We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Quality Inn on 144 Kern Street

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
144 Kern St., Salinas, CA 93905
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Quality Inn on 144 Kern Street
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Salinas
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
C000159 Blacklick, Ohio
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    18
    12
    0
See reviews for
16
14
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (56)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Blacklick, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I just spent one night there and it was fine. The room I had was much larger than most hotels. There were quite a few items that appeared to be new. Such as the AC/heater unit, sink/counter, shower insert, and the office chair. The bed was fairly comfortable, not the greatest, but certainly not the worst. The internet speed was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed there 3 weeks. (3 rooms, 1 week each). Beds in all rooms had seen better days and were sagging. One room had no heat or A/C., and another had the big front window, screwed open about 5". Not the best of areas, but close to freeway. There is only 1 person that works the front desk. (24hrs) At 5pm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Salinas hotels

Baguio, Philippines
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Stayed here Valentine's weekend (2015) because the wife had work nearby. The hotel is located across the street from In-N-Out and McDonald's. It is also right next to the 101 on/off ramps. The hotel is very clean, well-maintained and has free wifi and a very nice breakfast including a great waffle cooker. During our stay the hotel was completely booked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Stayed here 20 September 2014 after finding prices in Monterey (weekend festival) all >$200. This looks like it's been recently refurbished. Had very comfortable room, with good facilities, obliging staff, and good on-site diner. Salinas is not Monterey, but for $100 (and was fully booked when we arrived) this was good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I picked this motel because of reviews and on how close it was to the rodeo. It had clean rooms and a nice and helpful manager. The TV and some furniture was old and need to be replaced. The biggest problem was the air conditioner was so load when it turned on I had to turn TV up then when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edgewater, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great, clean, conveniently located hotel. Staff was friendly and the rooms were a nice size. We checked in at almost midnight and it felt safe and the front desk clerk was very nice. The hotel was quiet. Breakfast was good too. For the quality and convenience, you just couldn't beat the price!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oakhurst, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The front desk gave us a room key the first time and found out that room was unavailable due to painting. So we went back to the front desk and he gave us another room key and that room was being painted. We went back to the front desk and then went to speak to the painters and gave us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oregon
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
39 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Basic property next to the freeway. The 2nd and 3rd floors can be noisy from the street and freeway. The rooms were clean and the breakfast was basic. The manager gave us a good tip for dinner down the street at the Mexican restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yountville, California
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We were in town a bit late, to settle up with our Income Tax preparer who lives right next door. We would not have come so far south if not for that proximity. It was May 2013. This is a smaller district loaded with National Brand hospitality but we examined all of those and were not inspired - literally Quality... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This property offers location and a decent room for those wanting an affordable place within 30 mins drive of Monterey. I was able to Priceline the property at the last minute and called the hotel to request a room with 2 Queen beds. Manager on duty was incredibly rude on the phone and adamant that we had to pay a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
QUALITYINNGM33002, General Manager at Quality Inn on 144 Kern Street, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our hotel. I am sorry you were disappointed on this occasion, and I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. However, you mention a "guarantee" by Priceline for two beds. This was obviously was not the case and we had no option but to charge you an upgrade... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities