We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 28 Oceanside hotels

Oceanside Palms

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   909 North Coast Highway, I-5/San Diego Freeway at the Coast Hwy Exit, Oceanside, CA 92054 (Formerly Oceanside - Coast Hwy Motel)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Oceanside Palms to your Saves list
Oceanside Palms
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
74%
Ranked #14 of 28 hotels in Oceanside
A recent review
  • Reviews (116)
  • Photos (24)
  • Prices
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (32)
  • Back to top
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    34
    16
    7
    9
See reviews for
43
24
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Staff was super helpful and located half mile from water. Great price!! Basically had a studio apartment. Not fancy, but clean. Under construction so if your trying to sleep during day prob not your cup of tea, but who sleeps in Cali when the subs out! Surfs up! Two thumbs up.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris W, Manager at Oceanside Palms, responded to this review

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We've been working since September to complete the total renovation of our hotel as we get ready to reopen as a Best Western Plus in May. We hope you get the chance to visit us again soon. This Summer we will be offering several new amenities including, but not... More

Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I could not sleep there because of the terrible paint smell, I came at 12.30 am, I was tired, and could not go looking for another hotel. There is also construction noise starting early, no breakfast, no business center as it was promised on booking.com. The location is close to the beach, 15 minutes by walk or 2 minutes by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel location is superb!! Really close to the beach. The area is very safe and people around were really friendly. However, what really gets the reason for this review is the attentive and friendly disposition from the Spanish-speaking front-desk attendant. She was extremely helpful any time we had to go and ask for something we needed. Overall, our stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Yulee, Florida, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a motel, with only the Motel 6 sign, but they don't follow any of Motel 6 Policies. I went online to rent a week in this hotel, just because it was a "Motel 6". And the Great Corporate pet policy, and the kitchenette. I travel by car from Florida to California to find out, that they didn't accept... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
motel6oceanside1, Director of Sales at Oceanside Palms, responded to this review

Dear Janice B, Your review is very important to us as it reveals training issues we must and will follow up. I am sincerely sorry that the staff did not address the dog issue in a more appropriate way. It is however within the policy to exclude certain animals that pose risks. I have included the specific language from the... More

San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Take a look at my pictures before you decide. In all my travels, there are a couple of places that I really felt compelled to review. This is one of them. My room didn't look anything like the picture in their add. I didn't take my shoes off because I didn't want to get my socks dirty. Of course you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
motel6oceanside1, Director of Sales at Oceanside Palms, responded to this review

Dear rbsdca, Two days ago you submitted a review outlining issues however Tripadvisor removed your review as it violated their rules. Today you have posted another review addressing a different issue. I like to request that you contact me at your earliest convenience ( your review does not give me enough information so I can contact you) as I would... More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was the only hotel available under $200/night and had great reviews and pics on TA so I figured I'd give it a try. It is in a great location (I was raised on O'side so know the area very well), and the hotel itself is nice for a motel 6 but the room SUCKED! I "upgraded" for $20 to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a no frills motel, but it is half a mile to the beach. We actually had a partcial ocean view. It is older BUT CLEAN!! The orange picture rooms are the deluxe rooms. The beds are quite firm, sheets were clean. Blankets are very old, carpet also. A/C worked great.Walls are thin, we bought a fan so we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
motel6oceanside1, Director of Sales at Oceanside Palms, responded to this review

Dear flbeachygirli, Thank you for submitting a review about your stay at our Motel 6. I am thankful about our staff members Jesse and Chris and I am delighted you found your accommodations VERY CLEAN Per Motel 6 corporate standards the rooms do not include certain amenities however I appreciate you mentioned we have shampoos, conditioner, toothpaste hairdryers and more... More

Fullerton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

It had the only rooms left in town and was rated 3.8 stars on TA…what could go wrong? Having just stayed at another M6 a few weeks ago we knew what to expect so we weren’t really surprised at what we got. The plain white walls make you feel like you’re in a sanitarium and the lack of simple amenities... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auburn, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This motel is what it is...a motel. The shower head was mildewy. the only reason we stayed here was because it was ComiCon weekend and most hotels were already sold out. Be careful when you book they added a 10% tax/surcharge which made it a lot more expensive. I would have paid more to stay somewhere better but like I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
motel6oceanside1, Director of Sales at Oceanside Palms, responded to this review

Dear Alicia Bar, I am truly sorry your experience at our Motel 6 was less that satisfactory and I sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. We are addressing your comments about the mildew and cigarettes immediately. Motel 6 is an economy brand, bare bones as you describe it, and as such has limited amenities and does not include breakfast.... More

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

The only reason I booked a stay here is the good reviews on trip advisor. Now I'm thinking its just being pumped up by false reviews. The only thing that makes it good is the places it's next to. The staff at the desk should not be working with people. And the place does have some crazy smells. Found bugs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
motel6oceanside1, Director of Sales at Oceanside Palms, responded to this review

Dear Jon S. Thank you for staying at our Motel 6. I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations. You are absolutely correct that the pool water quality was less than perfect. We have contacted a professional company to correct this immediately. My housekeeping supervisor and our pest control contact have been alerted about the silverfish and odors.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Oceanside Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Oceanside Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Palms

Also Known As:
Motel 6 Oceanside - Coast Hwy Hotel Oceanside
Motel 6 Oceanside - Coast Hwy Hotel
Motel 6 Oceanside
Motel Six Oceanside
Oceanside Motel 6
Oceanside Motel Six
Address: 909 North Coast Highway, I-5/San Diego Freeway at the Coast Hwy Exit, Oceanside, CA 92054 (Formerly Oceanside - Coast Hwy Motel)
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Oceanside
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oceanside Palms 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In our continuing effort to improve and upgrade our hotel we have begun remodeling of public ares and rooms. This work is done Monday-Saturday 7:30 am to 4: 30pm. The staff and management appreciate your understanding in our efforts to improve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Oceanside Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)

Best prices for your stay

Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Tingo.com Expedia.com
and 7 more sites!

Amenities

Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#2 Best Value Hotel in Oceanside #6 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In our continuing effort to improve and upgrade our hotel we have begun remodeling of public ares and rooms. This work is done Monday-Saturday 7:30 am to 4: 30pm. The staff and management appreciate your understanding in our efforts to improve. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
114

See which rooms travelers prefer

Sorry, our search service is down. Displaying the most recent room tips below.