We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Desperado Inn

Hotel website
2552 Old Grove Ln, Paso Robles, CA 93446 (Formerly The Sundance Inn)
Special Offer
Wine Country Package
Desperado Inn
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    25
    17
    22
    22
See reviews for
8
130
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (169)
  • Mar-May only
    (49)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I loved the Paso Robles area when I was here for business last year. So when my wife found this place I jumped at the chance. We booked a six night stay at the Desperado Inn for our 10 year anniversary. It has been an amazing stay. Tom's a gracious and wonderful host. The property is beautiful and very convenient... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Like other posters here, I read the reviews after purchasing a living social deal. I'm considering asking for our money back, our stay was so poor. Here's our accumulated pros and cons list: Cons • Owner had to be reminded to say good morning the first morning, didn't even acknowledge us the next. You're in the hospitality business, be at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
tomr67, Owner at Desperado Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As the owner of Desperado Inn it can be difficult to hear critical feedback, since we care so much about our customers and want to provide value and satisfaction for every one of them. However, I believe we can always improve, so I will share your thoughts with our team to see how we can... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Overall beautiful place. The room was great, gorgeous view, and central location for other wineries. The complimentary breakfast was delicious. Only issue we had were frozen pipes preventing us from an early shower, but it helped to keep water dripping overnight for the following morning. Also, if you're allergic to cats, like I am, be prepared because there's a house... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Berkeley, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

We had a great time at Desperado Inn. It is a small bed and breakfast, with a nice and friendly atmosphere. The place is located on a beautiful hill with a great view of the area and wineries. The room was clean and well maintained. Also the owner took great care of us and was really nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Santa Maria, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Despite seeing horrible reviews (after I had made the reservation), my husband agreed to go with an open mind and we were so pleasantly surprised and happy to know we had a fabulous time. Very relaxing. Tom and Eva are both very welcoming and friendly people. The view was amazing, despite the rain. Exactly what we were looking for. Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bay area
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

Great location and lots of potential but all the negative reviews are quite accurate. We bought a voucher from living social and stayed here 2 nights. We were greeted by a pleasant lady and the first thing she did was asked us for our credit card so she can charge us 30 dollars for tax. The room was big enough... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Oceanside, California, Usa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

The Desperado Inn in Paso Robles is definitely not worth what Groupon advertised the regular price to be. At over $150 per night (plus the $30 additional fee which was a rip off) we felt we made a mistake in booking it. We did not even get a cursory room clean up for the second night. Everything in the upgraded... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
idaho
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Used a Living Social voucher (finally) after being denied a reservation the first 4 times I tried to book a room. As it turns out, I would have been better off just looking elsewhere. Photos are very nice, but reality isn't as clean nor nearly as luxurious as the photos. The place doesn't feel like a B&B, it feels more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Anaheim, California
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

After purchasing our Living Social voucher for what I had planned on being a wonderful romantic weekend for my husband and I, I should have known something was up when I had to call three times and threaten to contact Living Social for a refund before I was able to book a room. When I spoke to Tom (the owner)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

I purchased this stay through living social prior to reading the reviews, so we went with low expectations. We arrived at 4pm and was greeted by Tom...(I think we woke him up from a nap). Luckily our room had its own private entry and our stay was what we expected by the previous review. Tom was pleasant and hospitable. However,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question