We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Governors Inn Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
2.5 of 5
Hotel website
210 Richards Boulevard, Sacramento, CA 95814
Governors Inn Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #19 of 83 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Arkady I San Francisco, California
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    135
    49
    11
    8
See reviews for
70
78
30
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (318)
  • Mar-May only
    (95)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (108)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (65)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

There are quite a few comparable hotels in the area, but when it comes to the comfort of accommodations v price, this always comes out the ultimate winner. Larger rooms, comfortable beds and very quick check in process make it a winner for me in its class. Although this hotel is not located downtown per se, it's only 10 min... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Medford, Oregon
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Governors Inn has nearly completed it's total remodel project which has come a long way since our stay here last fall. The new staff is very helpful and quite friendly. The attitude of "good service" is very prevalent with the front desk, but even with the security and maintence personnel also. Traditional continental breakfast complete with waffle maker is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SLO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I haves stayed here a half dozen times. Very nice facility. Nice, quiet, comfortable rooms. Front desk very friendly. Good value. Staying for business, but why pay the higher prices?? Easy access off I5. Close to downtown, old town, and Arden area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BelAbri, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Deb L, Thank you for staying with us. We are very glad you like our clean comfortable rooms, facility and our staff. We work hard to provide our guests with a wonderful experience and glad we met your expectations! More 

Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here twice now. Nothing wrong with this hotel. Hotel is located close to the American Bike Path. Once on bike path you can cycle all over the place. Sacramento is a good bicycle town. I used City Bike Works for my cycling needs when I stayed a week. I did look around for things to gig but they seem... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BelAbri, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark S, Thank you so much for staying with us during the Amgen bike race. It was a great event here in Sacramento and we are so happy your stay with us was just as grand. Look forward to seeing you again and happy cycling! More 

Placentia, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a great deal for the price. The room was clean and the King size bed was comfortable. It was in a nice area, close enough for us to ride our bikes along the American River Bike Way. The con was no protein with breakfast (eggs, bacon, sausage, etc.). For breakfast there was a waffle maker, pastries, cereal, yogurt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BelAbri, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear J.P. Thank you very much for staying with us and glad you enjoyed your stay. We love the bike trial too and with our closeness to the trail many of our guests take advantage of it. In regards to breakfast, it is a basic continental breakfast. At the request of our guests, we did add the waffles a few... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a 3rd floor double queen room on the east side of the building.... bed was comfortable, and I liked there was real glassware and coffee cups, as well as a refrigerator, in the room. Breakfast wasn't great but it was adequate, and they served Seattle's Best Coffee, which is my favorite. The pool area is small nice, albeit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BelAbri, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cindy A, Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor. Our staff works very hard to make sure our hotel is clean, comfortable and welcoming for our guests. Using the glassware and coffee cups helps us do our part in reducing waste and many of our guests have complimented us for doing so. Glad you enjoyed the Seattle's... More 

Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed a week. Had an issue with the bathroom and needed to ask twice to have it addressed. The attention to detail wasn't as evident this year. The beds were still very comfortable with plenty of pillows. The staff were just as friendly and helpful. Microwave was available to heat up food--outside of breakfast hours. The tea that was available... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BelAbri, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tucson_AZAdventurer, Thank you for your return visit. We are very sorry we did not quite meet your expectations on the bathroom issue. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and have addressed the issue with our staff. It seems we did slip up and are sorry about it. Hopefully all the other good interactions you had with our... More 

midsouth USA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am familiar w/the Sacramento area. I received this room through a discount website & learned its location after purchase. My first reaction was: "Oh no--I'm at Richards Boulevard!" " I reacted that way because of a preference to be mid-town The truth of the matter is I could not have been any happier with my 5 night stay. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BelAbri, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SunlovermidsouthUSA, We are glad you stayed with and appreciated all the staff kudos. We take great pride in serving our guests and am glad you singled them out in your review. Richards Blvd. has been undergoing a huge renovation and change. We have a light rail station, California Lottery Headquarters, the CHP headquarters and North Area Sacramento Police Station... More 

Eagle, Idaho
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a nice find in Sacramento. Beds very comfortable with nice décor. Central location with business amenities. Breakfast is a little thin, but the staff if one of the best I have ever encountered. Tony the manager was very helpful. Shuttle to the airport I a good touch. I will stay here every time I am in Sacramento.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BelAbri, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pam D, Thank you for your review and your HUGE compliment of our staff. We are glad that your stay with us was perfect. See you again. More 

Medicine Hat
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our Team stayed at The Governors Inn from April 14-18. The room were spacious, clean & the windows opened. The hotel was quiet, the beds were comfortable and the setup of the fridge was great with a huge counter to make our breakfast. The Shuttle was a nice touch and they did everything to make the schedule work for us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BelAbri, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear janice n, Thank you for your wonderful and excellent five star review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are so glad you had a great conference. We look forward to seeing you soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay