We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oak Motel Palo Alto

4279 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306
Hotel amenities
Oak Motel Palo Alto
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Palo Alto
Add Photo Write a Review

25 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    1
    7
    5
    6
    6
See reviews for
2
6
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (25)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Tuolumne, California
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

The staff is rude, the rooms are old and smelly. Not up to fire code either. The bathtub was full of mold and the bed very lumpy and squeeky. Booked through expedia, got a refund it was so bad. No smoke detector or emergency exit signs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diana J, Owner at Oak Motel Palo Alto, responded to this review

Hi, Lisa. It sounds like we've already addressed most of your concerns in the review below, and we're sorry if you weren't more impressed with your stay, but once again let us emphasize that we do indeed have smoke detectors in each room and all rooms are up to fire and safety codes. The last thing we'd ever want is... More 

Tuolumne, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Was looking for an inexpensive room to stay in after having a procedure at the VA Palo Alto Hospital as we live 175 miles away. The room was horrible......staff is rude!! Shower full of mold, reserved a smoking room, got non smoking. The motel was full so could not change rooms. The room was old and smelled weird. Dirty curtains... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diana J, Owner at Oak Motel Palo Alto, responded to this review

We really wish you'd been more impressed with your stay, because this is never the experience we want our guests to have, and we're sorry if there were any miscommunications between you and our staff while you were here. It sounds like there were some issues with your room that we would have been more than happy to get sorted... More 

Travelers are raving about these Palo Alto hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We didn't book a motel in advance and ended up in this motel. $110 including tax for this room is far overpriced. As others suggested,the owners are rather scary and very unhelpful. We stayed in the comfort inn two days later-lovely room and breakfast plus is was cheaper despite not booking in advance! Please don't bother with this motel!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Diana J, Owner at Oak Motel Palo Alto, responded to this review

Unhelpful is never what we want to hear. We're sorry if our staff didn't make you feel welcome here. We're starting to remodel the motel right now so we can offer you a better stay in the future. I hope you'll come try out our new and improved rooms! All the best, Oak Motel More 

Visalia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

To be honest it was passable because I was traveling with 2 other guys on a road trip for the UCLA vs. Stanford game and it did the trick. However, not a place to take your wife and kids. It was expensive because of the game and it was homecoming. Not worth half the price we paid. Small rooms, old... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Diana J, Owner at Oak Motel Palo Alto, responded to this review

We're so disappointed to hear this. While we're glad it did the trick while you were in town for the game, just passable is never what we like to hear. Are you in the area often? We're currently renovating so we'd love to have you back and see what you think of our updated rooms! Hoping to have you back,... More 

Fresno, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The lower level units revealed a high degree of sound from the unit above. A little tight in interior space but worked for one person if all you were going to do was sleep. The comfort of the bed was very good and the shower provided very good water pressure, just a little tight in room. The room was set-up... More 

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Diana J, Owner at Oak Motel Palo Alto, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us, Phillip. We're happy to hear that your stay with us was a good one. We're actually renovating right now, so hopefully next time you stay with us will be less cramped and even more comfortable! Hope to have you back soon, Oak Motel More 

Yorba Linda, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Absolutely the worst experience I have ever had! Disgusting rooms, smelly and dirty! Management is extremely rude and on the scary side! DO NOT STAY HERE! It is dirty and not safe! If no other choice, stay in your car! At least you will not have to worry about scary managers and rats in your room! Run from this place,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Diana J, Owner at Oak Motel Palo Alto, responded to this review

As you can imagine, I'm disheartened to hear this, Monica. We hold our cleaning staff to a high standard, so I'm disappointed that your room wasn't up to par. We've heard your complaints and are working on remodeling right now. I hope you'll give us another shot next time you're in Palo Alto and come see our new amenities! Hoping... More 

Yorba Linda, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Wow. not worth even $20 per night. This is a scam hotel. Dirty , disgusting, dishonest. You stay here because the jail is full for the night. The manager was abusive. Many reviews online make the same thing clear.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Diana J, Owner at Oak Motel Palo Alto, responded to this review

While we always welcome constructive feedback, it’s truly disappointing to read this review. It’s disheartening to hear you found our hotel “dirty,” “disgusting,” and “dishonest” as that’s not feedback we typically receive, nor is it the impression we wish to leave on our guests. We would never dream of disrespecting our guests, and cringe hearing you’d prefer a jail cell... More 

Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a place to stay for the night, nothing more. Despite being less than I would like, I've stayed here more than once because of the location and the price, since all I wanted was a nights sleep. Pluses: The prices are fairly reasonable as compared with motels of equal quality in this area some of which have doubled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I was told by my boss, who gave a high rate. So I chose this motel this time with my family. It is really very close to my company, and price is reasonable. The free breakfast is also acceptable, Mike, coffee, bread and donuts are all offered. It would be great if eggs can be added to its' breakfast. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Central Valley, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

the room was so gross, snot stains on the wall. please don't ever go, sleep in your car if you must! at 1. I heard a shuffle going through my bags and that's when I had enough. I went to the front counter and asked for a 10 percent refund on my credit card and he told me ”No”! I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay