We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
236 Jibboom Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    183
    55
    22
    11
See reviews for
116
120
28
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (411)
  • Mar-May only
    (142)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (116)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (80)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (73)
All months
Vonore, Tennessee
Top Contributor
514 reviews 514 reviews
81 hotel reviews
621 helpful votes 621 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at several Best Western hotels on this trip, and I would not rate this one as one of the better ones. There is nothing terrible about it, but it is away from any major attractions or restaurants, it is older, has not yet upgraded to the great beds the others have been putting in rooms, and the breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wexford, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Best Western Sandman was a very convenient motel for our trip to Sacramento. The multi-purpose path along the river passed right behind the Best Western and provided a very nice walk to Old Sacramento and the downtown area. The motel is a quick drive to most of the downtown area with its museums and the State Capitol. Our room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cypress, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

During our two week road trip we stayed at mostly Best Western motels and were very satisfied. However, we were very disappointed in this motel. The room was dirty and the bathroom still had hair on the floor. The local channels on the tv didn't work and when I notified the front desk they were going to call the cable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Alamitos, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of this hotel was very poor. The outside lighting, landscaping, and security control were not good. The interior was great and the staff were courteous, helpful, and informed. The breakfast was great, especially when compared to comparable hotels and even some higher-starred hotels. It was unfortunate that the location of this hotel was so negative.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

We strive to give you a wonderful experience, and I am very happy to discover that you enjoyed your stay; though I regret to hear that you weren't thoroughly impressed with the security and location of our hotel. We appreciate the compliments and the comments regarding areas where we can improve. We can't wait to show you how we continue... More 

Lexington, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I thoroughly enjoy staying here when I'm in town. The hotel is centrally located within a short walk of Old Sacramento, the downtown area, and Ralley Field (a bit long, but walkable). The property has a private secured gate that leads to the bike way that runs along the levee on the Sacramento River. I've walked downtown to the Crest... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

We enjoyed reading your five star review of our hotel and services. I am glad that you enjoyed the value and the convenient location of our hotel! We can't begin to tell you how much we appreciate your five star review, and we can't wait to serve you again! More 

Goleta
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There is a lovely river walk right behind the hotel. This is a great value and location for the average Joe traveler. I saw many traveling families enjoying the pool. There were also construction crews and equipment staying at this hotel. My room was clean and updated. There is a hotel airport shuttle. I have stayed her several times and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

I am glad that you enjoyed the value and the convenient location of our hotel! I can't begin to express how much it means to our management and staff to hear from guests like yourself who have found our accommodations and services to be so welcoming and convenient throughout your many stays. Thank you so much for your loyalty and... More 

Auburn, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed one night at the Sandman on our way home. The place was clean and comfortable. Would recommend one of the rooms on the side of the Sacramento River. It was nice and quiet. The other rooms are probably pretty noisy with the freeway right there. The bathroom looked recently redone and I loved the shower. I don't usually... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While here on Business I wanted to discover what Sacramento has to offer in my spare time. I started with a room on the river with its own-gated entrance to the river walk/ bike path. This path leads to the Railroad museum located in Old Town Sacramento with excellent eateries, ice cream parlors and nick knack shops for all. If... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments and review regarding your most recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel to Old Town Sacramento, excellent eateries, ice cream parlors, and nick knack shops. We seek to give each guest a very comfortable, convenient, and accommodating experience and we are thrilled to... More 

Oakdale, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Older hotel but very clean. Great location - by american river and old sacramento. Good value for what you get. Definitely will be back to this location soon. Gated key entrance to the American River which is great for a nice walk.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and review regarding our high standards of cleanliness. I am glad that you enjoyed the value and the convenient location of our hotel to American River and Old Sacramento. Thank you for sharing this review. More 

seattle
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On the positive side- this place permits dogs, has easy access to the river walk and is reasonably priced. On the negative side, we heard every step of the people above us, the stairs to the walking trail are unevenly spaced, unmarked and somewhat treacherous and the pet area is a small overgrown planter. The breakfast is typical, without anything... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our pet-friendly atmosphere and hospitality. We seek to give each guest a very comfortable and accommodating experience and we are thrilled to hear of our success in this ambition. I am glad that we were able to meet your expectations of service and accommodations and we're all looking forward to your next... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay