We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Berbeda Place

3339 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Berbeda Place
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    16
    7
    2
    4
    7
See reviews for
1
1
12
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (36)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Palo Alto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

Check-in was super friendly. Although a motel, it has a family type ambiance. All rooms are on ground level. Room was super clean - comfortable bed-linen.I saw the hotel the mixed reviews and was a little concerned b4 I arrived. I need not have been concerned. If your disposition is to see the glass as half full... then you will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mike P, General Manager at Berbeda Place, responded to this review

Dear raydm2015, Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are so delighted that you had such a wonderful experience at our hotel in our Signature Superior Room (Rm 27), which is a mid century modern themed room. It was our pleasure to serve you and should you visit Palo Alto again in the... More 

Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

The room was okay and clean - nothing to complain or brag about. However, the staff made it a point to make the 4-night stay end in a nightmare. They added on unnecessary charges without informing me, and when I questioned about it politely at the checkout, the manager started raising his voice, and then out of nowhere asked me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mike P, General Manager at Berbeda Place, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Aayush Kumar, An overwhelming number of guests have enjoyed their stay at our quaint establishment partly in fact due to our transparent hotel policies that make for a pleasant boutique environment, some which you failed to adhere to for which you were charged/penalized (management had kindly brought this to your attention at the very beginning of your stay... More 

Travelers are raving about these Palo Alto hotels

UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015 via mobile

Okay this is a more motel than hotel but don't let this put you off. The owner checked me in and made me feel very welcome and informed me that he had already upgraded my room. The room I was given was clean and well maintained. The room service was very efficient too. One thing which a lot of hotels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike P, General Manager at Berbeda Place, responded to this review

Dear Zedbiker from the UK, Sorry for the late response! Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are all delighted that you had such a positive experience at our hotel and that we met your expectations in every regard. As to your comment regarding the sign, it was necessary to do so as we have... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

The room was beautiful... but the carpet had a weird rubbery feel, the walls thin and the heater noisy. But it's impossible to find a room for less than a fortune in Palo Alto and that was the only place I could find!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike P, General Manager at Berbeda Place, responded to this review

Dear Stephan from Toronto, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. I apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory. Thank you for your compliments on our 'beautiful motel and rooms'. We have worked really hard to get to this point thus are truly concerned with your feedback. In regards to your comment about the... More 

New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Our employees frequently stay at Berbeda Place while doing business in Palo Alto. In preparation for their trip I work with Mike Jr. to make all reservations, and he always makes reserving rooms easy and offers a great rate. In addition, I can always reach him if I need to make a special request for a room, add on more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

It's a great, family-run establishment with all the necessities - clean rooms, clean bathrooms, iron, hair dryer, flat screen TV. A great hidden gem that I would recommend to anyone looking for a no-frills, no-nonsense place to stay in Palo Alto.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mount Airy, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I see the other reviews and they seem a bit harsh. I was actually surprised that the room was as clean as it was. I looked for 'surprises' and couldn't find any. Granted, this isn't the Hilton. However, it had a very clean bathroom/shower, nice clean/big bed, huge TV (that I never used), a clean/working iron/ironing board and air conditioning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Guildford
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Do not book this MOTEL. It is not a hotel and the rate at $275 a night is outrageous. I arrived and then spent the next 2 hours trying to find somewhere else to stay. The sheets were dirty and smelt like someone else had already slept in them, not to mention hairs! I have nothing positive to say about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

This is really is just a motel: small rooms and a place to park the car. On the plus side, my room was clean, had a comfortable bed, big flat screen TV. How small was the room? i could just about reach from the bed through the window to start my car. it also had an old battery in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mead, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed here on a business trip. It was the only hotel available for the dates I needed. Upon checkin I realized the hotel was not in a good part of town and only offered ground level roome. The room interior was ok however the shower was disgusting. It had black stuff growing in it and the room smelled old.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
0.1 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#9 of 26 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#3 of 26 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stanford Motor Inn
Stanford Motor Inn
#15 of 26 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Stanford Terrace Inn
Stanford Terrace Inn
#20 of 26 in Palo Alto
3.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
2.3 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#2 of 26 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay