We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
190 El Camino Real, Off Hwy 101 to 380 West, San Bruno, CA 94066
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012
mike r Denver, Colorado
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    183
    78
    20
    14
See reviews for
155
123
44
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (428)
  • Mar-May only
    (89)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (118)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (134)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (87)
All months
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West
See the most recent reviews
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Friendly reception and for problems or questions was soon a satisfactory solution. Also during rest of stay super service. Rooms are neat and still look fairly new. Spacious bathroom, good beds and tv Breakfast is truly in american (bagels, bread for toast, butter, jam, sour cream, cereal, 2 kinds of fruit and coffee, tea, milk and juice) but it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prativ P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, we really appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure having having you as our guest and look forward to your next visit. If you have any questions or concerns please do not hesitate to contact us. More 

San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Nice hotel, near everything we needed. Stayed with our three kids and everything was great! very clean, confy and very nice service. Breakfast was good and complete. The cafeteria is a little small and very in front of a couple of rooms in the 2nd floor, so be aware when reserving to ask this. If you get to have breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prativ P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel, we really appreciate it. Here at Howard Jhonson San Bruno, our top priority is to assure you will have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. To this intent, we will gladly accomodate your room and floor preference whenever possible.... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Because we were leaving very early, my husband and I left a poster behind and didn't remember it until we got home. When we phoned, the receptionist was able to contact the housekeeper who remembered the package and retreived it from the recycle bin. The manager was very helpful in getting the returned to us and we are very appreciative... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prativ P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, it was a pleasure helping you. I am very glad we were able to find and return your belongings safely and timely. We hope to see you again very soon. More 

Chicago
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you are planning to visit San Bruno, this hotel is a decent place to stay. It appears to be a old hotel with some updates and renovations. If you are from out of town, you may need a safe to keep your belongings - our room did not have one but my family in another room did have one.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prativ P, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, thank you for choosing our hotel! I am very glad you found it to your liking. We do emphasize the importance of cleanliness and although the hotel is not old, I am glad you did notice our efforts to renovate it and keep it as comfortable as possible. I really appreciate your comments. Please come stay with... More 

Sacramento
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was my second time here at this hotel. The hotel was a little old but clean and very well maintained. The staff was helpful and nice. I chose this hotel because of its access to SFO. I was looking for a single or a king since I was by myself. But all they had was a two Queen bedroom.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Prativ P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, thank you for staying with us a second time and taking the time to leave us your comments. We definitely look forward to seeing you again. Please, don't hesitate to let us know how we can make your stay more confortable. More 

GREENWOOD VILLAGE
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Clean hotel, standard continental breakfast but added hard boiled eggs. Had trouble finding hotel with our GPS.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prativ P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, thank you for staying with us! We are definitely trying to improve our breakfast and really appreciate your comments. I am sorry you had trouble finding our location but please feel free to call us next time, we will gladly help you find your way. More 

Broken Bow, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

A friend and I visited San Fran for five days and stayed here as our home base. The main reason for choosing this hotel was the price. At less than $100 a night, it was without a doubt one of the most reasonable hotels in the area. We could have paid almost twice that and stayed closer to San Fran... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prativ P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank for your comments. We are glad you had an enjoyable visit and look forward to see you again. We will definitely strive to make your stay more enjoyable by targeting the areas of improment you have mentioned. More 

MINNEAPOLIS
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Liked the shuttle bus. It came on time. My room was VERY spacious (1 king bed). And the bed was comfortable. Mostly quiet - I was across from the elevator so I heard the bell ring a few times.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prativ P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very glad to hear you had a good stay. In the future, please don't hesitate to let us know how we can make your stay more enjoyable. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question