We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sacramento Inn & Suites

2.5 of 5 1401 Arden Way, Suite 1, Sacramento, CA 95815 (Formerly Clarion Inn)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sacramento Inn & Suites
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sacramento Inn & Suites
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    17
    22
    18
    29
See reviews for
18
13
9
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (100)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Family members visiting stayed here as it was very convenient and branded as a Clarion Brand Hotel. Its location is easy access to freeway, large mall, and easy drive to downtown. Very basic hotel, rooms ok, clean and tidy. However at night extremely busy outside, loud visitors, and numerous cars coming and going. Seemed like a popular place for people... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richmond, California, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The customer service wasn't good, we called for extra towels to be delivered to the room and was told to come to the front desk and in addition, when the towels were eventually delivered it wasn't the number of towels that were requested. The complimentary breakfast was also garbage, cold and old.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa M, General Manager at Sacramento Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. On behalf of the entire staff I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your stay. We have implemented some new guidelines at the front desk to help make sure that our guest gets the best service possible. We hope that you might give us another chance... More

Colfax Ca
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

I booked 24 hours in advance. When i arrived at 2pm the next day the young girl at the front desk was very rude and nasty i was told no rooms would be available until 5pm because the a/c wasnt working. I went out to the car an spoke to my husband an we both agreed it was even hotter... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Lisa M, General Manager at Sacramento Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your stay. We have made some changes to our staff and the person in question is no longer working for us. I hope you might give us another chance in the future to provide you with superior service. Thank... More

Redding, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The set up is very strange as you check in at the Clairton next door. The front desk people were not very welcoming or friendly, but that might be because they work for the other hotel. IDK- the check in was weird... The pool and breakfast area are shared also. An hour before breakfast was over they ran out of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa M, General Manager at Sacramento Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It’s great to here you enjoyed yourself during your stay. I have to agree it is a little strange checking inn in a different building but we are in the process of remodeling the hotel. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to serving you in the... More

Chico, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Myself and my two sons stayed here for 4 nights this week, during our annual stay in sacramento for California state fair. yes you read me correct . the minute my son got in the pool a man wearing filthy dirty shorts jumped in the pool and threw his dog in for a swim as well. Can I say NASTY!!!!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lisa M, General Manager at Sacramento Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I have to apologize on behalf of the entire staff for the lack of service you received during your stay. I’m new to the property, and we have made some changes to the property, as well as adding some more maintenance staff and full time security to prevent unwanted visitors.... More

Mooresburg, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I was switched to 3 different rooms the night i stayed to get an air conditioner that would work, and the little snooty girl at the front desk kept telling me the power went off and needs time to reboot, what the heck, reboot an air conditioner???? anyway way gave them benefit of the dougtht stayed and ac never workeked,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lisa M, General Manager at Sacramento Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I have to apologize on behalf of the entire staff for the lack of service you received during your stay. I’m new to the property, and we have made some changes in our staff as well. We have taken care of the ac issues you mentioned. I hope that you... More

Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Room was unsafe, door was broken, security was lax. To top it off I could not even sleep for fear that someone would come through the rickety door. Placed at the back of the building when there were rooms at the top. Rooms did not match internet pictures. If this was updated and remodeled, I hate to see the rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lisa M, General Manager at Sacramento Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. On behalf of the entire staff I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your stay. Should you have let us know about some of the issues you had we would have had the chance to take corrective measures. I hope you might give us a second... More

Los Osos, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We were diverted to this location while making reservations over the phone, racing into Sacramento late Saturday afternoon. Didn't check reviews. When we did, we saw the low ratings and began to worry. Needlessly. If you are fussy and put off by normal human frailty, then go spend money to be pampered. But what this property offers is spacious, well-manicured... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa M, General Manager at Sacramento Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Sacramento and look forward to serving you in the future. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Staff was very friendly and worked with my friend and I when we showed up from out of town and didn't have enough for the deposit hold. Management made a rare exception due to our circumstances and we couldn't have been happier! The rooms have a private and rather large balcony which I found to be an added perk!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa M, General Manager at Sacramento Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay while you were in Sacramento. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon. More

Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I have stayed here before, and like others, have said "never again," but the convenience of the location, and the advertisements about the upgrades convinced me to give them another try. This hotel does not deserve my business, nor yours. Why pay for a room with no towels, no cleaning of the room, no replenishment of the basic amenities? Why... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lisa M, General Manager at Sacramento Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We have to apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your stay. I have spoken with the housekeeping team and made some and made some changes to that department. I hope you might give us another chance in the near future. Thank you. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sacramento Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sacramento Inn & Suites

Address: 1401 Arden Way, Suite 1, Sacramento, CA 95815 (Formerly Clarion Inn)
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sacramento Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sacramento Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion At Arden Village Hotel Sacramento
Red Lion Hotel Sacramento
Red Lion Sacramento

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay