We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dolphin Hotel

133 S Coast Hwy, Oceanside, CA 92054
Hotel amenities
Dolphin Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013
Arty16
Review This Hotel

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    4
    1
    11
See reviews for
7
10
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (41)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
There are newer reviews for Dolphin Hotel
See the most recent reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The staff is amazing and the place is very clean !!!! It's in a great part in town close to everything ..... The rooms are outstanding ..... Would stay here again and highly recommended ....5+stars Arty

Was this review helpful? Yes
dhotel12, Manager at Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Your review is greatly appreciated. I always enjoy hearing from guests about their stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Oceanside! Best Wishes, Dolphin Hotel More 

Bristol
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel has nothing to offer the family visitor; it is on the main highway with no parking at all, it is insecure (the door did not lock properly), it had no facilities - no kettle, no bottled water, no drinks available at all anywhere in the building - and in a poor part of the town. We would not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dhotel12, General Manager at Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. As you might have guessed our location is a historic hotel built in 1926 we have updated rooms and amenities and do our very best to accommodate all of our guests. While there is plenty of free street parking in our area I can understand that because its not a traditional parking... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had no where to stay, everywhere booked! The staff at Dolphin went the extra mile! you guys are AWESOME!!! definitely will go back great price,location,close access to beach & cool people working there. Also the 1927 vibe has a nice ambience takes you back in time.. if only these walls could talk the stories would be out of a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dhotel12, Manager at Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Your review is greatly appreciated. I always enjoy hearing from guests about their stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Oceanside! Best Wishes, Dolphin Hotel More 

Tucson, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our first stay at this property. We have been to Oceanside several times and really love the city, beaches and friendly people. We parked our truck and walked or bused to everything for 4 days. The Dolphin is a Historic hotel so it is more laid back and in need of some repairs. It is very clean and comfortable. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dhotel12, Manager at Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Your review is greatly appreciated. I always enjoy hearing from guests about their stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Oceanside! Best Wishes, Dolphin Hotel More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I think this hotel is wonderful!!  I love the rooms and the location, but the kicker is the staff.  I have never met a nicer, more helpful staff.  I will be returning to The Dolphin Hotel every and anytime I return to Oceanside, and will make sure my friends and family do as well.  This place is AMAZING!!!  P.S.  A... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dhotel12, Manager at Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Your review is greatly appreciated. I always enjoy hearing from guests about their stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Oceanside! Best Wishes, Dolphin Hotel More 

Sierra Vista AZ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The price was right. The location was a few blocks from the beach. Since this was our second visit, we had found some local, walking-distance restaurants that were perfect for our needs. The Hosts of the Dolphin were more than accommodating. Great time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
dhotel12, Owner at Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Craig, Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us. we hope to see you again soon. More 

Cathedral City, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My Family and I stayed here and it was a VERY Pleasant Hotel ! We went to Oceanside to take the kids to Sea World ! We actually found out from the Friendly staff that there was a Coaster that you could ride that takes you to San Diego , board a bus that will go directly to Sea World... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dhotel12, Owner at Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Sandra, Thank you very much for your review today. We work very hard to make sure that our guests are taken care of. It is so gratifying to have your positive comments. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Toledo, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Having traveled the world for the past 20 years, I have learned to research my hotels extensively. Understanding the trade-offs between luxury versus economy, nostalgic versus modern day convenience. It is this process and years of experience that initially brought me to The Dolphin hotel and continues to bring me back each month. The Dolphin hotel staff is over the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
dhotel12, Manager at Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of our property. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. It is not always easy to run a historic hotel but having guests like you really make our day. We hope to serve you again soon. More 

Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I thought this place was preety cool. I found it to be quite clean, not dusty at all (not even under the bed, I know because I dropped the remote & looked under the bedskirt!). Comfortable beds/pillows. Great hot water. Clean microwave/refridge. Long list of cable channels. Right on the corner, just a block from the beach. The Oceanside Pier... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dhotel12, Manager at Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

We are so pleased you took the time to write a review of our hotel. We take great care in making sure that our rooms are clean and well maintained. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again. More 

Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Quality Poor to fair Facilities Poor to fair Service Poor to fair My experience at the Dolphin Hotel in Oceanside was a total waste of time. The facility was in terrible shape. The heater was not working when I was there. The door leading to the back alley is unsecured and there are a lot of rowdy and disordely "friends"... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
dhotel12, General Manager at Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Marvin, First of all thank you very much for your comments. It is through your comments and suggestions that we can make our hotel a better place. We are the new owners and while we know that our hotel is not perfect we are working every day to make it that way. We have taken your suggestions and comments and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question