We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Zen Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
4164 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306
Offers & Announcements
$10, $20 or $30 OFF
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Zen Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Zen Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

207 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    96
    87
    13
    10
    1
See reviews for
71
32
18
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (207)
  • Mar-May only
    (47)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (60)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (50)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Zen Hotel
See the most recent reviews
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

The motel is certainly neat and clean. The service is adequate & breakfast is included. However, the prices are outrageous for what you are getting. We booked in advance and paid $250 per night. Next time we'll stay somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ricberr, General Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Roger B, Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay. I am sorry we did not meet your value expectations as compared to the price you paid. Please allow me to take this opportunity to elaborate on what happens behind the scenes when setting our rates, as we want to make sure to provide you with our point... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

While looking like a motel on exterior, don't be quick to judge a book by its cover as the Zen Hotel delivers far more. The hotel concierge was extremely hospitable and clarified any doubts we had. The room was well furnished and kept extremely tidy. They were very helpful in providing an extra bed to accommodate everyone. Facilities also included... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ricberr, General Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shaunslipshy, Thank you for sharing your positive experience during your stay at The Zen Hotel. I am very glad we were able to provide you with a quiet and comfortable stay and that your interactions with our team were all satisfactory. As we continue to enhance our services and amenities, it is a great validation of our efforts to... More 

Rancho Santa Margarita, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

The grounds were nice and quite. The rooms were clean with upgrades and the gym had new equipment. The only problem is that our TV remote did not work so later that evening they changed us to another room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ricberr, General Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Aylujan, Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate all comments and are happy to see that we were able to deliver a quiet, comfortable stay. I am also glad to know that you were able to enjoy our newly renovated fitness center as well as the extras included in your room, such as L’occitane toiletries and complimentary robes... More 

New York
Level Contributor
182 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

My first impression of the Zen Hotel was just so-so...it did look like an ok motel (as some previous reviewers had commented) as we were driving onto the property late at night..but was I taken by the amenities and service! We stayed in a deluxe queen room with two queen beds. Room was clean, large and comfortable; definitely spacious enough... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ricberr, General Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MK330, Thank you very much for your glowing review of our hotel. It is great to know that you and your family enjoyed yourselves and had a restful night’s sleep. I’d also like to thank you for highlighting our amenities and extras, as well as our Zen Garden. I am glad that you were able to stay multiple days... More 

Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

We give this hotel 5 stars in every category. It is a converted motel so we didn't know what to expect but the price was right. The location is perfect for visiting the Computer History Museum and Stanford. The grounds are superb -- bamboo, waterfalls and fountains galore! The staff was incredibly kind and worked with our requests. THe breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ricberr, General Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear stellazina, Thank you very much for rating us with a five out of five. We are very glad that we delivered a good experience on your first visit to The Zen Hotel. The implementation of amenities such as L’Occitane toiletries and our fresh smoothies for breakfast have been greatly welcomed by our guests. Your feedback encourages us to keep... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Is this place the Ritz Carlton? No but it also isn't meant to be that type of hotel. Is small, charming, very clean with the friendliest and most helpful staff. During our checkin, Jennifer at the counter went through all the amenities that the facility has to offer (small but awesome gym!) and addressed a minor registration issue. Issues can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ricberr, Front Office Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alex L., Thank you very much for all of your delightful comments. I am very happy to see that all of our attention to detail and commitment to customer service did not go unnoticed during your recent visit. We understand that you have a multitude of lodging options in the area and find that the small touches, quality amenities... More 

Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

This is my first visit to the Zen Hotel, we were there due to the proximity to Stanford University. Check in was fast, there were apples and cookies greeting us on arrival. Rooms have all LED lighting, and plenty of plugs for charging accessories. Common areas include a Zen garden with outdoor seating, exercise room, and breakfast/lounge area. Included breakfasts... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ricberr, General Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear nitrousedEdB, Thank you for your generous review. I am glad that your first visit to The Zen Hotel was an enjoyable one. It is great to see that your arrival was welcomed with an efficient check-in and you found our complimentary sweets enjoyable. I am also very pleased to learn that our recently expanded breakfast menu and that our... More 

Tustin, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

Our family of 4 adults shared a room with two queen beds. Everyone slept great and were very comfortable. Breakfast was better than the average "free breakfast" at most hotels. Daily changes to the menu was a nice touch as were the tasty fruit smoothies they put out each morning. Only thing missing was a workout room (that I could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ricberr, Front Office Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SCfan88, Thank you for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community. Our main goal is to provide a ‘home away from home’ and a great night’s sleep. Seeing your comments helps reinforce that we are doing our job achieving it. It is also terrific to see that you and your family enjoyed our daily breakfast buffet. Our fresh fruit... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

I really enjoyed staying here the staff are all very nice and so very helpful. Ryan was very helpful and attentive to all of the first needs. The B&B has free WiFi access throughout the entire grounds does not matter where you are on the grounds you always have a strong reliable signal does not matter whether you are resting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ricberr, Front Office Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kawika J, Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments on your recent stay. We all enjoy hearing such positive feedback from our satisfied guests. I am happy to see that our recently upgraded WiFi provided you with a consistently reliable internet signal throughout the property. It is also a pleasure to see your glowing remarks on the breakfast as... More 

Lake Oswego, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

I stayed one night while on a business trip. I had booked through Hotwire, which normally has a no changes policy. When I got off the plane at SFO, I realized I had booked for the wrong week. I called the hotel and Ryan Aldridge, the Day Manager, got me a room for the night. He then assisted in canceling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ricberr, Front Office Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peyton S., Thank you very much for your kind words. It is great to see that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. It was my pleasure to personally assist you through your reservation complications with a third party and I am glad that we were able to help you achieve a favorable resolution. We look forward to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay