We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo

1413 Howe Avenue, Sacramento, CA 95825-3203 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites At Cal Expo)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo
Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo
Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    16
    22
    7
    4
    12
See reviews for
15
12
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (61)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
There are newer reviews for Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo
See the most recent reviews
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

When i arrived to the room i realized that there was no microwave and no fridge in the room ( my reservation said i will have them there) i went to the front desk and tell that to the girl and she said it was a lie but they will put them on the room, every day i went down... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lisa M, General Manager at Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We do have microwave and refrigerators in all suite rooms. We did offer you this room type and you didn’t want to upgrade. We also have other sets available on a first come first serve basis, but unfortunately they were already being used. Where sorry for any inconvenience this caused... More 

Columbus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Flew into Sacramento from Ohio to take the CA PE Exam; very stressful time to say the least. Room was not fancy, but clean and very comfortable and just a couple minutes from the Cal Expo. Smelled fresh and clean. Plenty of soft and firm pillows, great bed, slept really well. Breakfast was standard, but hot and fresh (waffle machine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa M, General Manager at Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that all our staff was able to provide you with superior customer service. Our location is great with lots of dining options in walking distance, as well as shopping areas. We all hope you did great on your test, and hope to see you again when you... More 

Valley Springs ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

After checking out of the hotel a front desk clerk "Danielle" made an additional charge on my credit card for $300. I called the hotel and spoke to Danielle who lied and said she was the manager and said I had damaged the room somehow. She could not tell me what was "damaged" and I only slept in the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lisa M, General Manager at Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I’m taking you claim of being over charged seriously. Rest assured that you were not charged for “no Reason” we only charge guest that have smoked in our nonsmoking rooms, or caused some sort of damage. Please contact the hotel to get the exact reason for the charge. Thank you... More 

Nevada, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

A friend of ours suggested this hotel and I am glad that we took her suggestion. My husband and I had booked a room for a week, so we did get a chance to learn a lot about this hotel. First of all, the suites are amazing. They have a small kitchen (no cooking facilities though) a living room and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa M, General Manager at Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Randy and Clyde are both great assets to our company, and where privileged to have them. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon. More 

Fort Gratiot, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The carpet was filthy, if you a walked barefoot your feet were black. The room smelled. the frig was dirty...there was someone elses hair on the bathroom floor....the whole place was old and outdated the air conditioner did not work and it was 90 degrees outside. The door did not shut properly and it had to be slammed and then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa M, General Manager at Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for... More 

Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My stay at this hotel was great. Looking at the pictures online, I wasn't sure but after talking to Angie on the phone and during my stay it exceed all my expectations. The staff, were helpful, the location is central to the huge mall and sites. The hotel is clean and would rate as a high 3 standards for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa M, General Manager at Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and appreciated are staff and there service. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Mobile, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is not a 4 or 5 star hotel. Let's establish that from the start. It's an aging property in a transitional part of town. However, unlike many similar hotels, it still manages to provide a good product. The first thing that caught my eye about this hotel was the price. It was lower than anything else around, which intrigued... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Lisa M, General Manager at Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and the value of our hotel. We are in the process of doing some upgrades to help boost that value for our guest such as you. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Salinas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on September 19th for a 1 night stay. We reserved 1 king bed with suite. When we checked into our Room 119, we discovered there was only 1/4 roll of toilet paper and no bar soap to wash hands or take a shower. When we used the bathroom toilet and flushed it, it made this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lisa M, General Manager at Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I do have to apologize for not exceeding you expectations during your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall and hope to see you again soon More 

San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised to have such warm customer service at late hour. Special mention of the young gentleman Sushant in the front office. Was very quick to check us in one of the suite queen bedroom. He even helped to warm my daughters food at that late hour. Room was very clean and bed was comfortable indeed.Unlike lot of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa M, General Manager at Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed are stay, and enjoyed our wonderful customer service. We are priding ourselves on leading the industry by providing the best service. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (66)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay