We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Deer Haven Inn

Certificate of Excellence
2.5 of 5
Hotel website
750 Crocker Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Deer Haven Inn
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Ellen A San Luis Obispo County, California
Add Photo Write a Review

145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    60
    54
    16
    8
    7
See reviews for
42
55
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (145)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
San Luis Obispo County, California
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The location was fabulous, next to Asilomar and close to the beach. The owners were lovely to talk with. I have two suggestions for improvement. I was charged $11 extra for each of my 2 kids, $22 total. I had a room with 2 queen beds. This is the only hotel on our recent trip that charged extra for my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just not worth the price. at. all. Hair dryer didn't work. Soap lacking in dispenser. Breakfast was sparse. As long as you know California is expensive & you don't expect much from a $250 room in June....you'll be OK here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VictorandRP, Manager at Deer Haven Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Robert K. All of us at the Deer Haven Inn would like to collectively apologize for your experience. With the size of our breakfast area being as compact as it is, we try to fit as many fresh items as we can, however we realize that our breakfast items are limited, and that is something... More 

Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As close to Asilomar as some of their own buildings, this is a nice and clean hotel in the classic motel style. Very friendly owners, quiet and with free breakfast. That breakfast is of the very mimimal kind but it is nice (toast your own bread or muffin, add jam or cream cheese, drink coffee or juice). There is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a room here then had to cancel last minute because of an emergency hospitalization. We called to cancel and explained the situation and were told the 72 hour policy was firm. While I think that general policy is reasonable, it's disgusting that they wouldn't even discuss an exception. I recommend taking your business to someone who has a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VictorandRP, Manager at Deer Haven Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and we are very sorry about the experience that you had with us. With regards to our cancellation policy, we are always willing to give leeway for guests that come about unfortunate circumstances such as your wife's emergency hospitalization. Unfortunately after discussing your options, which included the possibility of a free cancellation of your room,... More 

Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After looking at many options for hotels in the region, this place seemed the perfect fit. It is not in the middle of all of the traffic and people. It is a very short, perhaps five minute walk to the beach. The rooms open to the outdoors which is lovely since the temp is usually perfect. The people running the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms was lovely - lovely decor and plenty of space. They accommodated us at short notice and the female receptionist was incredibly helpful! Really enjoyed our stay here - wish we had planned to stay longer!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for a night with our family and it was a good stay. Nice clean big rooms. The room has fireplace, TV and coffee maker. Fine breakfast and wifi working out fine.. Staff was really friendly and helpful-) We can recommend a stay here at the inn;-)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sonoma County, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The upgrades and new décor are done, and added to what has always been a most pleasant stay. The rooms have a simpler feel to add to relaxation. I thought replacing carpet with flooring was brilliant--those hotel carpets can be a problem to keep clean. There are real coffee pots, good for those of us who bring our own to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is in a quiet area. We checked in for 1 night but after seeing the room and area,we added another night. If you like a clean room... this little place is for you. Bonus the rooms have a fireplace,ceiling fan,mini fridge combo microwave. You can park right outside your room, with lots of parking. I was really impressed........ More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

My 8 yr old son and I stayed here and couldn't have been happier. As many reviewers have noted and I'll say it again, excellent location. It's in a quiet neighborhood, central to all the area's activities, and a nice 5 min stroll to Asilomar Beach. Deer Haven reminds me of the small Mom and Pop motels that our family... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay