We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Pacific Grove B&Bs / inns

Beachcomber Inn

1996 Sunset Dr., Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Beachcomber Inn to your Saves list
Beachcomber Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
37%
Ranked #10 of 10 Pacific Grove B&B and Inns
  • Reviews (45)
  • Photos (21)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (9)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    10
    10
    11
See reviews for
12
18
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Grove, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I have stayed at this motel and it is very basic though functional. Cons: Very dirty carpets, lots of patches inside the bathroom, takes forever to get hot water especially if you are in the upstairs unit, limited hours to check in. no one to greet you at the front office as it is closed during the day, no microwave... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I will say this hotel does have potential to cozy & unique.I was highly disappointed in my room,it was described as a beachside bed n breakfast resort. It is beachside but absolutely distgusting once inside the room. My room smelled musky,the carpet looked like it was from the 60's and had horrible stains all over it. There was no circulation... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wilton, CA
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I feel bereft saying this, as he has stayed at this motel since 1968 when he was at Fort Ord. THE LOCATION IS MARVELOUS. But even in the old days, the property was rustic (run down). The owners have always seemed too cheap to upgrade this great property. When managers Bob passed and Arlene left, the owner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Modesto, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have stayed in a lot of funky hotels near the Assilymar Conference Grounds, but this is the funkiest of them all. I really try to not expect too much, just need a place close enough for the youth I bring to walk to and from grounds. Although this hotel meets that expectation, we will not be staying here again.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Turlock, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have stayed here many times before. We have two big teenage boys and we book room 14 (one queen, two fulls) for a reasonable price. Pros: The beds were comfortable. We had an oceanview from our room that I enjoyed immensely. The location is just awesome, right next to the Conference Center and the beach; my husband was attending... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I usually do not give bad reviews to any places, but this one deserves it. We got to the hotel pretty late to check in, but they knew the time we were coming as we called earlier to let them know. When we arrived at the hotel our reservation was not there for the night we've arrived.. They Said the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Fresno, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Thank goodness The Beachcomber Inn is back on track!!! I found the new managers Nicole and Joe to be both caring and professional. Everyone of my needs was taken care of.They even made sure I was booked into a room with recently shampooed carpets. If you want to stay at a great location, with reasonably priced rooms and a friendly,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sacramento, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The Beachcomber Inn is the last building on Asilomar Blvd so you have nothing between you and the ocean. On the other side is the Fishwife Restaurant so it's quiet except for the crashing of the waves, which I never tire of. The Beachcomber Inn is a diamond in the rough. If the owners would just put some money in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Antioch, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed at the Beachcomber Inn for the first time this week, and I have to say we have found a new place to stay, provided they have a room available for us when we call. When I initially made my reservation, I was so nervous about getting a room for our 31st anniversary that I kept calling, even though... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
San Jose, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Well, I've written a few reviews and this will be my first 1 star - terrible. I've been going to be Beachcomber for almost 40 years now. It hasn't been renovated during that time, but I've kept going for sentimental reasons. The last couple of years has shown a significant decline once Arlene and Bob left. Now when I say... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
BeachcomberNardone, Manager at Beachcomber Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response and personal opinion of The Beachcomber. We discussed your concerns, and your original reservation was a different room. With the initial reservation I mentioned the king bed because that room that was reserved for you had a king bed and the one you were in had a king bed, I was never given the information... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Beachcomber Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Beachcomber Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Inn

Address: 1996 Sunset Dr., Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Beachcomber Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Hotel Pacific Grove

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
0:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Free Parking Restaurant
Number of rooms
25

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer