We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
2000 Squaw Loop Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Special Price
10% Off Entire Stay!
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley
Add Photo

217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    136
    61
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
91
73
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (217)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (54)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (46)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (61)
All months
There are newer reviews for Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley
See the most recent reviews
Milan, Michigan
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014 via mobile

The staff here makes this place!!!! Everyone from the receptionists to maitenence are just great. It looks kind of crappy next to the big beautiful olympic village lodge, but we enjoyed it. Kitchen is good and no problems in the room. Ejoyed our bike ride the first night around the long trial down to Tahoe city. It was tough on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greg V, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review

Hi AmDKes, Thank you for your review. We are so happy to know that all of our staff provided you with excellent service. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future! More 

Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

Red Wolf Lodge is surrounded by the most beautiful views! Staff is extremely helpful and friendly! Rooms are clean and appears they are in the process of replacing furniture and carpeting. Outside of the building is tired. Needs updating! Great hiking, biking trails, golf nearby, and shopping! Loved our stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greg V, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review

Hi MEK2070, Thank you for your review. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed the views and found your rooms clean. We will definitely share your comments with our team. We also look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the near future! More 

Felton, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Being at the base of Red Dog in Squaw Valley is a great location for a resort during ski season. But it's even nice in the summer! There are lots of great activities around the valley (hiking, biking, horseback riding, swimming and skating at the top of Squaw Valley at High Camp --Cablecar does run in the summer). Being a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Greg V, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review

Hi Betty L, Thank you for your review and travel tips. It means a lot to us that you took your time to provide us with this feedback. We're happy to hear that you were content with your accommodations and found everything that you needed within the facilities. We also hope you had a great time participating in all the... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Came to Tahoe the last week of August for some gorgeous weather and hiking and exchanged for a studio at Red Wolf. Plenty of space in the room for two of us, was very pleased, especially since it had a kitchen (we cooked breakfasts). Not over the top, but modest and very clean. Right next to the village at Squaw... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greg V, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review

Hi ttfn300, Thank you for your review. We're happy to learn that you were pleased with your rooms and found everything very clean. We also hope you had a great time hiking. Come back soon for another great time! More 

Alamo, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We stayed at the Red Wolf Lodge while on a brief stopover. We weren't expecting much, just a no-frills Murphy bed studio. Vickie at the front desk was very kind and helpful. We were pleasantly surprised to find a spotless studio with a great kitchen, very comfortable bed, and great DVD menu from the office. We also loved the free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greg V, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review

Hi modmodernist, Thank you for reviewing Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. We're so happy to know that our staff was very helpful and provided you with resources to make your stay even more enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the near future. Till next time! More 

San Marcos, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Spacious rooms and great staff. Thank you Cindy for making it a great trip. The only problem I ran into was not everyone knew where things were or other activities around. Wish front desk stayed open longer for needs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greg V, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review

Hello Hank S, Thank you for reviewing your stay. We're happy to hear that you found your accommodations spacious. We apologize if you had any trouble finding information on the activities hosted. We will definitely share your concerns with our team. We also look forward to having you back with us for another stay in the near future! More 

Gladewater
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Hotel will charge hidden fees. Be prepared.they do not offer much but you get charged for all activities they do offer even if you don't attend. When we were there, someone broke in clubhouse so not very safe. Walls are super thin. The cleaning staff is the only good thing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Greg V, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review

Hello Coachaw, We are sorry you were not aware of the resort service fee, which is notated on your confirmation and advised of at time of booking. The resort service fee of $9 per night includes covered parking, Wifi, dvd's, bikes, backpacks, golfclubs, fishing equipment, beach chairs, board games and all the activites including a monday morning breakfast with pancakes,... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Very nice and professional front desk and cleaning service. A little bit disappointed on the free Monday breakfast started at 8:30AM, nothing left at around 9AM. AC cannot handle 90F degrees outside the room, my baby is screaming because of in the unit is very hot.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greg V, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review

Hello Sagers, Thank you for reviewing your stay. We're so glad that you were able to find everything you need within our facilities and that our staff was of great help. We hope to welcome you back again soon! More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The rooms are spacious, the views tremendous and the staff was excellent. The only drawback was the short office hours in Spring before Summer officially started. 8 to 6pm, so you couldn't rent bikes, movies or enjoy other resort activities offered through the front desk after 6. Also no swimming pool, but there were several separate spas on the property... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greg V, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review

Hi krythia1 , Thank you for reviewing Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley. We apologize that you had a limited amount of time to enjoy some of the resort activities. We will definitely take into consideration your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the near future! More 

Santa Rosa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Great family vacation in a perfect location in Squaw Valley with beautiful views! The resort was very clean and had outstanding service from the staff. The guided hike was amazing and their beach cruisers were a big hit to check out and ride for the day. We will be back soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greg V, General Manager at Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley, responded to this review

Hello Krstejo, Thank you for your review. We're happy to know that you found our location family-friendly and that our staff provided you with excellent service. Can't wait to have you back with us soon, till next time! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
2:31
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay