room was just fine by budget standards,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
abvilasvegas, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge, responded to this review

We value all remarks, and appreciate you taking the time to share them with other travelers. We look forward to your return. We hope you continue to take advantage of our good value and allow us another opportunity to extend our hospitality in the future. Sincerely, Henry More

San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Bid on a room through priceline, got to the hotel and requested two beds and the manager said that we only had 1 queen for 2 adults and 2 kids ask for an extra bed, manager said there would be an additional 20.00 a night fee…wow……….. this sucks………… I will never stay here or use priceline again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
pete192614, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge, responded to this review

How is it the hotels or pricelines fault?....Your reservation was for 1 Queen bed for 2 guests.If you change your request at check in to 2 Queen beds for 4 guests...there will be an additional charge..Its normal at all hotels..If you were unsure of your room type during booking on priceline, you could have called the hotel direct or priceline,both... More

San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

My Wife and I checked in around 3:45 AM and after being up at the room for 5 minutes we decided not to stay, then we went back down to the front desk to tell that MAN FROM INDIA that we're not staying. He had the sorry look on his face, and told us that he can't do any refund... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pete192614, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge, responded to this review

We have a 100% refund policy if requested within 10 minutes of check in......You were given a full refund...Your debit/credit card was authorized for the nights stay but not charged....Authorizations drop off after 7 days......THANK YOU..... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge

Address: 2002 S El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Budget Hotel San Clemente

4 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay