We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Portofino Hotel & Marina

4.0 of 5 260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast for 2 included
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    245
    104
    51
    38
See reviews for
165
281
35
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (777)
  • Mar-May only
    (186)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (210)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (191)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (190)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Portofino Hotel & Marina
See the most recent reviews
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We booked this holiday at a fantastic price and spent the weeks up to departure expecting to be told that there had been a mistake, however this never came and when we arrived at the hotel it was a good as it looked on their website...no..it was even better. Our room was a little small for a family of 4,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review

What wonderful comments! Thank you so much for the beautiful review! We are so pleased that you were able to experience BALEEN and the hotel. Gene is a great addition to the property and we will be sure to let him know you enjoyed his company. Thank you again. We look forward to your next stay. Annelise Holyoak The Portofino... More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Portofino for 3 nights in June. The hotel is near the beach. I went for a jog around the area. The hotel also provides free bicycles for hotel guests. The gym is a little small. The room are pretty but u do have to pay for wifi. It should be free. U can eat at Joe's crab... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review

Thank you for the honest feedback. We appreciate your sincere review. We apologize that the gym was a little small. We encourage guests to use the outdoor running, walking and bike trails in addition to the gym. We also offer complimentary Wi-Fi in our lobby as well as in our Parking & Wi-Fi Package online. Hopefully next time, you will... More 

Colorado
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
41 hotel reviews
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

A nice comfortable hotel, but the fact that they charge $24 for self parking in an unsecured lot andanother $12 for internet access is just annoying. I can see paying for valet parking, but self park as well? Rooms were comforatble and roomy. Great lcoation right on the edge of the harbor. It jsut annoys me that they are following... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review

Thank you for sending us your honest feedback! Our parking and Wi-Fi charges are standard among all full service hotels in the area. We do however offer free Wi-Fi in our hotel lobby! We also offer a Parking & Wi-Fi Package that is a great discounted option. We appreciate your comments about the comfortable rooms and great location. Please come... More 

Plano, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our second floor room had delightful views of the ocean, but also the not so appealing concrete sea wall ringing the property and stone breakwater beyond. To the south is a giant puddle surrounded by sand and thousands of picnickers; to the east the marina, coastal highway and a giant industrial building that looks like something out of a cross... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review

We appreciate your candid opinions. The concrete sea wall and breakwater are essential for safety. Our Ocean Premier rooms and Suites offer optimal views of the ocean. We are thrilled that you were able to experience Hermosa and Redondo Beach! Their close proximity is great for bike riding and walking. The neighborhood seals are a charming part of staying by... More 

Walnut Creek, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We selected this hotel for a recent business meeting. I had not been a guest for 8 years. Really charmed by the location and the meeting room and the hotel is charming, if dated. There were some quirks. There was a banging throughout the hotel that sounded like someone was hitting pipes in the middle of the night commented on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review

We appreciate your honest feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experience was not perfect. We expect all meetings to go flawlessly and yours is not the exception. Please contact your catering manager and explain this situation to them. We are happy to resolve these issues. Thank you for your kind words about the location and cost-effective meeting. We... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Best time ever..love the area and so much to do..very nice and relaxing

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are sincerely glad that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Annelise Holyoak The Portofino Hotel & Marina More 

Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This hotel fullfilled our mission and then some! We have returned 3 times now and love the relaxing atmosphere, beds so comfy and room looking over the harbor, perfect for coffee and kick starting our day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review

Elaine, thank you so much for the great review and visiting us three times! We love when our guests return. Nothing makes us happier than a satisfied visitor! We look forward to your next stay! Annelise Holyoak The Portofino Hotel & Marina More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Great location. The housekeeping staff was great (friendly and accommodating). The room was nice overall; comfortable bed, great water pressure in the shower; and nicely decorated. We were in town on business and stayed here because it’s listed on my husband’s company’s “lists of preferred hotels.” We were very disappointed to learn that even though we were able to book... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. I apologize that you had some difficulty using your business traveler rate. We are happy to offer special rates in advance. However, we must keep some rooms open for our non-business travelers. We are a small boutique hotel and therefore we must manage our inventory closely. If you had... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I think your view on the Portofino really depends on what type of hotel you wanted in the first place and what you make of your trip. So with that in mind: + Beautiful location and scenery Lovely lounge and reception area Gym, pool, hot tub Comp IT room Comp wifi Nearby eateries (Very near a cheesecake factory!) Suites are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Zurich
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
43 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in the Portofino at the start of our 3 week trip through the southwest. As we had booked through Priceline, we got a decent rate for the hotel. Rooms are nice and large with a maritime theme. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We didn't eat at any of the hotel's restaurants - Redondo Beach... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to provide such positive comments! We are pleased that you enjoyed our proximity to Los Angeles. We are a great alternative to staying so close to Hollywood. We do offer a parking & Wi-Fi package on our website. It is a great discount as well as a nice value to our guests. Please visit... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Portofino Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Sea lion(10)
  • Great location(6)
  • Ocean views(6)
  • Parking lot(4)
  • Ground floor(3)
  • Very nice(3)
  • Los Angeles(3)

Additional Information about The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Address: 260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Portofino Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Portofino Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel And Yacht
Portofino Inn Redondo Beach
Portofino Redondo Beach
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Redondo Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Redondo Beach

245 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (227)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (71)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from room (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay