We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Palo Alto

Hotel website
Hotel deals
4290 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Add Photo Write a Review

383 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    141
    118
    74
    32
    18
See reviews for
65
41
29
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (383)
  • Mar-May only
    (95)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (125)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (98)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

For my daughter's wedding, we selected the Crown Plaza as the hotel for the out of town guests and the wedding party. It is a beautiful hotel with a great pool and bar area. The rooms are wonderful especially the suites. The hotel personnel were extremely helpful in coordinating the rooms (allowing us to open the wedding block up for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This has got to be one of the worst hotels I've stayed at in twenty years. Room smelled, terrible decor, shabby interior design, uncomfortable pillows...Lets see what else can I tell you to convince you this place has a horrible feel and ambiance. Save your money and stay in a Motel 6 as at least you won't feel ripped off.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The Crowne Plaza was wonderful to us. We were there for 5 days for a wedding with family and friends. We met Jonathan Araujo, the Food and Beverage Manager. He provided excellent service with a smile and yes a few jokes. He made us feel welcome and became a new friend. Also, the breakfast was as good as it looked,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norman O, Manager at Crowne Plaza Palo Alto, responded to this review

Wow, we are excited to hear about your experience with us. We are very proud of our team, and have shared your delightful comments with them and Jonathan as well. Jonathan is a wonderful member of our team and we appreciate you recognizing him for his engaging spirit! Thank you for staying with us. More 

Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is my first time staying at the Crowne Plaza in Palo Alto, I usually stay at other hotels. I decided to give this hotel a try and I can not believe I haven't stayed here before. I stayed a week for a business trip with a little leisure as well. Walking in, I was greeted by the valet attendees... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norman O, Manager at Crowne Plaza Palo Alto, responded to this review

We are thrilled to hear about your experience on our staff, rooms and foods. We are especially glad to hear that you mention our team members by name as they definitely deserve the recognition for their service. Thank you for giving us the opportunity and look forward to your return! More 

Berlin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

So like most of the Palo Alto hotels, you're paying a high premium for location - and not much else. The first room they gave me was facing the parking lot on the ground floor and the deadbolt didn't function. The second room had a free standing AC unit with a tube out the window so the shutters wouldn't close... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norman O, Manager at Crowne Plaza Palo Alto, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with our rooms. We have discussed your comments with our engineering team and IT Manager. We take this very seriously and always looking for ways to improve the guest experience. We are glad to hear that you had the opportunity to enjoy the food trucks on Monday. Thank you for staying with... More 

Palo Alto, California
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Came in on a whim one Sunday to have breakfast since the our usual Sunday spot had a long wait time. We found they had a Sunday brunch for $29.95 which includes Champagne Mimosa's and/or Bloody Mary's. After being greeted by the Restaurant Manger, Jonathan, who graciously welcomed us to come in a take a look at the brunch buffet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norman O, Manager at Crowne Plaza Palo Alto, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear about your experience with our Sunday Champagne Brunch. We are especially glad to hear that you mention Jonathan and his team for the excellent service they had provided. Your comments have been shared with Jonathan, Chef and the team. Thank you for joining us for Brunch and hope to see you soon again. More 

Longmont, Colorado
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family had never stayed at a Crown Plaza, and many of the 160 Wedding guests stayed in the hotel. Although the wedding and reception was not held in the hotel, the Customer Service, especially Jonathan Araujo, was Outstanding. We couldn't have asked for a better person to graciously help with any request or questions we had. The hotel staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norman O, Manager at Crowne Plaza Palo Alto, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments about your experience with our team. We have shared your remarks with Jonathan, who was delighted to hear he was able to help make your stay more enjoyable. Thank you for staying with us. More 

Olalla, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I brought a team from WA to Palo Alto for business, and booked the Crowne Plaza based on previous traveler reviews. For 4 nights, I stayed in a beautiful executive business suite on the 8th floor overlooking the courtyard and pool. Front desk and management personnel were stellar. After a long day of travel, we were greeted with free wine-tasting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norman O, Manager at Crowne Plaza Palo Alto, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments on our staff, amenities and food. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy your stay and experience the local area. We truly appreciate you staying with us and letting us know about your experience. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here on business for 4 nights. The room was very spacious and clean. Had all the amenities one would need while on a business trip. Staff were incredibly kind--great customer service. Had great dinner recommendations from the front desk. Staff even drove us to downtown Palo Alto AND picked us up. I would definitely stay here again! I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norman O, Manager at Crowne Plaza Palo Alto, responded to this review

Wow, we are happy to hear about your experience with our team, your stay and our food. We are especially glad to hear that you were able to spend time with many wonderful members of our team. Your comments have been shared and we are thrilled we were able to make your experience enjoyable. Thank you for sharing your ideas... More 

Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived at the hotel in the afternoon and were pleasantly surprised with fruit, cookies, and flavored waters. The front desk was help and recommend several dinning establishments . We also had several drink at the bar and Javier the Bartender was great!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norman O, Manager at Crowne Plaza Palo Alto, responded to this review

We are thrilled to hear about your experience during your stay. We are happy to hear you were able to enjoy our amenities and able to spend time with Javier. Javier is wonderful! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

286 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (75)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (211)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (121)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.2 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#3 of 26 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
1.2 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#9 of 26 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#8 of 26 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 stars 492 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
#6 of 26 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay