We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Olympic Valley hotels

PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1920 Squaw Valley Road, Located in North Lake Tahoe, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn to your Saves list
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com Travelocity
and 5 more sites!
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    36
    10
    12
    8
See reviews for
21
30
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a ski vacation in Squaw Valley during a period when there was virtually no snow, so overall we were disappointed with the trip so you might want to read this review in that light. When we arrived at the Plumpjack with our two families and large entourage of children we were engaged almost immediately in a spat with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Where to begin? I have been disappointed time after time with PlumpJack, and would not recommend this hotel to anyone. While the location is nice, the staff treated us with less-than-ideal respect when we stayed last winter. No one offered to help us with our bags/luggage when we checked in, then they surprised us with all kinds of additional fees... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveL3_11, General Manager at PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Jenna for your honest feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was unsuccessful. We pride ourselves on our elevated guest service and were surprised to hear you were treated with disrespect. Regarding your stay that you had trouble booking, the conditions of that stay were based on hotel availability and for the dates you... More

Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stayed at this establishment for a wedding in May, which was perfect as we were the only group of people staying here (Off season). This beautiful hotel offers spacious rooms and a variety of amenities. The bathrooms were also very modern and spacious, offering a romantic edge to our room. Beds were comfortable as well as pillows. The wedding... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed over New Years a last minute reservation but they seemed to have plenty of rooms, maybe because the attention to detail and cleanliness is just not there. Broken blinds stains on the hallway carpet, hair in the shower. I did note this at checkout someone attempted to follow up but dropped the ball never heard from them them to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SteveL3_11, General Manager at PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn, responded to this review

Good day Tina - I apologize we missed the mark during your visit. It's our goal for guests to relax, enjoy and ultimately feel good about their visit. Please reach out to me directly at slamb@plumpjack.com prior to your next visit to Lake Tahoe and Squaw Valley. Take care and I look forward to hearing from you. Steve Lamb More

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The inn has great access to lifts, but feels more like a motel that's been spruced up as opposed to a nice inn. Quite a bit of ambient noise in the rooms from hallways etc. I think you're basically paying for location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
berkeley, ca
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay with a family. We were 11 total spread out in 5 rooms over Christmas. I changed our room numbers and dates multiple times and the manager was so accommodating. There are a lot of young kids staying here with their parents for the holidays. The staff is very friendly and super helpful. Ski... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Capitola, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Just returned from a three night stay at the Inn. Family wedding was on the grounds and reception at the PlumpJack Conference Center. The hotel is steps away from skiing at Squaw. Shopping, restaurants, and outdoor activities are located across the street from PlumpJack. The staff was courteous and friendly. The breakfast bar is a highlight each morning and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The location was picture perfect for the winter wedding theme. Our room had a perfect view and a window ledge were I was able to sit and read and experiece a blizzard all warm and cozy. The rooms have a keurig coffee maker and being able to make individual hot drinks was very convenient. I really liked having full size... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Overall a good hotel. Be warned that you will have to use your windows and fan to cool down the room as there is no air conditioning. They've done a great job updating the facility and the rooms are modern and comfortable. I had a bit of trouble with electrical, it kept shorting out in the bathroom. Included breakfast was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Mrs. and I wanted to get away over labor day. Squaw Valley had a wine walk, so we stayed a night at the PlumpJack inn. We checked in early after noon . The front desk person said they were having a wedding tonight but, it shouldn't effect us. The room they gave us faced the pool and the outside... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SteveL3_11, General Manager at PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I'm sorry to hear your stay with us wasn't comfortable and relaxing. We do have an intimate property that was originally constructed for the Olympic Games hosted here in 1960. The Sierra Nevada summer nights tend to cool down nicely, but we experience some warmer days/nights as well throughout the summer months. Granted, room location with a special... More

Been to PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn

Also Known As:
Plumpjack Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Plumpjack Squaw Valley Hotel
Plumpjack Squaw Valley Olympic
Address: 1920 Squaw Valley Road, Located in North Lake Tahoe, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn in North Lake Tahoe brings new meaning to the term "peak experience."Comfortable and casually elegant, our Lake Tahoe mountain escape offers an intimate resort experience, complete with fine dining and an attentive staff that's dedicated to making your stay everything you dreamed of. From the mountains to the lake, there's ample opportunity for outdoor adventure. And with slope-side access and some of the area's best hiking, PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn, near Lake Tahoe's north shore, offers more than just a getaway, but a true experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.