We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dolphin Hotel

133 S Coast Hwy, Oceanside, CA 92054
Hotel amenities
Dolphin Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014
patsat74 Midland, Texas
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    4
    1
    11
See reviews for
7
10
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (41)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Midland, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

This is a nice hotel hidden in the city. The obvious renovations have shown that the owners and staff care about their place. The staff was so genuine and friendly. For extended stay they offer what you need to feel at home. As soon as I walked into my room I could tell before I turned on the lights that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dhotel12, General Manager at Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Your review is greatly appreciated. I always enjoy hearing from guests about their stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Oceanside! Best Regards, Dolphin Hotel. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights the weekend of my birthday. The room was exactly as I needed it to be! Perfectly cozy for my boyfriend and I . Walking distance from the water! I parked for free on Thursday and did not have to move my car until Saturday afternoon when I left. The rooms come with a fridge/microwave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dhotel12, Manager at Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Your review is greatly appreciated. I always enjoy hearing from guests about their stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Oceanside! Best Wishes, Dolphin Hotel More 

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Recently, we stayed at the Dolphin Hotel in Oceanside for a long weekend. Not wanting a resort atmosphere or to spend a ton of $$$ on lodging, we booked the Dolphin Hotel online. How impressive!! The historic, quaint hotel was charming, clean and had the nicest staff. The location was perfect, allowing us to WALK to the beach, pier, shopping... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dhotel12, Manager at Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Your review is greatly appreciated. I always enjoy hearing from guests about their stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Oceanside! Best Wishes, Dolphin Hotel More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The employees here are so kind and talkative. There are free boogie boards! Super bonus!!! Just a couple blocks the beach and close to the night life. Had such a great time. Thank you Neil!!! Brian, Lindsay and friend

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dhotel12, Manager at Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Your review is greatly appreciated. I always enjoy hearing from guests about their stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Oceanside! Best Wishes, Dolphin Hotel More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Our trip to Oceanside was FANTASTIC and our visit wouldn't have been as sweet without our stay at Dolphin. Neil and Daryl were superb and directed us to all the "must sees" while we were there. Not to mention the Charm of this old hotel (which was built in 1926). If you want a down to earth, accommodating, unique, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
dhotel12, Manager at Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Your review is greatly appreciated. I always enjoy hearing from guests about their stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Oceanside! Best Wishes, Dolphin Hotel More 

La Jolla, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Older hotel close to beach, movie therater, places to eat. Very friendly and helpful at front desk. Off street parking was not ideal in this part of town but ok. Place was a bit noisy. The heat was not working on this unusually chilly Friday night. We were provided with a portable unit, which stopped working late night so cuddled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dhotel12, Manager at Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were so sorry to hear that you did not have a good stay with us. We work very hard at trying to make sure that every guest is satisfied with their stay. We thank you for your valuable feed back and rectified the issues that caused your stay to... More 

Southern California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The room we were in was like a movie set for a tenement. The doorknob fell off from the inside. The sheets had cigarette burns and stains. We pre-paid, but we should have just left. Junkies and cockroaches in the lobby. On the other hand, if you want to demonstrate to a visitor the actual bottom rung of society in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
dhotel12, Manager at Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were so sorry to hear that you did not have a good stay with us. We work very hard at trying to make sure that every guest is satisfied with their stay. We thank you for your valuable feed back and rectified the issues that caused your stay to... More 

San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I recently stayed at the Dolphin Hotel and was pleasantly surprised! The owners and staff are very friendly and accomodating. About 1 blk from the train station and 2 blks from the beach! A variety of restaurants, coffee shops and bars nearby. Although a typical beach town with its share of transients and undesireables, the Dolphin Hotel does a great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dhotel12, Manager at Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Your review is greatly appreciated. I always enjoy hearing from guests about their stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Oceanside! Best Wishes, Dolphin Hotel More 

2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My fiance and I simply wanted a place to stay for a reasonable price for a quick romantic getaway. On the surface this hotel seemed reasonable enough at over $100 a night. We got to the hotel to check in after movie, dinner and a walk the on the pier at 11 pm. While brushing teeth the sink backed up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
dhotel12, Manager at Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

First let me thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at the Dolphin Hotel. We are committed to providing a clean affordable hotel for our guests. We are very sorry for your unpleasant experience and I can assure you that we have alerted our housekeeping staff and front desk to handle these situations better... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This place blows every other place out of the water in regards to customer service! I have never felt so attended to! Nick is AWESOME!!! (He deserves a raise!) He was so helpful right from the get go, telling us places to check out for food and drink and also how to get around the town. He checked on us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dhotel12, Manager at Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Your review is greatly appreciated. I always enjoy hearing from guests about their stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Oceanside! Best Wishes, Dolphin Hotel More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question