We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunset Inn

Certificate of Excellence
133 Asilomar Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunset Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sunset Inn
Add Your Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    186
    60
    26
    18
See reviews for
44
326
28
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (499)
  • Mar-May only
    (99)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (162)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (150)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (88)
All months
Paso Robles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Excellent stay with great staff. Small issues were quickly addressed by the staff. The location was quiet and easy to find and the entire stay was perfect. 17 mile drive around pebble beach was very close and was beautiful! We will be back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael G, General Manager at Sunset Inn, responded to this review

Hi Michael, Thank you for the nice comments. I enjoyed our conversation about the great wines and music you have in Paso Robles. I'm glad you had a great trip here and I can't wait to see you the next time you visit :) Michael More 

San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I checked out of the Sunset Inn earlier this week and had a very enjoyable stay. I work in Travel with hotels and tour them all the time. What makes this one stand out is the very friendly new owner & service at the front desk. The rooms are all updated and I love the stone floors and shower in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael G, General Manager at Sunset Inn, responded to this review

Hi Kelsey, Thank you for writing such a nice review. I know that working in the lodging business yourself that you have your choice of many places to stay. We are honored that you chose the Sunset Inn. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Pacific Grove :) Michael More 

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The town of Pacific Grove is a delightful escape from the overly intense tourist mecca that is Monterrey -- particularly since the two towns are just a stone's throw away from one another. The Sunset Inn was the perfect place to stay. The extremely kind and friendly new owners are bound to make this "the" place to stay on the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael G, General Manager at Sunset Inn, responded to this review

Hi Annette! Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. I really enjoyed getting to know you and Peter during our Friday/Saturday complimentary wine & cheese evening. I hope you had a great trip back to Chicago and I look forward to seeing you at your next stay at the Sunset Inn :) Michael More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Michael and the new crew that have taken over the Inn are fantastic. Very attentive and friendly. Wine and cheese cocktail hour in the evenings and a simple breakfast offering in the mornings, but the food in town is fantastic. There are local favorites serving a wide variety of delicious cuisine. Just ask the staff and they'll tell you. We... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Sunset Inn is under new ownership as of beginning of March 2015. Can't do anything about previous ownership and management. The new owners are wonderful. They are on the propety everyday making sure the focus is on the customer. Our room was very clean and comfortable. We had a king bed, fireplace (run by thermostat), 42" Vizio TV, rain head... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Michael G, General Manager at Sunset Inn, responded to this review

Hi Ken, We appreciate the positive feedback and I'm glad you had a great time. It was a pleasure getting to know you and your wife this past week. You were so nice and we hope to see you again over the summer :) Michael Sunset Inn More 

Morris
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Thank goodness my brother recommended this amazing place, so beautiful, peaceful, and the nicest people. Brand new owners of this property are amazing, so if you see anything negative disregard, I stayed 3-15-15, and would highly recommend for comfort, quality, cleanliness and friendly, helpful staff, also great value. I brought my mother that was very impressed. Can't wait to return... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael G, General Manager at Sunset Inn, responded to this review

Hi Daniel L, Thank you so much for the kind words; we really appreciate it. We do work very hard to ensure your time here is a pleasant one. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure meeting both yourself and your mother. Please have a safe trip back home and we look forward to seeing... More 

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Horrible Horrible HORRIBLE experience ! Would Never come back here... Don't know how else to describe our experience at this inn. We booked here for xmas eve '14 for a superior room with Jacuzzi and fireplace, but on arrival it was a complete MESS and shock. The inn was out of power and it was in complete darkness. Took us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael G, General Manager at Sunset Inn, responded to this review

Hi Pranay T. I would first like to apologize for the experience you had while checking in. I would also be upset if this had this happened to me and I completely understand your frustration. I see that your experience took place back in December. I would like you to know that the Sunset Inn was sold in March 2015,... More 

Ontario, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

We had confirmed reservations for January 1-4, 2015. This hotel was booked through a competitor agency and of course, I was charged for the two nights in advance. Getting to the property at 8:00 p.m., we were tired after a 5 1/2 drive from Los Angeles, CA. The booking agency overbooked this property by 8 rooms for those two nights!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Oceanside, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

We started staying at the Sunset Inn about four years ago and up till now it has been great. This visit there were some simple things that need attention that can return the Sunset Inn to an Excellent rating again. And we will be checking Trip Advisor before our next trip to Monterey to see if the needed improvements have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Lombard, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

We paid a great price for this lovely area near the Pacific so I am tempted to rate the Sunset Inn 4 stars, but I felt the room and experience was only average. The room felt dark and although there were some updated finishes the room and bathroom is not welcoming. My biggest complaint is not having ANY surfaces to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

362 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (127)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (38)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
0:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (219)
Viewed
King Room with Corner Fireplace (48)
Viewed
King Room with Fireplace (35)
Viewed
King Room with Fireplace and Jacuzzi Tub (46)
Viewed
King Suite with Kitchen and Jacuzzi Tub (56)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question