We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Palo Alto

3.5 of 5 4290 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    107
    65
    26
    15
See reviews for
50
33
26
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (313)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (91)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (99)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (59)
All months
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was my second stay at this hotel. As always a great experience. Although it is an old property, it is clean, wifi works like a dream, meals are reasonably good, the shuttle service is free, fantastically convenient and punctual. And of course staff are utterly superb. A special thank you to Tiffany who was most helpful in retrieving the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed one night while visiting family in Palo Alto. The hotel has a very central location. The room was a nice size, big TV, free wifi, modern bathroom. Room had big closet in bathroom also dresser and refrigerator. The bed was comfortable. Staff was friendly. I have no complaints, price was fair. I would make two comments, no room safe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norman O, Manager at Crowne Plaza Palo Alto, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on our family trip. We have safety deposit boxes at the front desk that are available for our guests, but your suggestion of an in-room safe is a good one and we will look into it. We look forward to you and your family coming back! More 

Charleston, West Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here because I got a great rate. I had stayed previously three years ago and had a good experience then, so I figured for the rate, you can’t go wrong. We had a first floor, exterior corridor room. Easy access to the parking lot, which was nice as we had a bunch of luggage. They charge for parking now,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norman O, Manager at Crowne Plaza Palo Alto, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay us. We are glad to hear our room rate was especially attractive to you. As you probably noticed, we have made many changes since you last stayed here three years ago. Currently, we are remodeling our restaurant and lounge. We hope you will be back again! More 

Porterville
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
58 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife stayed here for 4 nights while I was in the hospital, I spent the last night with her in the hotel. I'm loyal to IHG brands and have been a platinum rewards member for 12 years. This hotel was a major disappointment. the hotel is centrally located on the main drag through Palo Alto and Mt View. that's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norman O, Manager at Crowne Plaza Palo Alto, responded to this review

We regret not fulfilling your expectations during your stay at our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the errors on your room service and any inconvenience this caused. We have reviewed our in room dining service with our team to ensure mistakes are eliminated. Sincerely, Norm O., AGM More 

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here for four nights, while visiting my brother, who lives about a mile away. We felt the hotel is "business style", meaning the staff is more comfortably accomodating executives than couples or families. Probably the companies these executives work for don't care paying for their breakfast or $12 per night for overnight self parking ($15... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norman O, Manager at Crowne Plaza Palo Alto, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad to hear our location was convenient for you while visiting your brother. We have a large pool area and families like to spend their time here. We will strive to improve on accommodating non-business travelers. Best regards, Norm O., Asst. GM More 

Gurgaon, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room was a very small one. No breakfast buffet was offered which was a surprise. The only good part was the location of the hotel and its proximity to my workplace. They could have done a better job with regard to room ambience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norman O, Manager at Crowne Plaza Palo Alto, responded to this review

We apologize and regret any misunderstanding on our breakfast buffet. Our breakfast buffet is normally available every morning. However, due to the remodeling of our restaurant and lounge, we have been unable to provide the breakfast buffet. We do have a full breakfast menu available. We hope you will stay with us again when your business travel brings you to... More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Crowne Plaza is now my usual hotel of choice while visiting Palo Alto on business. Very conveniently located right on El Camino Real. Quite like the rooms in the hotel building - pretty spacious, neat and clean. You feel like you're part of history where their claim to fame is that the Beatles stayed there in 1963 and Vinton Cerf... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norman O, Manager at Crowne Plaza Palo Alto, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and noticing the history of the Crowne Plaza Cabana. We have started the remodeling of our restaurant, bar/lounge, and ballroom. We will also be updating our restaurant menu which will include our in-room dining choices. We hope to have you back and see the changes. Best regards, Norm O., Asst. GM More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

PROS: The Crowne Plaza hotel featured clean rooms, that didn't feel cramped. Beds that were unusually comfortable. The cleaning staff that went above and beyond to ensure that the room was extra clean. CONS: The restaurant staff wasn't very attentive. It took awhile to be seated, and even longer to get a glass of water.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norman O, Manager at Crowne Plaza Palo Alto, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize for the experience you had in our restaurant. Our restaurant staff took to heart your comments and will definitely strive to improve their service. We are in the midst of remodeling our restaurant and hope to have another chance to serve you in a new setting. Sincerely, Norm O., Asst. GM More 

Newberg, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

I tagged along with my husband while he attended a conference at this hotel. It's a nice enough hotel with what appeared to be nice facilities. The room was nice enough also. My only complaints were that I brought our 3 month old along and that presented a few challenges as there are no microwaves in the rooms to warm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norman O, Manager at Crowne Plaza Palo Alto, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments on our hotel and staff. I have brought to our team's attention on providing a microwave for our guests. We also have reviewed our procedure on relaying late check-out information to the appropriate personnel to ensure our guests are not disturbed. We hope you had a wonderful visit to Palo Alto while your husband... More 

California Gold County
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

This is an old hotel in good shape that is is very clean. The Beatles once stayed here! We've always had friendly and helpful service. There is a nice bar and restaurant. Our rooms have varied depending on what has been available. We have been upgraded to some very nice rooms. This is a very expensive area for hotels and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norman O, Manager at Crowne Plaza Palo Alto, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Palo Alto for your visits to Stanford Hospital. We realize there are other hotels in the area and are glad you find us be one of the best values. We are doing some remodeling over the winter and hope you will be back to enjoy the changes! Best regards, Norm O., Asst. GM More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Crowne Plaza Palo Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Palo Alto

Address: 4290 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Palo Alto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Palo Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto Hotel Palo Alto
Palo Alto Crowne Plaza
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Palo Alto

151 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (79)
Viewed
Room/suite (38)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay