We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Monroe Palm Springs

1900 N Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92262 (Formerly Palm Springs Super 8 Lodge)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with HotelsClick to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Monroe Palm Springs
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Monroe Palm Springs
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    48
    73
    29
    5
    9
See reviews for
37
61
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (164)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
Palm Springs, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Affordable hotel with nice clean and comfortable rooms. The pool area is a very pleasant place to relax. I liked having a sitting area outside my door. The staff was pleasant and very helpfull. Not right in the middle of all the activities in town, but very close. I liked not being in the middle of everything, but the fact... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Hollywood, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I usually visit Palm Springs and stay at my son's home, but since he had a full house for the weekend, I booked a room at The Monroe. Check in was easy, the room was clean and very modern and the bed was very comfortable. This morning I went to the pool area and met a great couple from Seattle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Big Bear Lake, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I visit Palm Springs often and have stayed at different hotels. I booked at The Monroe, checked in Friday afternoon and enjoyed every minute of my stay. Friendly staff, nice room, nice pool area. I picked up a pool towel and mentioned I forgot sun screen, the friendly girl at the front desk handed me a bottle with a smile... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Okay, I was expecting a boutique style motel, the pictures looked amazing. Now to be fair, it was not very expensive, but not dirt cheap either but it didn't look like the photos and I was disappointed. The rooms desperately need updating...it was a bit shabby and the walls are thin!! We were only staying one night en route to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We went the adult play ground in the desert Palm Spings Ca. It was spare of the moment thing, we pick this hotel on line a boutique hotel The Monroe pics on line look extremely nice, well not so much in person, but ok still nice we changed rooms a few times things wasn't tidy enough for me, second room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denise D, General Manager at The Monroe Palm Springs, responded to this review

Dear Dohair, Thank you for your review; of course we are disappointed that you felt as if our pictures were not a true reflection of our hotel, these are photographs all taken within the past two years during various stages of renovation; also evidenced by the photography taken by our guests. As for the door, I do apologize; you will... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There seem to be lots of similar motels in Palm Springs to choose from and ended up choosing this one for a night. The accommodation was fine and perhaps a bit more modern in style than is typically on offer in the USA. It was very quiet when I stayed and there is a nice pool area with a view... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denise D, Public Relations Manager at The Monroe Palm Springs, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. You are correct that our hotel is modern since we had a huge renovation recently. We like to consider our hotel as “style on a budget”. We are happy you liked the location and the pool and its surroundings. Next time you come you can use the cabanas by the pool and enjoy a... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

We enjoyed our stay at The Monroe. The pool area is really nice. The staff is helpful. The hotel is kept very clean. The beds are comfortable. The free breakfast across the street is great. The hotel, however, is not soundproof. So we could hear people talking outside our room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Denise D, Public Relations Manager at The Monroe Palm Springs, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the pool and cabanas, the beds and the breakfast at Rick’s Restaurant. We are glad you liked our staff and that you noticed that our hotel is very clean. We are sorry about the noise. Although we do not get many complaints about noise, next time... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

We booked this hotel on the advise of a friend. It was our anniversary, and we booked it over a week in advance. We were promised a poolside suite. We were traveling with our extremely well behaved dogs. We told the hotel this and they offered to charge for only 1 dog, which I thought was nice. We called 3... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denise D, General Manager at The Monroe Palm Springs, responded to this review

On behalf of the Monroe Palm Springs I wish to express our sincere apologies; as a pet owner who travels quite frequently with my dog, I can completely understand your disappointment. However as a manager of a hotel, I must commit to maintaining certain standards that which affects all of our clientele. For that reason, we dedicate certain rooms as... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights, one night through Groupon and one night purchased through the Trip Advisor app, the transaction was flawless. We were placed in a lower level, poolside room. The room was much better than anticipated, wood floors, comfortable bed and patio chairs outside the door. We spent much time in the pool area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Denise D, Public Relations Manager at The Monroe Palm Springs, responded to this review

Hi Brian, We are glad to hear that you will return and recommend our hotel to others. Thank you. We are happy you got to enjoy the pool, cabanas and music. We are always in the process of adding to our many amenities so we are happy when guests notice them. Next time you come you may want to take... More 

Flagstaff, AZ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

I appreciate that investors will buy old hotels/motels and restore them rather then build a new structure. And the mid-century architecture is definitely part of Palm Springs' charm, so in no way was I concerned that the Monroe was an old Best Western. Also, I understand that most investors can't come in and redo 100% of a place before they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay