We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 28 Pismo Beach hotels

Sandcastle Inn

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Stimson Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sandcastle Inn to your Saves list
Sandcastle Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
88%
Ranked #9 of 28 hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (617)
  • Photos (242)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (185)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

617 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    163
    53
    12
    15
See reviews for
208
254
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newmaldenfamily
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Fabulous location on the beach. Sadly that's the only positive thing I have to say about this hotel. We booked an ocean front room which was very small with dated decor - as it the case throughout the hotel. The 'spa pool' is dirty and tiny (its described on their website as a 'year round spa'!!). The feel is more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here1 night stop over on a recent trip between LA and San Fran - good location right on Pismo beach. There are two buildings to this hotel and I would recommend staying in the main building as you are closer to the hotel facilities. The breakfast was nothing elaborate and did the job, however it was very nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bass Lake, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I dug for clams in Pismo ,when I was just a small girl, 60 years ago. Beautiful view from Room 215. Easy access with an elevator. Sliding door to the balcony was open all night....affording us to the sound of the surf and a cool breeze, along with a beautiful Sunset over the Pismo Pier. No AC was needed. TV... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review

I'm really pleased that you fully enjoyed your stay with. I'm happy as well that you were able to fully relax to the sound of the surf and our cool ocean breezes, and of course the beautiful sunset over the Pismo Pier. Thanks so much for being our guest. We can't wait to see you again soon. Sincerely, Roger Wightman... More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this hotel not knowing Pismo Beach at all, and not knowing if it would meet the needs of our family (3 kids aged 8,6 and 1; and my disability). However, we were pleasantly surprised. The location is beyond compare - right on the beach, with amazing views of the sunset every night. The room was fine - not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review

I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, from our beach front location with amazing patios overlooking the beach to our helpful staff. We can't wait to have your family as our guests again on your next vacation. Thank you. Sincerely, Roger Wightman General Manager More

Bath, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived at Sandcastle after a very long drive. We were tired and needed a quiet room to relax. We hit a bump in the road upon check in but it was resolved by the general manager, Roger. I was impressed to see his attentiveness in what I know is peak vacation time in Pismo.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review

My staff and I very much appreciate that you chose to stay with us. I'm glad that you enjoyed your family trip with us here at the beach and do look forward to having you visit us again soon. Thanks so much. Sincerely, Roger Wightman General Manager More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights at Sandcastle and it served it's purpose. Because of the properties great location we chose to stay here instead of less expensive locations not on the beach. The room and facilities was more typical of facilities costing a third of what we paid. The rooms are slightly above average and do not have air conditioning,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel, especially your experiences with our great staff and our outstanding service. I would be happy to discuss any further concerns with you directly and look foward to hearing back from you. Thank you. Roger Wightman General Manager More

Roseville, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We love the Sandcastle Inn, which is why it still gets a Very Good rating. But this year, we had some challenges. 1. We had ants in our rooms... Ewww, yuck. They sprayed but we have a couple of people in our group whom are highly allergic and asthmatic. Even after all that we still had ants of for next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am sorry that you were presented with a few challenges during your stay. As as long time guest I do appreciate your understanding and would like the opportunity to discuss this with you further. Please contact me at your convenience. Thank you. Sincerely, Roger Wightman General Manager More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed as a family of six with four teenagers in 1 room. The location is fantastic with a view directly onto the beach. The rooms are slightly faded but clean. The staff were welcoming and helpful. The breakfast is chaotic, self service in a small space, with a waffle machine.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm glad that you enjoyed our beach front location and our welcoming, helpful staff. Thanks for being our guest. Sincerely, Roger Wightman General Manager More

Kettering, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My Family and I stayed here for one night on the 20th July. We stayed in a 2 queen bed beach view apartment. Stunning location and view right on the beach. Generally our stay was uneventful, we didn't get poor service and the room was OK and the 'complimentary breakfast was a welcome addition. My main gripe is that this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our stunning location. While it appears that you were generally satisfied with your stay, it seems that we did not fully meet your expectations. if you are not fully satisfied, we are not satisfied. Please contact me so that I may personally address your concerns. Sincerely, Roger Wightman General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sandcastle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sandcastle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Inn

Address: 100 Stimson Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandcastle Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sandcastle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Inn Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Pismo Beach

242 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (222)
Viewed
View from room (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (64)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (23)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Pismo Beach with
any amenities

Amenities

Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#5 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach #6 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach #6 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach #10 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
There’s so much to see in Pismo Beach and it begins with our property, featuring an upper deck with lounge chairs and a fireplace and some of the best views in the city. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
75

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Sandcastle Inn and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sandcastle Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer