We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Monroe Palm Springs

2.0 of 5 1900 N Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92262 (Formerly Palm Springs Super 8 Lodge)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Monroe Palm Springs
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Monroe Palm Springs
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    60
    21
    5
    8
See reviews for
31
47
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (134)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
Altadena, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I enjoyed a one night stay during a very busy weekend when few other hotels were available. After reading several mixed reviews on The Monroe, I reluctantly made a reservation as choices were becoming slimmer. Upon arrival, however, I was pleasantly surprised. I arrived a bit early, and even though my original room was not yet ready, the staff went... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Denise D, General Manager at The Monroe Palm Springs, responded to this review

Dear Jacqueline, Thank you so much for your fair and honest review; we truly do our best to provide the best experience we can on behalf of our guests. I am pleased to hear that my staff was able to accommodate you with another room. If I may I would like to address two of your comments as it is... More 

Menifee, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Never stayed here before, had a great price and location for our needs. Room was very clean, smelled fresh, and comfortable bed/pillows with free WiFi. Very nice staff, and free breakfast vouchers for a restaurant across the street which consisted of eggs, hash browns/toast and coffee. They also offer oatmeal, granola bars and coffee/tea/juice on property in the front office.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

we had a pleasant stay here. we stayed three nights. the breakfast vouchers for the diner across the street were definitely a highlight. front desk staff were extremely friendly. i would absolutely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

We was excited to stay here, that changed quickly. We got to room kicked off shoe (clean feet mind you) , layed on bed, after getting to unpack a few items, lay back down on bed my significant other say " did you go outside barefooted" i looked at my feet, solid black. I mopped floor with a wet towel,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Denise D, General Manager at The Monroe Palm Springs, responded to this review

Dear Foxoklahoma, Let me first begin with an apology regarding your stay, we are truly sorry for any inconveniences that you experienced. Most importantly, I would like to address the situation with regard to your floors as it is currently a problem that we are facing and trying to address. In effort to create a cleaner, more hypo-allergenic environment when... More 

Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

We were looking for a place that wouldn't break the bank for New Years Eve/ New Years Day. This was one of the most affordable hotels and the online pics were very nice. The outside kind of looks like a Motel 6 which may make you second guess the choice). You can tell that there was some effort to modernize... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Denise D, Public Relations Manager at The Monroe Palm Springs, responded to this review

Hello, We are glad you decided to stay at our hotel and that you noticed our renovations and our affordable rates. We have just completed the cabanas and water/fire feature by our pool area. In addition we have a spa room for treatments and massages. The city also now has a free shuttle to downtown and it stops right in... More 

Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

My first night was superb. The noise and light from street were not noticeable at all. The second night the water in the bathroom wall or bathroom ran loudly on and off for most of the night. I had to call the front desk at 3am but could not get the remedy in time for the night's sleep. Otherwise good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denise D, Public Relations Manager at The Monroe Palm Springs, responded to this review

Hi David, Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you had a good stay with us. Although we have not had any comments about loud water running, we are having maintenance check the water situation in your room. We now offer spa treatments and massages. We have cabanas by the pool and a water /fire feature. We are... More 

Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

Good: - clean - dog friendly - near parking - bed is ok comfortable Bad: - update not great. Still has motel6 feel - noise from adjacent busy streets loud (it's located between 2 busy streets) - fan in bathroom sounds like a jet (and will wake everyone in room) - TV only has old analog channels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denise D, Public Relations Manager at The Monroe Palm Springs, responded to this review

Hi C Dennen, Glad you noticed the good things about our hotel. We are happy you found the beds comfortable and the hotel and grounds were clean. We are on the main street in Palm Springs which is very convenient for most people but we apologize if it was noisy There now is a free shuttle to downtown that conveniently... More 

Fort Irwin, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

My decision to stay at the Monroe Palm Springs was a last minute decision but I'm glad they had a room available. I was fortunate to find a great Hotel that was reasonable priced, and not to mention 2 free breakfast vouchers and breakfast lasted til 12 noon! I mean who does that? And it was real, get you full... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Denise D, Public Relations Manager at The Monroe Palm Springs, responded to this review

Hi Shontrice, We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that you discovered our style on a budget hotel. The floors were put in for sanitary and environmental reasons as well as giving the rooms a modern feel, so your comments about them are right on. Next time you stay with us you may want... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

The front area and the lobby were nice. The room itself was renovated nicely but there were things that were a bit of a nuisance. For one thing, our door was crooked (a gap could be seen) and I had to use the weight of my thigh to close it shut. The safe didn't work so I carried my valuables... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Denise D, Public Relations Manager at The Monroe Palm Springs, responded to this review

Hello, Glad you liked our lobby and rooms. The entire hotel was renovated to be fresh and contemporary with the environment in mind. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast and found the beds comfy. Making our guests comfortable and happy is a number one priority. Sorry about the safe not working. We always send someone to check the safe... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Along the road that enters Palm Springs is The Monroe easy to find. The hotel has a very basic reception but it's all clean and tidy. Parking is good and the view is even better. We had a room with two queen beds, it was quite small but it worked out well. Noting to complain about. Stayed for two nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Denise D, Public Relations Manager at The Monroe Palm Springs, responded to this review

Hi Kenneth, We are happy that you found our location easy to find. Palm Springs now has a trolley that stops right in front of the hotel and takes you right downtown. Although some prefer to walk, this free shuttle service is a big plus for our guests. We are lucky to be right next to the beautiful mountains here.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Monroe Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monroe Palm Springs

Address: 1900 N Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92262 (Formerly Palm Springs Super 8 Lodge)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Monroe Palm Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Monroe Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay