We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 85 Sacramento hotels

Sacramento Inn & Suites

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Arden Way, Suite 1, Sacramento, CA 95815 (Formerly Clarion Inn)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sacramento Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Sacramento Inn & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
32%
Ranked #62 of 85 hotels in Sacramento
  • Overview
  • Reviews (98)
  • Photos (36)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (37)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    17
    20
    18
    29
See reviews for
17
13
9
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colfax Ca
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I booked 24 hours in advance. When i arrived at 2pm the next day the young girl at the front desk was very rude and nasty i was told no rooms would be available until 5pm because the a/c wasnt working. I went out to the car an spoke to my husband an we both agreed it was even hotter... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lisa M, General Manager at Sacramento Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your stay. We have made some changes to our staff and the person in question is no longer working for us. I hope you might give us another chance in the future to provide you with superior service. Thank... More

Redding, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The set up is very strange as you check in at the Clairton next door. The front desk people were not very welcoming or friendly, but that might be because they work for the other hotel. IDK- the check in was weird... The pool and breakfast area are shared also. An hour before breakfast was over they ran out of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa M, General Manager at Sacramento Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It’s great to here you enjoyed yourself during your stay. I have to agree it is a little strange checking inn in a different building but we are in the process of remodeling the hotel. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to serving you in the... More

Chico, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Myself and my two sons stayed here for 4 nights this week, during our annual stay in sacramento for California state fair. yes you read me correct . the minute my son got in the pool a man wearing filthy dirty shorts jumped in the pool and threw his dog in for a swim as well. Can I say NASTY!!!!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lisa M, General Manager at Sacramento Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I have to apologize on behalf of the entire staff for the lack of service you received during your stay. I’m new to the property, and we have made some changes to the property, as well as adding some more maintenance staff and full time security to prevent unwanted visitors.... More

Mooresburg, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I was switched to 3 different rooms the night i stayed to get an air conditioner that would work, and the little snooty girl at the front desk kept telling me the power went off and needs time to reboot, what the heck, reboot an air conditioner???? anyway way gave them benefit of the dougtht stayed and ac never workeked,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lisa M, General Manager at Sacramento Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I have to apologize on behalf of the entire staff for the lack of service you received during your stay. I’m new to the property, and we have made some changes in our staff as well. We have taken care of the ac issues you mentioned. I hope that you... More

Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Room was unsafe, door was broken, security was lax. To top it off I could not even sleep for fear that someone would come through the rickety door. Placed at the back of the building when there were rooms at the top. Rooms did not match internet pictures. If this was updated and remodeled, I hate to see the rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lisa M, General Manager at Sacramento Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. On behalf of the entire staff I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your stay. Should you have let us know about some of the issues you had we would have had the chance to take corrective measures. I hope you might give us a second... More

Los Osos, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We were diverted to this location while making reservations over the phone, racing into Sacramento late Saturday afternoon. Didn't check reviews. When we did, we saw the low ratings and began to worry. Needlessly. If you are fussy and put off by normal human frailty, then go spend money to be pampered. But what this property offers is spacious, well-manicured... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa M, General Manager at Sacramento Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Sacramento and look forward to serving you in the future. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Staff was very friendly and worked with my friend and I when we showed up from out of town and didn't have enough for the deposit hold. Management made a rare exception due to our circumstances and we couldn't have been happier! The rooms have a private and rather large balcony which I found to be an added perk!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa M, General Manager at Sacramento Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay while you were in Sacramento. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon. More

Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I have stayed here before, and like others, have said "never again," but the convenience of the location, and the advertisements about the upgrades convinced me to give them another try. This hotel does not deserve my business, nor yours. Why pay for a room with no towels, no cleaning of the room, no replenishment of the basic amenities? Why... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lisa M, General Manager at Sacramento Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We have to apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your stay. I have spoken with the housekeeping team and made some and made some changes to that department. I hope you might give us another chance in the near future. Thank you. More

Sonora, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We were staying the weekend for our granddaughter's volleyball tournament at Cal Expo. We had stayed here last year, and although nothing spectacular, its convenient location to Cal Expo and restaurants made us try it again. But never again. Minor issues: light switch just as you enter that never turned anything on; 2 table lamps on either side of bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lisa M, General Manager at Sacramento Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your stay. I have spoke to the kitchen staff and we have made some changes to help prevent issues such as no food or limited food selections in the future. Thank you again for bringing your issue to my attention. I do... More

Eugene, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Coffee, cups, glasses, towels and washcloths were not provided, cleaned or replenished for our paid occupancy of 3 people. Staff was inaccessible or unreceptive when asked for assistance. The "new" houseman reportedly could not be found by the front desk staff when we made unsuccessful requests on multiple days for the same standard amenities. We, along with other guests were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lisa M, General Manager at Sacramento Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I would like to apo0ligize for not exceeding your expectations during your stay. Going without the basic amenities is unacceptable, and I will be working with the housekeeping staff to make sure this is not repeated. Thank you again for your review and I hope you will give... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sacramento Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sacramento Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sacramento Inn & Suites

Address: 1401 Arden Way, Suite 1, Sacramento, CA 95815 (Formerly Clarion Inn)
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sacramento Inn & Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sacramento Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion At Arden Village Hotel Sacramento
Red Lion Hotel Sacramento
Red Lion Sacramento

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Sacramento with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience true Sacramento hospitality and comfort at the Sacramento Inn an exceptional, distinctly different and unique full service hotel in the heart of Northern California. The perfect choice whether you are in town for business or pleasure. Our impeccable service and casual northwest flair will make your stay comfortable in Sacramento. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
140

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sacramento Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer