We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 28 Pismo Beach hotels

Sandcastle Inn

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Stimson Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sandcastle Inn to your Saves list
Sandcastle Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
88%
Ranked #9 of 28 hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
  • Reviews (613)
  • Photos (242)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (182)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

613 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    161
    52
    12
    14
See reviews for
206
253
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this hotel not knowing Pismo Beach at all, and not knowing if it would meet the needs of our family (3 kids aged 8,6 and 1; and my disability). However, we were pleasantly surprised. The location is beyond compare - right on the beach, with amazing views of the sunset every night. The room was fine - not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review

I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, from our beach front location with amazing patios overlooking the beach to our helpful staff. We can't wait to have your family as our guests again on your next vacation. Thank you. Sincerely, Roger Wightman General Manager More

Bath, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived at Sandcastle after a very long drive. We were tired and needed a quiet room to relax. We hit a bump in the road upon check in but it was resolved by the general manager, Roger. I was impressed to see his attentiveness in what I know is peak vacation time in Pismo.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review

My staff and I very much appreciate that you chose to stay with us. I'm glad that you enjoyed your family trip with us here at the beach and do look forward to having you visit us again soon. Thanks so much. Sincerely, Roger Wightman General Manager More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for two nights at Sandcastle and it served it's purpose. Because of the properties great location we chose to stay here instead of less expensive locations not on the beach. The room and facilities was more typical of facilities costing a third of what we paid. The rooms are slightly above average and do not have air conditioning,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel, especially your experiences with our great staff and our outstanding service. I would be happy to discuss any further concerns with you directly and look foward to hearing back from you. Thank you. Roger Wightman General Manager More

Roseville, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We love the Sandcastle Inn, which is why it still gets a Very Good rating. But this year, we had some challenges. 1. We had ants in our rooms... Ewww, yuck. They sprayed but we have a couple of people in our group whom are highly allergic and asthmatic. Even after all that we still had ants of for next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am sorry that you were presented with a few challenges during your stay. As as long time guest I do appreciate your understanding and would like the opportunity to discuss this with you further. Please contact me at your convenience. Thank you. Sincerely, Roger Wightman General Manager More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed as a family of six with four teenagers in 1 room. The location is fantastic with a view directly onto the beach. The rooms are slightly faded but clean. The staff were welcoming and helpful. The breakfast is chaotic, self service in a small space, with a waffle machine.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm glad that you enjoyed our beach front location and our welcoming, helpful staff. Thanks for being our guest. Sincerely, Roger Wightman General Manager More

Kettering, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My Family and I stayed here for one night on the 20th July. We stayed in a 2 queen bed beach view apartment. Stunning location and view right on the beach. Generally our stay was uneventful, we didn't get poor service and the room was OK and the 'complimentary breakfast was a welcome addition. My main gripe is that this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our stunning location. While it appears that you were generally satisfied with your stay, it seems that we did not fully meet your expectations. if you are not fully satisfied, we are not satisfied. Please contact me so that I may personally address your concerns. Sincerely, Roger Wightman General Manager More

Hollister, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband booked us a suite at the Sandcastle Inn for a few days after our wedding for our honeymoon. After riding a motorcycle down hwy 1 we were ready to cool down and relax. We checked into our suite and were SEVERLY disappointed in the accomodations. The room was run down, there was NO a/c in the room, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review

While I am happy that my staff was able to relocate you to an air conditioned room for better comfort during your stay with us, I am very sorry that you did not fully enjoy your accommodations. At the Sandcastle Inn, we are committed to 100% guest satisfaction in all areas, and I am confident that this can be resolved... More

Clovis, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I along with several dogs, kids, grandkids, etc. have stayed at the Sandcastle for 25 - 30 years. It is three stories high with a boardwalk near the north end, a "spa" with room for 6 - 7 people. Be sure to wear the courtesy bathrobes which come with the room, for use only. (They sell for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for being such loyal guests.of our beach front pet friendly hotel. We truly appreciate your years of patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Thanks again. Sincerely, Roger Wightman General Manager More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not a great welcome during check-in. Ariel at the front desk needs some customer service training and maybe learn to think outside-the-box. We recently stopped in for a one night stay with one of our friends, whom have been to this hotel several times (this is probably her last time). My friend had made a two room reservations to this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. While I do understand your frustration, I am sure that you will agree that the hotel's primary concern must be the safety and security of our guests. At times, our security measures may result in inconvenience for some travelers. We will do everything we can to minimize this inconvenience and I apologize that you felt... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sandcastle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sandcastle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Inn

Address: 100 Stimson Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandcastle Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sandcastle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Inn Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Pismo Beach

242 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (222)
Viewed
View from room (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (64)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (23)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Pismo Beach with
any amenities

Amenities

Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#5 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach #6 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach #6 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach #7 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
There’s so much to see in Pismo Beach and it begins with our property, featuring an upper deck with lounge chairs and a fireplace and some of the best views in the city. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
75

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Sandcastle Inn and other travelers.
1 question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sandcastle Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer