We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
236 Jibboom Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel
Add Photo Write a Review

460 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    149
    211
    64
    24
    12
See reviews for
135
137
29
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (460)
  • Mar-May only
    (145)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (162)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (80)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (73)
All months
Tigard, United States
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Motel is overall very good, but their Breakfast leaves a lot to be desired. Felt really safe there and there was a SUPER Mexican Restaurant across the parking lot. It served breakfast also, but you need to like Mexican breakfasts.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Modesto, California
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The fridge and microwave were very dirty.You could tell it had not been cleaned in awhile.The air conditioner was dusty and dirty.it bothered our allergies.I have never stayed in a back room before here.It seems they make more effort with the newer rooms.I have stayed here before and this is the first time I have had a problem.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

We are very sorry about these issues that you had during your recent visit with us. We will definitely discuss these issues with our housekeeping staff and we will make sure that these are worked on immediately. We do hope that you’ll still consider staying with us in the future and we will show you that we take your comments... More 

Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a motel in a string of motels off I-5. There are lots of choices, but this is at the end of the short road. It is close to old Sacramento and downtown is close. A little tired for a Best Western, but it had river park access, breakfast, pool, laundry, fitness center and ....quiet rooms. The staff was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review you have of our hotel. We are so glad to know that you appreciate our efforts of providing you with great amenities. We continuously strive to improve our hotel to better serve you. We do hope that you and your family will get to visit us again in... More 

Redding, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Right on the river trail so walking is easy to Railroad Museum and Old Sacramento. Lots of biking opportunities and nice facility for a few days. We like the proximity to I 5 for easy on and off without worrying about getting lost.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review you have of our hotel. We are so glad to know that our location gives you convenience in doing other activities you want to do in the nearby areas. We are so happy to know that you had a great time with us and we do hope to... More 

Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very quite hotel. Check in was quick and easy. Rooms a little outdated and with too much furniture in the room. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because there was someone's left over food in the fridge and the pool was filthy in the water and the grounds. Towels and garbage everywhere. I would stay again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

We are very sorry about the issues you encountered in your room as well as the observations you had around the place. We do not tolerate such problems and we will definitely discuss this with our housekeeping staff. We will take necessary actions to correct this and prevent it from happening again. We would love to have you back and... More 

San Francisco, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Motel was very comfortable and wonderfully located near the American River park. A great place to stay when travelling with your dog. Great access to a park and with a pet hill with doggy bags for quick trips.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

We are so glad to know that we were able to accommodate yours and your pet’s needs. We are so happy to know that you had a great time with us and we do hope that you’ll consider staying with us again. Thank you so much for your business and we do hope to see you and your family back... More 

Blanden, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good motel, clean rooms with very friendly staff. Nice river walk possible to down town Sacramento. Breakfast is a bit basic but in the expectations of a motel breakfast. Swimming pool is small as well but again within the expectations of a motel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

Our staff would like to thank you for recognizing our efforts of providing you with clean and comfortable accommodations. We hope that you had a nice time with us and we do hope to see you and your family again soon. More 

United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On the outside, except for the entry, this looks like an older motel, but they have made every effort to upgrade the facilities. Our room was clean & spacious, no critters in sight. Everything that we used, including the TV, shower, microwave, and internet worked well. The breakfast area was a little crowded, but the food was decent, eggs, waffles,... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

We are so glad to know that you had a pleasant time with us. We always aim to provide you with the best service that you deserve and we do hope that we were able to serve you well. Thank you so much for your business and we hope to see you again soon. More 

waterford, ca, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed here before and it has improved greatly!!! This is a great place to stay...The restaurant out front helps and the room have apparently been improved. there was nothing wrong at all. This was a great stay!!!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for appreciating our efforts of making our hotel a better place to stay in. We are so glad to know that our hard work is well received. We hope that you’ll continue to choose us to provide for your hotel needs. Please do visit us again soon. More 

common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nothing special stayed 2 nights, top floor, only complaints were the fact that the doors didn't close very well had so push some to get it secure. Also fan in bathroom was very loud. The breakfast is not worth it mystery eggs had a funny taste too them. Not real. Not good. Heard there were hard boiled eggs maybe do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this feedback you have about our hotel. We will definitely look into the issues you mentioned about the door, fan and breakfast and we will make sure to work on them immediately. We hope that you’ll consider staying with us again and we will show you that we take your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.3 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#18 of 83 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#11 of 83 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Sacramento Downtown
Days Inn Sacramento Downtown
#40 of 83 in Sacramento
3.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay